We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not your everyday chowder!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rick's Fish & Chips

Rick's Fish & Chips
Saint Peters Bay, Prince Edward Island, Canada
(902) 961-3438
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not your everyday chowder!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I'm not a foodie, but I do know when I've tasted something special. The curry chowder was very good. Bit of a twist on the east coast standard. No complaints on the restaurant overall. It's a popular place. Staff was very friendly and accommodating for a large family. Everyone enjoyed their food and had good things to say. Give the blueberry ale a try it's a regional thing.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    64
    36
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fish and chips were good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Its a great place to stop for awesome summer delights on the way to Basin Head! A destination not to miss on Prince Edward Island. The food was great as usual, an unpretentious spot with hand cut fries (yum). I actually saw a cook get a 50 lbs bag of P.E.I. potatoes out of a back shed to make more fries. The fish was fresh...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best fish and chips around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I grew up in the UK next door to a fish and chip shop and this is just as good as back home. The mussels are great too.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“They have Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I went to Rick's Fish & Chips for lunch. We were surprised to see pizza as one of the offering on the menu (my husband's favorite food). He ordered their medium size and was very pleased with it. It was big enough he took 1/2 of it for a late night snack. Said it was as good cold as it was fresh.

I had the fish & chips and enjoyed both. Very fresh and crispy.

We ate inside and it was a bit warm, but better than being blown away with the high winds outdoors.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Amazing mussels! The "Cajun Mussels" were fantastic, although fairly mild on the spice; not what we would ordinarily think of as cajun, but exactly how I like them. The fish and chips were also great. Small place, and fills up quickly! Homemade blueberry pie and ice cream are a perfect finish.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Fish & Chips also viewed

Saint Peters Bay, Prince Edward Island
Saint Peters Bay, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Rick's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rick's Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.