We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aahh... The Aroma Of Chicken McNuggets In The Morning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Utica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Utica to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Utica
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   172-180 N Genessee St, Utica, NY 13501   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mt. Juliet, TN
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Aahh... The Aroma Of Chicken McNuggets In The Morning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

The good news is that the rooms are new enough to still be comfortable and reasonably well-appointed. That's the best I can say.

The hotel is tucked behind a Denny's and several fast-food outlets, all of which have seen better days. Next door is what appears to be a gasworks, while my room view was of an abandoned lot filled with piles of garbage and construction debris. It's not the neighborhood for a morning stroll unless you are in desperate need of a greasy breakfast.

The worst part was a remarkable lack of service at check-in. The only desk clerk was on the phone when I arrived in mid-afternoon and continued the conversation for fifteen or twenty minutes -- long enough for me to call the Hotel Utica and Radisson to confirm that they were still sold out due to a local road race -- without eye contact or any indication that she would be finished anytime soon. When she finally got around to checking me in there was no apology or explanation. The next day I discovered that she had only authorized the room key for one day, requiring a return trip to the front desk.

Utica could use another quality hotel, but this isn't it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    97
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
162
85
27
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

I have stayed here a couple times on business. This is a new, very clean hotel. The front desk staff are very nice and friendly as well. They have a great free breakfast buffet in the morning.

There is a Super 8, Red Roof, and Best Western all close by, but they are dumps in comparison to this place. Sometimes I stay at the Radisson or the Hotel Utica, but this place is a little nicer than those.

There is a great steak place across the street called Delmonco's. Very reasonable, and excellent steaks and atmosphere. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

The hotel seemed fairly new. The fitness room had cardio machines but NO weights. Our big problem--the bathroom light didn't work! I even asked the front desk to make sure we were turning it on right--it wasn't too much fun doing this at 2 in the morning nor at 10 in the morning.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — non working bathroom light switch
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Hampton Inn during a stop on our road trip home. The hotel is very easy to find, right off the highway. The woman at the desk on the night of 12/14/08 was very pleasant to speak with, check-in was very fast and hassle-free.

We were in room 212, which was equipped with 2 queen beds. Right after we checked in, a note was slipped under the door, and it turned out to be a handwritten welcome to the hotel, which was unexpected but made us feel so welcome. Everything was immaculate, very clean, and well appointed. Nothing showed any signs of wear at all- I felt like we were the first people in the room, it was lovely. We heard no noise all night and slept well.

The breakfast layout downstairs in the morning was well put-together and pleasant. Check out was easy. We will definitely be back on our return trip if there is availability!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

We were just a walk inn for two seperate nights coming and going from Canada. The staff is welcoming and friendly. We had a king room and a room with two queens. Linens were very nice. Loved the soft comforters. They had nice flat panel screen televisions with DVD players and complimentary DVDs too. There was a nice desk with computer ports and also a lap desk if you wanted to work in bed. The bathroom was very large with nice toiletries. They also had a nice set up for breakfast in the morning. They offer one hot dish with meat and then have juice, fruit, yogurt, coffee, breads and muffins. They also have to-go bags for breakfast that are made up if you don't have the time to stop and eat. The business center is open 24 hours and they have free USA papers. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice and the fitness center had some nice qulity treadmills and eliptical trainers in it.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable with nice amenities
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Utica while in the area for business in Sept 2008. While not in the nicest area, it is close to 790, NYS Thruway, and Rts 12, 8, and 5. (I would go to New Hartford or Whitesboro for eating/shopping.) And it's brand new.
I had a king room (pricey for Utica at $150). The bed was very comfortable, loved having refrigerator and microwave, desk was great to work at, and room had wired and wireless internet. The bathroom was clean, well designed, and everything worked fine. Free breakfast was the standard one for Hampton Inns.
Overall, excellent stay - was able to get work done and slept well - no issues.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

This is a brand new hotel. The rooms were very clean. Very comfortable beds, flat screen TV's, refrigerators, and microwave in the rooms. The pool was nice and the work out room adequate. They did have laundry and a business center with a couple of computers. The lobby had warm cookies, coffee, and tea. Very adequate breakfast included. All in all a very nice hotel and would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Brand New
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Utica

Address: 172-180 N Genessee St, Utica, NY 13501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel specializes in delivering customer service that is second to none! Complimentary hot breakfast bar, bottles of water, dvd rental, business center, evening reception of appetizers, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Utica Hotel Utica
Utica Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Utica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.