We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Utica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Utica to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Utica
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Weaver Street, Utica, NY 13502   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Utica
Kingston, ny
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

I stayed at Red Roof for 5 nights while attending classes at SUNY IT.
I had the business package. I was pleasantly surprised for the price my company paid. The room was clean, the bathroom was also clean. Not luxury, but very adequate for my purpose.

I plan to stay there again the next trip To Utica.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    137
    55
    21
    3
See reviews for
114
81
41
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Stayed there last week, the checked-in area was OK. Complimentary coffee machine out of order but a pot of coffee was left for guests. Next morning, nothing was made so we decided to go out for coffee,

The room we checked-in looked OK at first glance. The security bar was broken and checked the mattress - it was dirty and covered with thick mattress pad.

Minimal amenities but the shower was OK

If you could afford better hotel, go elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and I think it is great for the price! The rooms are really clean and modern and the front desk is quick to help with any issues. I felt safe and secure staying by myself as a solo female traveler. It's not a 4 star hotel, but that is not what you are paying for anyway. I would definitely recommend!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We wanted to bed down for the night before continuing on the Thruway three more hours to Rochester.
It was a nice place and a helpful staff, but we went there looking at the coupon that said 'Wi-Fi Internet.' We had our computer with us and wanted to do some surfing. Problem is, when we were in there, we found out you had to sign up for a Wi-Fi account through some carrier and give a credit card # online for it before you could go to any other site. That was a disappointment, but property-wise, the place was just fine and it's a great stop-over if you're crossing New York on the Thruway and you get tired. Comfortable beds, clean rooms. That's what you want, really.
We had a good coupon to stay in this place as we were heading west after a stop in overpriced Cooperstown (which all closed down at 5 p.m. anyways). An Aside: We went to one motel down the road from the HOF that had just about three cars in the whole parking lot. I offered to pay $50, but this empty motel wouldn't budge from $65. Fine, take the empty room... ridiculous...

  • Liked — Its closeness to the Thruway, a good coupon in that green travel book, and lots of restaurants nearby.
  • Disliked — NO FREE INTERNET ACCESS!! BOO!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

This was a perfectly good hotel. We got in really late (around 2.00am) due to some horrible weather driving up from Maryland. We had no issues checking in and were in bed fifteen minutes after arriving. Bed was big and comfortable and the bathroom quite big.

The walls are somewhat thin (someone outside the room woke me up one night by sneezing really loud) and there is no free Internet access. However, that's about it for the negative. The rest is good. The hotel is what you would expect; it is clean, well-kept, and easy to get to.

Good choice, especially in Utica where the hotel selection is not very good.

  • Liked — Very clean and easy to get to. One of best places in the area.
  • Disliked — No free Internet access.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

Don't normally stay at a Red Roof Inn, but I read the other reviews and was pleasantly surprised. Booked a business/king room and it had a GREAT working desk for the computer, one of the best setups I've seen.

The place was clean, close to the NYS Thruway and downtown Utica. Stayed on business for two nights and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

What can you say about Red Roof? Their facilities are spartan but adequate. The room was small, as expected, but everything worked and was very clean. The biggest problem was not with the motel but with the streets and highways surrounding the area. Kept getting lost. The front desk was very helpful in giving directions.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Utica

Address: 20 Weaver Street, Utica, NY 13502
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Utica 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Utica
Utica Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Utica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.