We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Utica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Utica to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Utica
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Weaver Street, Utica, NY 13502   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Utica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stay here often when on business in beautiful Utica. For a low price hotel rooms are decent and always clean. Staff is always helpful and the location is great. Many nearby restaurants with in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    138
    55
    21
    3
See reviews for
115
81
41
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent value in Utica. Hotel is clean, beds are comfortable. WiFi worked well. Although the hotel is pet friendly, which was one of our primary reasons for choosing it, there was no pet odor anywhere. Staff were very friendly upon arrival, offering us a king room instead of the 2 bed room that we had reserved. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Red Roof will never be confused for an upscale hotel. But the bed was comfortable, it was clean, it had a flat screen television, and the price was outstanding. It was a bit noisy, but there are several fast food restaurants within a 1/4 mile drive.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the interstate are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We decided to do an overnight in Utica. We wanted to do the Saranac Brewery and see some of the city. Also the Utica Zoo, and find some good places to eat. The Red Roof was reasonable and in a great location for what we wanted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is your typical roadside motel located off a major highway. The property is set back from the road, so you need to look for the sign, but being set back reduces the road noise. The room was reasonably clean. Free wifi. Several restaurants and fast food places are within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BETHPETRISKIGM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are always bee bopping around making cleanliness a priority. We appreciate you acknowledging that we are clean. Our Wifi is one of my features of the property. I love that you can just launch and go. Our brand is moving and shaking! Check out our next gen rooms that are hitting various markets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Room seemed okay at first. it was non-smoking but still had a funky smell. It was not as quiet as I hoped. You could hear phone calls from the adjacent room clear as a bell. It seemed pretty clean and tidy and it didn't bother me that much at such a low room rate until I killed a bed bug crawling on my bedsheet. yes, it was a bed bug....unfortunately (or fortunately) I know what they look like.

Room Tip: If you have to sleep in the bed, keep your clothes on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BETHPETRISKIGM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
My mouth flew agape when I read this review. Bed Bugs are certainly here, there and everywhere. The hard part about managing a hotel is you can do everything in your power to avert coming across this problem, but all it takes is one guest to introduce them. According to the Bed Bug Facts and Statistics nearly one in every five american is living with them. Americans are modifying their behaviors to minimize their risk of coming in contact such as: removing all bed sheets and inspecting the mattress and boxsprings as well as the air conditioning units, traveling with preventative supplies, leaving luggage up off the floor, As a hotel manager we do monthly inspections of rooms. However our inspections are only as good as that moment that we did it in. The hard truth is you can't ask your guests have you encountered them before, do you currently have them in your home, etc. Personal ownership is the best method of protection against encountering bed bugs. Please know at anytime, my staff here is trained to throw back blankets and lift box springs to give you the peace of mind to stay here. There is no way a hotel could guarantee with all the inspections in the world that you wouldn't encounter them. We just try to give you the best possible circumstances. We also have begun steaming the rooms regularly now as well which is also a good device to bring with you as you travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

While visiting this time in upstate NY I stayed here, I've stayed in the past in various other locations as well as here, yet decided to come back again. I certainly was not disappointed. Again, a very clean room, good price, good value, bed was very comfy, room was nice temp. Shower water pressure very good, all amenities were well rounded. Only coffee or tea offered, 24/7 though and a free USA today. They never said they had a real breakfast so I was not disappointed. I'd stay again when coming through the area, great value for what's offered nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter on the South side as the North side faces the NYS Thruway. Don't forget to sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Utica

Address: 20 Weaver Street, Utica, NY 13502
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Utica 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Utica
Utica Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Utica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.