We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stuff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Pizza North Utica

Charlie's Pizza North Utica
350 Leland Ave, Ste 6, Utica, NY 13502-2327
315-738-8946
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 149 Restaurants in Utica
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Never disappointed. Great soups and calzones! You can just tell it is all homemade. I return regularly because of the consistently.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really not much to say!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

They are trying and pizza is alright. They do have a great dining area unlike many pizza places. They are in big lots plaza.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's incredibly inconsistent, but when the owner is in the shop it's amazing. It used to be consistently the best around. More recently, its more hit or miss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Pizza - Pick Up Only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We order Charlie's Pizza regularly and have learned to order only the pizza and to order for "pick-up" only. All the pizzas are great and I love the Hot Wing Chicken Pizza. The salads are tasteless even with how they drench the salad in the dressing. I agree with another reviewer they are probably from bags. In Utica, your restaurant is judged by your riggies and Charlie's are a very poor example.

The service is terrible and comes with a lot of attitude. When making my pizza order for carry out if I don't say "pick-up" and say "carry out" they reply with "You mean pick-up don't you." almost every time. I'm sorry don't you know what carry out means especially when most pizza places advertise delivery or carry out. The waitress aren't any better and are only there to take an order and bring you your order. There is no service only attitude. The staff are there to only talk or scream at one another.

So in review - Great Pizza just order it for pick-up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better pizza at my Polish mom's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a favorite of my parents, so we endulged them. Yes, the wings were good but the pizza was barely fair. I ordered a salad (how do you ruin a salad?) but it was saturated with dressing (forgot to order it on the side) and barely edible. Parents were happy so all is good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Pizza North Utica also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Pizza North Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Pizza North Utica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.