We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Coming Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at St. Peters

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at St. Peters to your Saves list
The Inn at St. Peters
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1668 Greenwich Rd., Saint Peters Bay, Prince Edward Island C0A2A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Like Coming Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at The Inn every summer since 2002. For us, from the minute you arrive it is like coming home. You are made to feel most welcome upon arrival and the ambiance of The Inn relaxes you immediately. The beautifully maintained gardens and lawns make a stroll around the property an event. For golfers there are numerous excellent courses within an easy drive. You are within easy reach of most of PEI's attractions, and the beach at Greenwich is an added bonus. The accommodations are excellent and spotlessly maintained. Breakfast is always well prepared and Karen the Innkeeper is on hand to get your morning started right. She knows her business and keeps The Inn running smoothly and is able to anticipate her guests needs.
Following a day of golf, birdwatching or general sightseeing and relaxing; cocktails and friendly conversation await at the bar; followed by a gourmet dinner in the beautiful dining room. We have traveled extensively in the States, Europe and Eastern Canada and find the food at The Inn to be as good or better then any of the other first class dining rooms we have visited. Ingredients are fresh and preparation is imaginative, while presentation makes the plate a delight to behold. The staff are attentive and as many of them have been with The Inn since it opened, they add to the sense of coming back home. We have recomended The Inn highly to friends and last year brought a friend with us, who enjoyed the stay as much as we always do. Each visit we seem to extend our time at the Inn and 2009 will be no different. Even though it is December, we are planning our return to The Inn next summer and look forward to it with anticipation.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    19
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
94
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

What a gem!! We were looking for a place close to Crowbush Golf Course and came across the Inn. We had a romantic room with a spectacular view of St Peter's Bay and it is only 10 minutes to Crowbush. After a round of golf we dropped into the bar at the Inn for a drink and immediately felt as if we were among friends. we moved to the dining room and were amazed at the menu. The variety of offerings and their descriptions were mouth watering. The final product exceeded its description!!! After a luscious desert we called it a day. We will be back!!

  • Liked — The room,view,dining
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Worth every penny!. Even a Canadian penny! The owner has anticipated every need, from the tranquil gorgeous vistas of the bay and well kept flowering gardens to the sunset view (ok - she didn't provide the sunset, but the cabin was situated that you sit on your private deck in your Aderondeck chair and wonder what good deed you did to deserve this place) . The "room" was equipped with two Q beds, a sitting area with couch, a small but well equipped bathroom (no fancy tub nor shower, just the standard), lovely toiletries, lovely linens, desk area, small closet. The main inn has a inviting lounge with bar and friendly bartender. The dining room has fantastic food, but service is very slow. Guess you have to put up with that as you watch the lovely sunset over the St Peter's Bay.

  • Liked — The flowering perennial beds
  • Disliked — The bathroom was small
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

This place is magnificent. The owners are very friendly, we felt like family. They could not do enough to make our stay so wonderful. The restaurant is superb. Just cannot stop raving about the Inn at St. Peters

  • Liked — The friendliness of the Staff
  • Disliked — No pool on property
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

Wonderful small Inn owned and operated by Karen Davey

Beautiful gardens and views of the Bay, magnificent sunsets to view from your balcony. First class accomodations, and wonderful dinners in the lovely dining room overlooking the Bay.

Great holiday!!

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at the Inn and have enjoyed the accommodation but, frankly, have found the food to be less than perfect though the surroundings are wonderful. Two business colleagues and I had dinner, but did not stay, at the Inn last evening. One of the colleagues had planned to bring his wife for a weekend in the near future and wanted to visit the establishment.

The service and visual presentation, as has been my past experience, was certainly above average however 2 of 3 appetizers were poorly prepared at best and all three our entrées well below what one should expect at this price point. The scallop starter was above average in my mind while the mussels my colleagues had disappointing at best. Our two fish entrées (salmon and halibut) were both overcooked while the beef tenderloin was not anywhere near what it should have been> yes we shared and our assessment unanimous. Further, our server never asked how our meals were.

The wine list is limited and not disclosing (no vintages shown). With that said, we did enjoy the bottle of Australian we ordered despite the 'sticker shock'.

Dinner for three, including tip, and one desert, was over C$335 which we felt approached usury for the value received> buyers beware!

  • Liked — Rooms are nicely appoiinted and staff helpful, attentive
  • Disliked — Lousy food and generally poor value for money.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdpei, Owner at The Inn at St. Peters, responded to this review, May 19, 2008
As an Innkeeper for the last 8 years, I take all comments about the Inn and dining room very seriously and I am sorry that one of our guests did not enjoy his meal. It is our practice to perform regular checks on our tables to ascertain guest satisfaction, we obviously dropped the ball this time. I am confident in saying however that I feel this is an isolated case as we continue to receive the coveted AAA/CAA Four Diamond Restaurant Award.

As we are a fine dining establishment we feel our prices are in line with other high end restaurants, our appetizers range in price from $8-$14, entrees $24-$35 and desserts $7-$12. We appreciate the guest's comments about the wine list and we are now providing vintages. With respect to selection, we attempt to maintain a list of approximately 60 quality wines however as some are obtained through the annual wine show, once they are sold out we are unable to replace them. That said, we have vastly increased our wine show order this year to try and ensure a better selection for our guests.

We have thanked our guest for his comments and offered them another dinner on us, we hope they will join us this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Trip advisor reviewers rarely get it wrong so that's why we booked two cabins in July 2007. We were welcomed by Karen and her two dogs the minute we arrived and we could see that she runs the place with a velvet fist- any problem or question is immediately sorted and the staff are extremely well trained. The food is as good as other reviewers have pointed out and the service from staff was excellent.
Personally I would have liked a pool to chill out in after a days biking and some shade in the garden would be very welcoming, but you can't have everything - unless of course a trip advisor knows of better.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at St. Peters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at St. Peters

Address: 1668 Greenwich Rd., Saint Peters Bay, Prince Edward Island C0A2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Saint Peters Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Peters Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at St. Peters 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a 13 acre waterfront setting, here you will find all of the comfort and privacy of a boutique hotel with the personalized service you expect from a Four Star Inn. 16 Private suites, all with their own deck overlooking St. Peters Bay. Award winning gardens, dazzling sunsets and contemporary Canadian cuisine in our 55 seat restaurant that was named the best on the Island in 2012. Free breakfast included when reservations made directly through the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at St. Peters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At St. Peters Hotel St. Peter`s Bay
Hotel At St Peters
At St Peters Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at St. Peters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.