We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Large Portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dominique's Chesterfield Restaurant

Dominique's Chesterfield Restaurant
1713 Bleecker St, Utica, NY 13501-1049
315-738-9710
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 148 Restaurants in Utica
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good Food Large Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Referred to as "Chesterfield's" by folks we were visiting at Utica College, this was identified as one of the top three Italian restaurants in town. I dined here with two colleagues and we were all impressed with taste, freshness, service, and quantity. We each ordered an entree that came with a house salad, and none of us could finish the quantity of food we were served (despite great tastes and freshness).

The decor was a bit odd (i.e., a Marilyn Monroe painting and mock charcoal oven illumination on adjacent walls with a partial tin ceiling). However, we had a quiet booth for a pleasant business dinner.

We dined on a Sunday night and the place was not very busy, but the service was attentive and the food served promptly. The large ravioli, saltimboca, and chicken were well prepared and had the pronounced distinct tastes one always hopes for in fresh well-prepared food.

Our entrees averaged $18-22, quite reasonable for the quality and quantity. We all ate more than we should have and left quite happy (and stuffed).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    4
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
1 review
“Great old Italian with a modern flair! Decent tap beer and good wine selection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great eggplant parm like Grandma made:-)) would totally recommend this place. Truly authentic! A must go to for authentic Italian cuisine. Sat and talked with the owner sal and and the nicest bartender Leeann. It was a very nice experience and a friendly atmosphere. Good jazz music! Would definitely come back next time were in utica. Must try the chicken righties and the greens next time! Hear they're delicious !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have eaten here many times over the years, but it just isn't what it used to be. The last few visits the food has really been poor. The Saturday after Thanksgiving we took friends here from out of town because we wanted to show them a nice east Utica Italian restaurant with real Italian food. The service was very good, but all four dinners were poor. My veal was tough. My wife's chicken was over spiced. None of us finished our meals. Our friends didn't say anything until later. After we left we told them we were disappointed, and they told us that their dinners were also not very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I should have known that this would not be a positive experience when our server neglected to tell us the specials. I would guess that having two four tops was a bit overwhelming. Our food was cold and did not in any case reflect what was stated on the menu. In our seating area there were complaints from 3 of the 5 tables. One entree linguine with white clam sauce had broken shells in the pasta. Out of the four entrees ordered one was decent at best. The most disappointing fact may have been that while we waited and stared at our cold food the hostess sat down directly across from us, well within earshot and was focused on conducting a personal conversation. I would come to the conclusion that bad food and service are a regular problem when the first comment made is "I hear there is a problem at this table now". The greens in sticking with the trend of this board were good, so if you are interested in just eating an appetizer having no drinks, empty glasses of water and no silverware, make it a destination and you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Definitive Utica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The drive to get there is less-than-ideal, but Chesterfields is worth the effort. Friendly and festive staff meet you at the door and add 'flavor' to the entire meal. The ambiance and history add to this very historic restaurant. If you are looking for a fun evening out with good food and drink, I would recommend Chesterfields.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dominique's Chesterfield Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dominique's Chesterfield Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dominique's Chesterfield Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.