We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Denny's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Denny's
180 N. Genesee Street, Utica, NY 13501
315-732-9350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 148 Restaurants in Utica
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
472 reviews 472 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I read the other reviews before I ventured across the street from the Holiday Inn Express and it's minimal breakfast buffet. Most Denny's provide a pretty reliable breakfast and this place did as well. I ordered blueberry pancakes and eggs with coffee and everything was served as ordered, hot and with a smile. Yes, the place needs some renovation and better lighting but I didn't go in with high expectations.

Certainly a place I would return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff is very nice, food is extremely greasy and average but that's super cheap. You can't complain really. Their salads are HUGE.

This restaurant is close to a lot of hotels so you won't have to take your car to find something to eat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Horrible Meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Although the server was very pleasant, the food was horrible. The "grilled" chicken was tough - couldn't even get a knife through it. The Caesar salad was completely disgusting. The only person who enjoyed their meal was my son who ordered goldfish crackers and chicken nuggets. The bathrooms were dirty - in fact, had I seen the bathrooms first I wouldn't have even ordered. Unfortunately, the experience was so bad we will likely never visit another Denny's again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Denny's is always an old standby, can count on the menu and quality at great prices. The restaurant was clean and the staff were wonderful, service was great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Different kind of Denny's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

It's the place, it's what u get to eat there.....( your pick)
i like Denny's.
we buy there breakfast and get a good one with hot drink in under a 10 $ per person..
AND ITS NOT A BAD BREAKFAST.
( IT ALL DEPENDS AS I MENTIONED EARLIER ON WHAT U ORDER)
Its a good Denny's (:

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denny's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.