We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and good location, but priced a little higher than one would expect.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 North Genesee Street, Utica, NY 13502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Utica
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very clean and good location, but priced a little higher than one would expect.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is in a good location. There were several restaurants close by, one of which was Denny's. The service was fast, the restaurant clean, and the wait staff very friendly. There's also a McDonald's in the parking lot.

We stayed in room 329. The room was very clean, but very basic for the price charged. I thought the price was a little high. Bed was very firm, too firm, which was not good for my bad back; therefore, I got about three hours' sleep. The bathroom was tiny, but clean. It was a really good thing I brought shampoo and conditioner, because there were no toiletries other than soap.

Probably the biggest negative for me was that when the door to the room was closed, there was a loud sound of whooshing air from the glass-enclosed hallway. It appears the rooms once opened directly to the outside, like a one-floor motel, and were then enclosed. It created a lot of negative pressure in the hall, which made the room noisy and it was difficult to open and close the door. It also caused a lot of cool air to be forced into the room under the door. That was actually a plus for us, because the AC unit would only push out warm air no matter what setting or temperature we set it to. So I guess we had "alternative air conditioning".

To sum it up, it was clean and convenient, just not comfortable, which is why I think it was priced a little high. Under 100.00/night would be more reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
26
24
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Room was great, very clean, housekeeping staff was extremely nice, very accomodating however the front desk staff could NOT have been more rude. I would not choose to stay here again simply for that reason.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review on your recent stay at our hotel. I am so happy that we could provide you with a clean and comfortable room. I am very disappointed to hear that our front desk was not being customer service friendly! I will make sure that I address this matter immediately. I do hope that you stay with us again if you are ever in the area so we can show you just how friendly we can be!

Thank you,
John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice and clean hotel. However they advertise free breakfast and come 7:00 am there were 75 people crammed into a space for 25. We had to walk across the street for breakfast at Denny's.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our property. We are so happy that we could meet your expectations and provide you with a nice clean room! I do apologize that you were not able to enjoy our free breakfast. At times we do experience large teams that do come down at once to enjoy the breakfast. I do hope you will stay with us again if you are in the area and hope that you can enjoy the breakfast!

Thank you,
John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed for three nights on a recent trip for a class reunion. The A/C performed poorly. 98 degrees outside, very warm inside. We were provided fans that just pushed the warm air arround. We were offered to move to another building (2nd floor room) with no elevator. Upon complaining we were given a $25 credit for three nights at $90 each night. I spoke with Asst. Manager, Mr. Welch, when I returned home. He offered another $40. We feel that one night free would have been satisfactory. However, after being verbally berrated by Mr. Welch I hung up and called Best Western Corp. They were sympathetic and and gave us the $25.00. I will never stay in the motel again and will be sure that anyone I know in Utica will know about the outdated motel that exists. Go the extra $25 to $40 and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: My tip to choose a good room is go to another motel. We have stayed at many Best Western's and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review about your stay at our property. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Our maintenance department did check the unit to make sure it was working properly and it was. We did infact offer to move you on two different occasions during your stay to better accomodate you, but each time you did not want to move. During your third night here, we had no complaints from your room about the air conditioner not working. You checked out with us on a Sunday and a $25 plus tax discount was provided for the inconvience of the room not being cool enough for you. We did not hear anything again until Thursday morning. Mr. Welch spoke to all involved with your situation and found that the air was working properly and that fans were provided to you to circulate the cool air around the room since you did not want to move to another room. An additional $40 plus tax was taken off of your bill for a total of $65 plus tax total off of your bill. We again apologize for any problems you may have encountered.

Thank you

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Arrived at 2:45 and was told that my room wasn't ready. Seemed a bit odd since the parking lot was deserted, checking in 15 minutes early exactly early and there ought to have been a room available. The lobby smelled bad. Returned at 3:30 to be checked in by a nice desk clerk with no problem. The room was decent and clean. No real complaints. The free breakfast was minimal and basic. I think the only reason they can get away with charging so much is the location. The room and amenties weren't worth the average price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent review of our property. Our check in time is at 3pm. If your room is ready beforehand we are glad to check you in. We our currently in our busy season and have been filling up on a daily basis and are working to get our guest rooms cleaned and ready to go before check in time. We are sorry that we were unable to accomdate an early check in. Our breakfast consists of waffles, sausage, eggs, cereal, yogurt, muffins, oatmeal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. We welcome any suggestions that can help to improve our breakfast. Again thank you for your review.

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western for just one night and we were very pleased with our visit. Although as another reviewer mentioned, the motel has some age to it, the rooms were very clean and the overall look of the motel was comfortable and welcoming. We were especially pleased with the hotel staff, both when making the reservation and during our visit. We needed two rooms and the staff lady I spoke to on the phone volunteered that they would try to get our rooms close together, even though she couldn't guarantee it. Not only were they close, they were adjoining rooms with a doorway in between, perfect for our needs! The free breakfast we had in the morning was very nice - a large room with plenty of tables and a good variety of food. Based on our experience, I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay at our property. We are so happy that we could provide comfortable, welcoming and clean accomdations for you and your party. We strive to provide superior customer service and train all of our staff to helpful and accomdating to our guests. We do have connecting rooms withing some areas of the hotel and are so pleased that we were able to provide you with these rooms to meet your needs. We have made several changes to our breakfast within the past few months and are continuing to look and make changes wherever neccessary. We hope that we can accomdate you again if you are ever in the Utica area.

Thank you,

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Out dated hotel made up of different buildings. We booked a group of rooms and all were clean. Our room had teal bathroom tiles but very clean. We were disappointed that when we doubled checked the night before about having all of our rooms together they said that would fine and then our party was split between two building.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review on your recent stay at our property. We are so pleased to hear that we have achieved our goal of providing comfortable and clean accomdations for you and the rest of your group. We do apologize for not being able to keep your group together in one building. We do our best to try and keep all group members together but there are times were something comes up and we have no choice but to move some members. Again, thank you for the review and we hope we can accomdate you if you are ever in the area again!

Thank you,

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel Utica
Best Western Utica
Utica Best Western
Address: 175 North Genesee Street, Utica, NY 13502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.