We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mini-Reunion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tower at Turning Stone Resort

Save Saved
You added The Tower at Turning Stone Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tower at Turning Stone Resort
5218 Patrick Road, Verona, NY 13478   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Verona
Sodus Point, NY
1 review
“Great Mini-Reunion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We bought a 1-night show package & met 2 other couples my husband went to college with for a mini-reunion. It was nice to be all together in one place. Our rooms were all on the same floor in the Tower, and we found it easy to find our way around.
We had lunch in the sports bar, where we cheered on the Syracuse basketball team to victory while eating delicious & reasonably priced meals. After a short nap (we're all senior citizens) we reconvened in the casino, where none of us had any luck but all of us had a lot of fun. Then we went up to the 21st floor of the Tower to a sumptuous dinner (try the lamb chops - supurb!!).
The high point of the experience was the Scinta's variety show - we all enjoyed it very much & found the family values included in the performance refreshing. Musically, it was professional all the way. The only complaint we had was that the volume was too loud most of the time.
Kudos to turning Stone for providing quality with affordability. Our rooms were quiet, clean & very nicely decorated.
My only negative comment is that the pillows had far too many lumps! Get better pillows & I'll have a 100% enjoyable visit next time (and we WILL be back)!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    127
    56
    26
    9
See reviews for
53
124
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Chatham, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Several female friends and I were celebrating a 70th birthday overnight at Turning Stone Towers. The room was large, modern, and clean; nice modern bathroom with good counterspace and a make-up mirror. The front desk staff (checking in and out) was very efficient but not "stuffy" as I've experienced at other casinos and there was no problem when we were checking out a little later than 11 am. Our bellhop was great! There was a good-sized couch in the room which is nice so everyone doesn't have to sit on the beds. We requested extra towels, bathrobes, and a refrigerator and they seemed to arrive within minutes! A cot was also available for us but we cancelled that request. My only complaint was that the room didn't cool very well and was still quite warm even though the temperature was turned down. We were disappointed that Lava was closed that night (Wednesday) but enjoyed our Towers stay and would recommend the facility!

Room Tip: We had rooms right off the elevator down a short hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our New Years at the Turning Stone Towers Junior Suite. The room was beautiful, panoramic view, very nice living area as well. Food at most restaurants is good. housekeeping service could use a refresher course in the Towers, had to call them to remove dirty glasses from the day before and to tidy up living room area. They also had a problem reading the Do Not Disturb sign we placed on the door everynight! They repeatedly knocked every morning if we were not up before 11:30am very annoying. We usually stay at the Lodge which is beautiful. However, it was not available to us. Overall the lodge and the Towers has been an enjoyable getaway for us we really enjoy the tranquility and the no smoking aspect of the lodge and the Tower Suites. Highly recommend the Skana Spa. If there is room for improvement it would be less smoking sections within the hotel area. Would definitely recommend a stay at Turning Stone Resort & Casino.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My friends and I went to Turning Stone for a girls night out at Lava and stayed in the Tower overnight. The room was huge and had quite a few amenities. It was comfortable with a great view from the 7th floor. The room was clean, with a coffee maker, fridge, two beds, a couch and plenty of space/storage areas. It is secure and quiet as well. the bed had soft edges so it was a little hard to not fall off the edge (so use caution if you are an edge sleeper like myself) but otherwise very comfortable. Again just use caution if you tend to lay near the edge...one wrong move will buy you a fast ticket to the floor. It was good to be able to go have fun and not have to worry about the long drive back home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Tower at Turning Stone several times and have never been disappointed. The hotel is first class all the way and are very accommodating. Whatever you need, they are more than happy to take care of for you. I would recommend them to everyone and we will be staying there many more times in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Best New Years Eve Ever! Room, food at Rodizio, and everything about our stay was great! No complaints. We also attended the Earth, Wind and Fire concert which was phenomenal. There was i nice balloon drop set up while they showed the NYC ball drop on the nigh screen.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

For our Tower room on the 18th fl for 2 queen size beds came to $218.00. The room was nice, clean & modern. Very quiet which was nice. The heat was not the greatest, the thermostat said 74, but it felt like 65...cold air blowing all the time when the "heat" was cycling. The air was extremely dry, so it was hard to sleep. The bathroom was nice. The lighting in the room & bathroom was dim. It cost extra $10 per person for the pool/hot tub/sauna on the 3rd fl. Cost $24 for a $8 bottle of Sutter Home wine ($18 + mandated $2.50 delivery fee & mandated gratuity $3+), so be sure to bring your own. No fridge or microwave in the room & no breakfast included. For a room that costs over $200/night, I did not feel like it was worth it. We ate dinner at the Emerald. Prices not bad, but the spaghetti & meatballs were equivalent to a school cafeteria lunch. Our waitress however, was very nice. In fact, all the employees here treated us very nice. We did well at the Casino, so the trip wasn't a total loss. :) We are used to staying at the Residence Inn's where for the 4 of us we get a suite that includes 2 rooms, kitchen, l.r., full breakfast & snacks, all for the $200 range. Turning Stone is like Disney World, you are paying more for what else is there, and not so much for the room itself. In the future we will stay at the hotel that is just down the street & get free shuttle (so I can drink & not drive!). :)

Room Tip: If you have unlimited $, stay here, for the convenience, otherwise, stay at a hotel close by, like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TS_Management, Manager at The Tower at Turning Stone Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to our resort. We were disappointed that not every aspect of your stay was up to standard.
We do offer beautiful rooms at the Hotel and the Inn that are a little easier on the wallet. Also, on the Hotel side of the resort, we do offer a complimentary pool. Refrigerators are also available to our guests, by request. We hope you will check us out again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tower at Turning Stone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower at Turning Stone Resort

Address: 5218 Patrick Road, Verona, NY 13478
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#3 Business Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower at Turning Stone – AAA 4 Diamond award-winning high-rise hotel, offers a stunning panoramic view of the countryside. The Tower features spacious guest rooms and elegant suites. 100% Non-Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Tower at Turning Stone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower At Turning Stone Hotel Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tower at Turning Stone Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.