We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome for snowmobilers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byrncliff Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Byrncliff Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Byrncliff Resort & Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Byrncliff Resort & Conference Center
2357 Humphrey Road, Varysburg, NY 14167   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varysburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome for snowmobilers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere to go with your sled, Byrncliff is the perfect stop off point! Three of us had a room for the weekend and it was perfect. Not the best quality of rooms but a clean warm bed to sleep in with your basic amenities. Your there to ride not to sit in the room right? The food was ok but we did not eat much there as we stopped off places with our sleds. They also have special rates and packages for snowmobilers so its worth looking into. We drove our sleds right up to the room and access to the trails is more noticeable than the regular roads! Had a great time and worth it!

Room Tip: Basic rooms have a fully connected deck so if you are looking for tranquility, don't go on the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We paided over $130 for one night and to be honest the rooms are very poor. Probably not updated since the 80's. Stains on chairs, carpets and beds. Not very clean at all. I would expect this from a $30/night room. No continental breakfast included or anything. Until they decide to put some money back into this place, we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This is our favorite place for fish in WNY. The broiled fish is delicious and healthy, but the battered fish is also delicious. Their salad bar has a nice variety including potato and macaroni salads, chef salad with many toppings, muffins, and more. Dining room in the back is much quieter than the one near the bar. Busy pace on Friday nights however we have never waited more than 10 minutes. Service is quick, good and friendly. Byrncliff is out in the country a bit, but well worth the drive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for a night and it was our stop for the night only (so no golf unfortunately). The rooms are average, amenities just about ok, but I have to say the lady at the front desk (Sarah) was very helpful and nice to work through our bookings with. The resort is scenic and the whole area is wonderful, though we didn't have the luxury of spending more time.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room, ask for the farthest rooms in the 200 building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The golf was great and the locals we played with had nothing but great things to say about the place. They are updating the rooms; so some are still dated.The golf shop was great and the golf pro Eric treated us very well. He even slashed the prices on his equipment since we were staying there. The food was great. We had the golf package; breafast and dinner. One night I had steak and the next prime rib. East Aurora was nearby and had a nice movie theater and the opposite way is Warsaw and it had has all the stores you need like a Walmart. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was our anniversary and they comped some of our meal. It's not 5 star but it makes up for it in other ways.

Room Tip: Ask for the better rooms for sure and not the the old ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Byrncliff has the advantage of being the only motel/hotel within about a 20 mile radius of this area. So, they really don't have to try too hard to please - either you like what they have to offer or you stay very far away. And that's pretty much how they made us feel when we stayed for 2 nights in January 2009 in one of the standard rooms.

The room was fairly clean, but the decor is straight outta the 70's. A slight musty smell permeated the room. The carpet was very worn and there were several holes and tears in it. The fixtures and furniture are very dated and beat-up. The bathroom was very tiny but overall clean as well.

If you are just looking for a place to sleep then it is adequate, but I wouldn't stay here for long. This place caters to skiers and snowmobilers and they are everywhere from early in the morning until late at night. Most are generally drunk and rude. They swarm the bar and restaurant area. We ate dinner at the restaurant on the first night. The food was quite good; the atmosphere, however, is kind of like a frat-party. Loud and drunken revelers walking around in smelly snowsuits and snow boots, dripping ice and snow all over the floors. At 9pm a rock band took the (very tiny) stage and played so loud we could not hear ourselves talk across the table. The service was S-L-O-W, and even the slightest request was met with a rude attitude from both the server and hostess.

The reservation process was handled very professionally through both email and phone. We tried to haggle price a little as it seemed a bit expensive for the area and the quality but they did not bend one bit. All of our phone calls to the resort were answered with a cheery and upbeat demeanor. But during our stay there our visits to the reservation desk were met with a cold and smug attitude. Not sure why.

We visited the breakfast buffet on our final morning and the food was excellent, especially the pancakes which they make to order on a griddle right in front of you. The atmosphere was much quieter since it was a Sunday morning and we actually found it enjoyable. The area around Byrncliff is generally nice quiet countryside. It is a pretty good drive to the nearest grocery/convenience store, so stock up before you get there. All they have on site (when the restaurant is closed) is a couple vending machines.

Overall, this place is definitely not a "resort" as far as quality goes, but if you have to stay in this area it is adequate for a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario,canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

us and another couple stayed at the Brynclill golf resort. The golf course is very well maintained, and the staff is outstanding.

We had the package deal, 2 rounds of golf, breakfast, dinner and a room for $125.00 american each.

The rooms are very clean but only have two double beds a few rooms with a queen or a king bed would be nice for couples. The only thing lacking in the room was a coffee maker.

We would recommend this location to anyone who likes a relaxing round of golf.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — sleeping in seperate beds
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Byrncliff Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byrncliff Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2357 Humphrey Road, Varysburg, NY 14167
Location: United States > New York > Varysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Byrncliff Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byrncliff Resort And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byrncliff Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.