We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Harp

Celtic Harp
805 Varick St., Utica, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 148 Restaurants in Utica
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
La Salle, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here while on vacation in Utica. Great food great atmosphere. Not the fastest of service but then again we were on vacation so who is in a hurry anyway. Super friendly staff!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    1
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sunday night find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Go-to spot in Urtica for good pub food, great service at the bar, best quirky & genuinely nice folks around on a Sunday. Also about the only restaurant open in Urtica then, it seemed to us first time visitors to the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Poor service ruined it for me.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

It wasn't crowded when we arrived 5pm.; one couple at bar; waitress, female barkeep Christiana & male employee. The bartender was too busy cutting lemons & after being told we were there she asked us in annoyed tone for our drink order. Never mentioned happy hour & right back to lemons. Then 3 guys came in & she was on it with the charm. After they ordered drafts she gave each a free token. Oh come on! 2 other guys came in sitting by us & she gave them similar bad service to ours all the time laughing & talking with her "friends." One guy said he knew owner Tom & when he was back on town would tell. So Tom... Food was good; too bad your employees don't respect your customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrill, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“On Second Thought”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

After having an excellent experience in Sept. booked another party for 8 in early December and was very disappointed. Despite reserving a week before and sending an email with an inquiry (which was never responded to), my party arrived to be informed that they were out of potatoes so several of the primary menu items were not available. Then after ordering something different, was informed that they only had two orders of my choice and 3 in our party ordered it. There were two employees watching football on a TV near our table and the noise was distracting to say the least. We were obviously the first diners of the day, so not sure why an Irish restaurant would not have picked up some potatoes earlier in the morning. Have heard rumors that the place might be for sale, so wondering if they are just letting things go. Ended up mostly getting just sandwiches which were okay, but probably our last trip to the Harp.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good little bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found this on recomendation of hotel barman. Good american fare, nice atmosphere and helpfull staff. Tuesdays are quiz night, fun even if you dont join in.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celtic Harp also viewed

 

Been to Celtic Harp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Harp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.