We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome 1 night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Turning Stone

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Turning Stone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge at Turning Stone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30 Day Advance Purchase
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Verona
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome 1 night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great surprise for boyfriend! The loge has superior bedding, spa, and swimming. The rooms are absolutely wonderful! Surprised the boyfriend to meet there while I was passing through on business. The lodge's staff was able to put together little surprises together for the boyfriend on a moments notice. Room service for dinner and breakfast were perfect. The spa facial and massage were also wonderful. I wish we had more time but I had to return to work. He was able to linger around in the morning and enjoy the gym which was also wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    38
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
134
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Turning Stone Resort and Casino is only 20 minutes from our home, but The Lodge at Turning Stone makes us feel like we are far away on vacation. We have stayed in fine hotels all over the United States and Canada and The Lodge at Turning Stone is absolutely top-notch in cleanliness, service and ambiance.

The staff is very attentive. The extra touches are what makes this place spectacular, for example, being wished a "Happy Anniversary" by all of the staff.

The grounds are beautiful, the lobby is spectacular and the visit I had to the Ska:na Spa was incredible.

Many from this area would find an experience at The Lodge to be quite pricey, but the truth of the matter is that it is well worth every penny. Perfect for a romantic getaway weekend. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms face away from the main casino. Ask for a balcony room that overlooks th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My spouse and I decided to go to the lodge for a quick one-night get-a-way. We both had never stayed at the lodge before but heard generally good reviews about it. Service was impeccable, the valet staff were gracious and a great first/last point of contact between us and the staff. The lobby is spectacular. The native furnishings paired with a modern lodge ambiance strikes an elegant yet unpretentious balance. Our room was spotless, which is always something I take note of. The king sized bed was comfortable, however the standout of the room for me was the bathroom. From the soaking tub to large shower to the double french-door entries, everything about it was great. A very minor mention is that there was only one sink in the bathroom, two would have been ideal. During our short stay we managed to use the pool and hot tub a couple times, which I recommend patrons take advantage of. Overall, service was on point during all our encounters with various staff and the facility evokes a true spa/pampering type feel.

Room Tip: Rooms that face away from the front circle are not recommended, since you can hear the thru-way nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place is over the top. The staff are very attentive. The Lodge is very well clean, quiet and a nice place for a quick get away. The Wild Flower Resturant is superb and is definetly a 4/5 Star dining experience. We have also eaten at the Steak and Italian resturants in the Casino and they are very good also. My only complaint is that I don't feel the buffet resturant is up to the standard that are shown in the rest of the resort. If you are a golfer you will not find 3 nicer or well groomed courses. All 3 are worth playing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for a girls's get-away road trip. Although it was a long ride for a short stay, it was worth it! The rooms are set up beautifully with a nice sized balcony to relax on. Our dinner at Wildflowers was fine dining -both food and service were excellent. They fixed a glitch in our check to our satisfaction in minutes. Spa and treatments as well as the pool were most enjoyable. Look forward to a return trip and maybe take advantage of the golf. Would say the casino is so-so but then I'm not really a big player.

Room Tip: upper floor with balcony would seem to be best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
387 helpful votes 387 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Those that follow me know I am a tough critic and I very rarely give an establishment 5 stars, but the Lodge at Turning Stone deserves such an honor. Surprisingly, they get it. The facade, decor and rooms are impressive with stone, wood and high ceilings all providing an ultimate Adirondack lodge feel. The service was also on par with what you'd expect from a 5 diamond award winning hotel. Each time I walked through the lobby or passed a valet, they knew my name and asked how I was doing. Room service was competent, on time and the food was above average. We stayed in a VIP suite, which had a fireplace, and that certainly added to the experience, but even apart from the room, the hotel was a drastic step in the right direction from what the old tower hotel is. The only drawbacks were that the gym was a little small and the carpet in our room should probably be changed within the next 12 months or so. Otherwise, it was a nice experience and this is where we'll be staying when visiting family in the Utica area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at The Lodge the weekend of a friend's wedding and were extremely pleased with our choice. Each time we re-entered our room, it had been cleaned. When we would return at night, there was calming music already playing in our spotless room. The staff was one of our favorite aspects. Thompson and Harry were personable and made us feel more like friends and not just customers. Our car was always ready extremely quickly, which made my life less hectic when I was running late. There is also a beautiful back lawn and garden that was very relaxing to read in during my free time. It is also very convenient to access the casino, as the walkway to the casino is located on the second floor of the hotel.

Next time I go, I will plan enough time to go to their beautiful and relaxing spa. We can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: The walkway to the casino is located on the second level. If you don't want to have to ride the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Turning Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Turning Stone

Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#2 Family Hotel in Verona
#2 Business Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Turning Stone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A legendary experience awaits your indulgence at the AAA 4-diamond award-winning Lodge at Turning Stone. Selected by Conde Nast Johansens as the "Most Excellent Resort" in the USA and Canada for 2007. The Lodge at Turning Stone is an elegant all-suite hotel that's perfected the art of pampering. This beautiful hideaway offers treasured privacy that superbly complements the resort's recreational pleasures. Your sumptuous suite is just mere steps from fun and excitement, yet still a serene world away. Come. Enjoy our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick and Venere so you can book your The Lodge at Turning Stone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Turning Stone Hotel Verona
Hotel At Turning Stone
At Turning Stone Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Turning Stone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.