We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great value priced find in Utica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 North Genesee Street, Utica, NY 13502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Utica
Highlands, New Jersey
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Another great value priced find in Utica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

There are several good choices for hotels in Utica so I did not bother making a reservation. I started hotel price hopping at 4:30pm. A few of my favorites were "value priced" at over $100 per night. I took a chance and stopped at the Best Western. I asked for the AAA rate and it was competitive but not good enough for a stay; then I asked for the best rate. The best rate was good but I wanted to check the room. The room was large and well furnished. I ended up with a parking space right in front of the door next to the room. The front desk clerk was thoughtful and helpful.
The king size bed was very comfortable. The hotel is a good choice for business or leisure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review of our property! We appreciate your kind words and are glad that we could accommodate your needs. We are glad that you found our rooms to be large and well furnished and that the bed was very comfortable. We pride ourselves in customer service at all times here at Best Western and are glad we made your stay enjoyable!
We hope you will consider us again if you are ever in the area!

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    41
    16
    13
See reviews for
41
46
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel has presently changed hands so there is a new spirit on board. The present owners are updating and modernizing and that will take time but already good changes are in appearance and it looks like it will be a lot better in the not too distant future. Staff is attentive and friendly and helpful and makes us feel welcome and that means a lot when coming off the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay at our property! Yes, we are in a transition and we are very excited about the upgrades that are to come! We are thrilled that we could provide friendly and helpful service to you while your on the road! Thank you again! See you soon!

Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobleskill, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Check-in was very basic. No acknowledgement for being a Diamond Elite member, no offer of bonus points, beverage, etc. Christina was very robotic with her procedure. First room was adequate with size and space, but toilet was not properly cleaned, and bathroom floor was visibly dirty. Moved to the main building was efficiently handled, but rooms are motel quality and are quite dated. Heat worked too well, and no happy medium existed with unit. No blanket provided with the basic sheet and thicker sheet, which would have satisfied our comfort without having to crank the heat. This made room very dry. Bathroom was tiny and dated. Barely enough room for tub/shower and toilet. Mattress soft, and upon inspection the next morning had a HUGE stain on it covered by a thin pad. Other staff members I encountered were pleasant, but not sure if genuine, or they just have been instructed to say good morning to guests they encounter. One maid we viewed spent over an hour in one room, but as we walked to and back from breakfast we noticed that she was texting on her phone each time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property! I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations at our property. We do pride ourselves with customer service and many people we see compliment us on how friendly we all are to each guest individually. I will be sure to discuss the housekeeping issues you have encountered with our head housekeeper and have it addressed immediately. Again, I do apologize for everything and hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.

Thank you

Kayla White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed the for one night. The room was accessible from parking lot, which I don't like. The room was freezing when we arrived. We had to turn the heat on ourselves and leave to go eat while the room warmed up. There were no blankets on the bed - we had to request from the front desk. The beds were OK. The bathroom was just OK - tiny and clean, but very outdated. Breakfast buffet was sub par based on every other hotel at which I have stayed. Waffles were cooked in the back and brought to a warmer, where they got soft and mushy. The eggs were awful. Only white bread was available and what I could only describe as plain Lender's bagels. I would only stay there if there were no other hotels available. Try the Hampton Inn across the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at our property, we appreciate your feedback! I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you may know, we are experiencing a colder winter than normal in our area, with many days falling into the negatives. I apologize that you found that there were no blankets on the bed. We do have blankets on all of our beds and we follow Best Western's standard for triple sheeting. Triple sheeting includes a decorative top sheet, then the blanket, then two more sheets. I am glad that you found that the bathroom was clean. I apologize for not meeting your expectations for our breakfast buffet. We have many guests that thoroughly enjoy our breakfast. We welcome any suggestions you may have to make it better at any time! Again, thank you for your review, and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

- nice hotel
- great staff

I booked this hotel without knowing too much about it and it was in haste but i was happy when i checked in as the staff was really helpful and the stay was nice as i got a kitchen suite.

Fallback: My money was blocked (1400 USD) and there was a change of ownership and hence my money was blocked for 30 days. I was also charged separately by new owner for my 30 days stay. I was cashless...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay at our property. We are so happy that you found our staff to be customer service oriented and friendly! We are glad that you enjoyed our Family Suite with Kitchenette. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with the credit card issue and apologize that it took so long for the hold on your card to come off from the previous owners. If you are ever in the area again, we would be glad to assist you with accommodations again!

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

There are actually two separate buildings. The one that has the entrance/front desk looks like a drive-up motel with an enclosed hallway. The second building - where I stayed - was across the parking lot.
The hallways, carpet, etc. are old and worn. The room was a bit better and appeared (and smelled) to be clean. The bath towels were surprisingly soft.
The breakfast was actually pretty good - variety of hot and cold options.
If you are looking for functional, this place will work. If you are staying more than a couple of nights, you may go home crippled from the hard beds like I did.
Keep in mind that there is no elevator, so if you have accessibility issues, ask for the ground floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for your recent review of your stay at our property! We are so pleased that we could provide you with comfortable accommodations during your stay with us. We pride ourselves with the cleanliness of our guest rooms and are glad that your room was up to the cleanliness standards of Best Western. We have a great breakfast in the morning for our guests and provide a variety of items to accommodate all of our guests likes for breakfast! Again, thank you so much for your review, and I hope you will consider us again if you are ever in the area!

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It is a basic motel with all facilities. The hotel has all the basic requirements. No issues. Most of the guest rooms are in a separate building from the lobby. The room is spacious. The toilet would make a huge sound everytime we flush. Other than that, we had no issues. Good breakfast, though the breakfast area is little bit cramped.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay at our property! We are so pleased that we could provide you with a clean, safe, comfortable accomodation while you were here with us! We do have two seperate buildings here at our property. I do apologize that the toilet made a loud noise when flushing and will address that with the maintenance department immediately. We do have a great breakfast here at the hotel and are glad that you could enjoy it. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will consider us again if you are ever in the area again.

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Address: 175 North Genesee Street, Utica, NY 13502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel Utica
Best Western Utica
Utica Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.