We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good portions and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse

Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse
151 N. Genesee St., Utica, NY 13502-2511
315-732-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 149 Restaurants in Utica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Utica, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good portions and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited several times and always had great choices and quality. If you are hunger, they can satisfy your appetite with a monster steak. Always had a good time here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    97
    45
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CRAFTSBURY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“STEAK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Absolutely the best anywhere for food, service, atmosphere and value! Great parking, take out service direct to car. Super gift certificate offerings $120 value for $100.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We go to this place once a month while traveling through. The staff is always pleasant, the food is fantastic (get the Sinatra Chicken!) and everything always tastes FRESH! Do not forget to share a cannoli!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food is outstanding, a little expensive though. Not somewhere you can visit regularly. But on special occasions this would definately be a pick.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Much Better Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

When I was given a gift card to Delmonico's I wasn't really impressed. I though their pasta might be good, but steaks? No way. But boy, was I wrong, and I'm happy to say it. Delmonico's gave me the best steak I've had in a long time.
I ordered the filet portobello ($19.99), medium rare with extra mushrooms, and whoever the chef was, s/he hit it dead on. The cut was hot and juicy on the outside and warm and red on the inside and tender, tender, tender! I would be glad to go back again for that kind of steak. It came with a side of angel hair pasta that was cooked to perfection, and drizzled with olive oil and fresh parmesan cheese.
And don't forget the appetizers. I had the jumbo shrimp cocktail ($10.99) and was pleased that they really were "jumbo." Delmonico's also makes its own cocktail sauce which complements the shrimp very nicely.
The antepasto ($10.99) was huge! The menu said it was enough for two people. It was enough for four! The salami and cappicola were very thinly sliced and fresh, and colorful. Also included was crispy lettuce, tomatoes, roasted red peppers, pepperoncinis, and cubes of sharp cheddar cheese.
The wine list is also good. I had a glass of the Robert Mondavi Cabernet Sauvignon ($8.75) and my date had the Red Rock Merlot ($6.75). We were both very pleased.
Atmosphere isn't great for quiet, romantic dinners. It's more a family restaurant and there a a lot of little kids running around and lots of noise.
But if you can overlook those, definitely try Delmonico's. I think you might be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.