We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 North Genesee Street, Utica, NY 13502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Utica
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Chose this hotel from the others in the area as we were passing through. We were pleased with our choice and would stay here again. The room was very clean which is at the top of my list of looking at hotels. The Wi-Fi worked great and there was a great variety of TV channels. There was a great complimentary breakfast with a good choice of hot and cold foods. The double rooms had double beds rather than queen beds for anyone looking for queen beds. This hotel was easy to access from the I-90.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review of our property on Tripadvisor! We appreciate your feedback and we take all comments and look at ways of improving. We pride ourselves with the cleanliness of our guest rooms and are so happy that you found your room to be in perfect shape. We are always looking at improving our guest experience and are looking into implementing coffee and cookies in the evening upon checkin! We would love if you came back in the future and stayed with us again! We appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us!
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    42
    20
    14
See reviews for
43
47
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we were passing through. The location was easy right off of the highway.
The room was good. The carpet was a little used, but the beds were clean and comfy. The room was also quite large with access to wifi and a T.V. with many channels. The room could have used a fridge. The one main problem with the room was the paper thin walls. I don't know if this was because we had a connecting door or if all of the rooms are like that.
The breakfast was adequate, with eggs, sausage, waffles, toast bagels etc... and coffee and juice.
The service at the front desk wasn't the best. When I walked in to the desk to check in they were helping another customer, after she was gone the two guys behind the desk proceeded to talk to each other about how busy the night had been for awhile before deciding to help me. Once they did help me I was checked in in about 5 minutes. When I went to check out the guy behind the desk didn't get off his phone the whole time and just handed me my receipt.
Overall it was a good hotel for a one night stay as passing through. It was quite clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about our property! We are glad that we could accomodate you for your overnight stay! We are so happy to hear that your room was right on to our cleanliness standards and glad that you found the room comfortable and large! We are continuing to work on our customer service and have made several positive changes in that area. I can assure you that I have been working closely with the Front Desk Agents in order to provide that superior customer care that Best Western is looking for. We hope you will come back and stay with us again and allow for us to show you all the positive improvements we have made with our customer service!

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Easy on-off location from Thruway. A few minor problems with room (for example, AC struggled to cool it) but it was clean, and large, and I was able to park right near the room for easy in/out. Wi-fi was working better than prior visits. Unfortunately there was a mobile home parked near the room with it's compressor, etc. running all evening - checked in around 10PM and was told that the Mobile Home, and 18 wheeler parked next to it, would be moved - but they never did - it did not make for a quiet night's sleep. Breakfast buffet has variety typical of BW and there was someone keeping it refreshed and the area cleaned up which is always great to see. They do seem to still have challenges when the rains are heavy with both the parking lot and some of the walkways to the room. Usually this location has outstanding service but they completely missed the mark this time both during check-in and with limited late night response from front desk.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building seem better than the separate two story building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review on our property! We are glad that you have given us another try, and hope you will come back again. Our Air Conditioning has been working double time this particular summer with temperatures reaching up into the low 90's most of the days. We apologize for the fact that you had trouble getting some peace and quiet at night with the Mobile Home and 18-wheeler. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and we have found that having a breakfast attendant keeping things stocked and clean is very important to all guests! We have made several changes to the front desk and I have been working very closely with all agents to ensure that we are providing superior customer service at all times. We hope you will come and visit with us again and that we can provide you with that Superior Customer Service that we have been striving for and working on!

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel is older in an out of the way location, not much close by except Wendy's by driveway and Denny's across the street. King bed rooms are large and comfortable with large desk and easy chair. Room was very clean. Breakfast was a nice assortment of hot (Belgian waffle sections, eggs, and sausage patties) and cold (cereals, bagels, pastries) items plus coffee and juices. Bed was a bit on the hard side and lumpy. Given the location, I didn't like that there was no required access with a key to the outside corridors, can just walk in from the parking lot. Great for an overnight stop when passing through.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our property, we appreciate your feedback! We are so happy that you had a good experience at our property and were satisfied with all aspects of the hotel. We have a great cleaning staff that takes pride in their work! We have had great comments about our breakfast, and are so glad that you were able to enjoy that extra amenity. We do have two separate buildings, and our Annex building does have key card required entry! We hope you will come and stay with us again when you are in the area!

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was nothing special, they did have a hot breakfast but we have seen better. It was a good price and just a rest stop so it suited us fine. It was close to two great places to eat. No elevator in the back building so we had to carry our bags up the steps. It was easy to find. Staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Room was ok but hotel corridors generally were quite bad, carpet is worn out. Our building didn't have direct connected access to lobby. This hotel really needs some TLC. Breakfast was just average, perhaps a bit below average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is in need of significant investment to upgrade its appearance. It looks more like a fifties motel. The ameneties package was minimal.

The complimentary hot breakfast was a pleasant surprise since the website only says continental breakfast. However, the choice of spreads for toast was very limited.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Address: 175 North Genesee Street, Utica, NY 13502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel Utica
Best Western Utica
Utica Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.