We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Stallion Restaurant

The Black Stallion Restaurant
5656 State Route 5, Vernon, NY 13476-4611
315-829-2203
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Vernon
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Springville, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

great food! good variety, but a little too much food; less food, lower price would be better. ate here twice on this trip

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central NY
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Never a bad NY Strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the only place I trust to cook my NY Strip medium. I order medium well at other establishments because they usually cook too rare if ordered medium. The Black Stallion never fails me, perfectly pink and warm in the center with a nice char broil on the outside. I can't comment on any other entree because the 5-6 times I've been I've ordered nothing but the steak!!! My wife absolutely LOVES the multitude of fish specials and combinations of fish they usually have on special. She hasn't been let down yet. The prices are not cheap, then again, they are not outrageous either, appropriate for what you get. Never a problem with service. The interior is certainly not fancy, but we're in CNY, not South Beach. You'll get "down home" cooking, service, and ambiance.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“You'll find something you like on the menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a very busy, bustling place that has a basic bar, cold beer, great steaks. The menu has a huge variety of italian dishes and seafood as well. The steamed clams appetizer was really good, and I opted for the "fish fry" since it was Friday! Really good and healthy portion. Wife had a halibut special which she really liked, but couldn't finish. Friendly service - and the owner is trolling the tables speaking to all the locals he knows.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Promising but disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I wanted to like this place. Had a great name, the web site spoke of home cooking and Italian receipts from the old country. Unfortunately the food, atmosphere, and service All were lacking.
We were greeted warmly and shown to our table by a friendly gut who appears to be well known and liked... Perhaps this was Sal, the owner. He named of a dozen plus beers (none on tap) and our beverage order arrived promptly.
The tables and chairs were kind of a hodge lodge, and not in a cool eclectic way. More as in old restaurant or dinner furniture. Our chairs we very uncomfortable and too low for the height of our table. We actually heard a waitress seat another party at a particular table because "you'll like this table, the chairs are all the right height".
Warm baked bread came next, and it was dry good with the beer,
We had the calamari for an appetizer. It was good but not anything special. Breading was pretty thick.
For dinner, we had the Chicken and Scallops Bucca and the NY Strip steak. The Bucca was very rich and flavorful. Scallops were tender but the slab of chicken on the bottom of the plate was drowned in the sambucca Alfredo sauce It would have been good over pasta instead of by itself on a plate. By the end of my dinner the butter was separating from the cheese in the sauce, leaving the last several forkfuls greasy.
The NY strip was orders medium but came well done. We asked to have it replaced, which they did. The second was was done correctly but by this time everyone else was done eating, so it was taken home in a doggie bag.
Depending on your main dish, you get only one side dish. Choice of pasta, potato, or salad.
The place was pretty busy for a Thursday night. Looked like many locals and overflows from Turning Stone and Vernon Downs. Noisy Our waitress was friendly but not very visible and never spent more than 10 seconds with us when she was at our table. Despite the issue with the steak, we were not offered anything off the bill. In fact the bill had odd charges on it relative to our side dishes that made no sense, but by then we just wanted to leave. Came to $64 before tax and tip for 2 beers, appetizer, and two entrees.
All In All, nice folks, but need to pay attention to the the things that mAke dining out enjoyable... Atmosphere, service, and good food!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Stallion Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Black Stallion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Stallion Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.