We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for business or pleasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Utica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Utica to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Utica
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   172-180 N Genessee St, Utica, NY 13501   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Utica
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay for business or pleasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent courteous staff. Nice clean room. Well worth spending a little more money to stay at the Hampton. Breakfast ready by 6am. This worked out great as we had meetings at 7am. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Terry,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Utica. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our Hampton On the House Hot Breakfast Buffet before you headed off to work. Our breakfast is served daily from 6-10 AM. The buffet features a variety of hot entrees as well as fresh oatmeal with toppings, assorted pastries and breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, and make your own waffles to name a few. We even offer On the Run Breakfast bags Monday - Friday for those of you that are up and out the door before our breakfast is ready, or maybe your just running a little late and want to refuel in the car. Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    89
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
149
78
25
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

As always, this hotel goes above and beyond my expectations. The hotel staff is friendly and accommodating and check in was a breeze. The hotel was clean and the rooms smelled so fresh. Would definitely stay here again. As a matter of fact, this is the only hotel we stay in while in this city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Karen,

I would like to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. With so many choices in our area it is a honor that you would continue to choose to stay at our Hampton Inn in Utica. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family was traveling through Utica and we always like the Hampton Inn, for its cleanliness and friendly staff. This trip was particularly memorable, however, because of an employee named Kim who was working in the kitchen during breakfast. I came into the breakfast area and snuck up on my 10-year old daughter, but the joke was on me when the top fell off of my coffee and I spilled it all over the table. I had to ask Kim for something to wipe it up with and she just went ahead and cleaned it herself like it was no problem at all. I then needed a knife to cut up a big watermelon that my kids wanted me to buy. So again Kim brings me everything I need, the knives and plates, and then even wraps up the leftovers so I could take it with me. She was also incredibly personable and friendly. I'll remember her for a long time and hope I see her again the next time I'm in Utica.

Room Tip: I stayed in rooms 206 and 204 and didn't have any problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Trish,

Thank you for recognizing one of our gems here, Kim. She is a star and shows her Hamptonality daily. I am glad she made a lasting impression on you and your family. We can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night, the hotel is close to the highway. The rooms are big and there is a mini-fridge, microwave, iron, dvd player and free wifi. There is a free breakfast buffet which is pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our Hampton Inn Utica. I am glad that you got to enjoy so many of the amenties that we have to offer. Hopefully you picked a great movie from our complimentary DVD library and enjoyed you movie night with a great tasting bag of popcorn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for one night, unfortunately, because it was so good wish we could have stayed longer. Front desk is superb. When I checked out with my kids I was overheard saying how we missed breakfast, the front desk person immediately asked if I would like some fruit bagged up to go with bottled water. Who does this?!?! Clean property, rooms were a nice size and having a fridge and microwave are an added bonus. Indoor pool VERY nice. Conveniently located to the thruway, really nothing to improve on. We will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments and are so glad that we made a great first impression on you. Our goal is to be in the top 5% of Hampton Hotels in the country and your comments tell me we are on the right path. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was clean, fresh, and the staff was great. The pool was one of the most pleasant indoor pools that we have used. It was clean and did not smell overmuch of chlorine. The breakfast was great. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you got to enjoy our indoor pool during your recent stay. It's a relaxing atmosphere to take a dip. Thank you for recognizing our staff members as we strive to deliver the best in customer service. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Impressed with the cleanliness and ammenities offered. The air conditioner was very quiet....something appreciated when trying to sleep. The only complaint I had was that there was a wait when coffee ran out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Russ C.

Sorry to hear that you had to wait for coffee. I know I can't function without my cup! I also want to thank you for recognizing our great housekeeping team for doing a wonderful job keeping this hotel clean as a whistle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Utica

Address: 172-180 N Genessee St, Utica, NY 13501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel specializes in delivering customer service that is second to none! Complimentary hot breakfast bar, bottles of water, dvd rental, business center, evening reception of appetizers, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Utica Hotel Utica
Utica Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Utica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.