We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful historic hotel in Utica, NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Lafayette Street, Utica, NY 13502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Utica
Odessa, Ukraine
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Beatiful historic hotel in Utica, NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

As a foreigner who often travels around US, I am on a constant lookout for some places that still preserve that character of historic Americana. And hotel Utica is definitely belongs to that category. Even though it is not as splendid as it probably once was, you can still feel that grandeur of the bygone era.

Room Tip: Does not really matter which room you take. Mine happened to be on the floor where a noisy wedding p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    90
    46
    15
    15
See reviews for
41
69
13
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Utica on our way home from a long Eastern trip. It was enjoyable, even though it appears that the hotel could use a little renovating. The decor was very nice with the reds and the only qualifier I have about needing attention was that some of the chair upholstery was worn. It did not bother me. The desk clerks were both super and very friendly. It definitely has a great history and they were preparing for their 100th year celebration next month. There is free parking outside the back door. The only bump in the road was the restaurant as their web site shows a "1912" menu but, upon arriving to eat dinner, we discovered that the same menu was used in the bar, where 95% of the diners were eating. I think that the hotel should delete the menu from the site if it is going to be incorrect. The food was OK and my eggplant Napoleon was cool in temperature. We had a waitress who was on her first day and trying her best with little help from others. The bar tender was very busy tending the bar but the waitress appeared to have been left to fend for herself with little training. A lady at the bar did come and show her some things on the order computer, but was MIA most of the time drinking and having a good time. If she was a manager, she should be gone from her job. My best wishes are for the waitress. It was raining out and we decided to not walk or drive somewhere else to eat so it is somewhat our fault. The breakfast that was included was fine with toast, eggs, sausage, and coffee. Please do not judge the hotel on the basis of this bump in the road with the restaurant as it is a neat piece of history.

Room Tip: Try to get as far above the 3rd floor as possible since it is a smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This Old hotel has a beautiful lobby and very good food in their dinning room, but the rooms themselves are very outdated and need to be updated. The front desk is very helpfull. The dinning room is very plain and uninvited, but had one of the best steaks I have ever eaten. Still have old style TV's in the room and you almost trip getting around the small rooms. I prefer the Radison Utica Hotel, except for the food. Their also is no easy access with baggage to the lobby. Stairs everywhere to get in, so you have to pull the cart to the stairs and then carry luggage up the stairs and put on teh carrier. Not easy for old people or handicapped people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The City of Utica should be proud of the history and ambiance of this historic hotel. The hotel was beautiful! Our room was large, clean, quiet, and easy access to the elevator and stairs. The bathroom was clean and tastefully decorated. The bed and pillows were great. The desk and concierge were very helpful in answering our questions and making our stay comfortable. I had a problem with the Wi Fi connection so I called the front desk and they offered to change my room but between the two of us we found it was my Blackberry not the hotel server. If my wife and I should return to Utica we will look forward to checking into the historic Hotel Utica.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Chose this hotel by pot luck, it's a beautiful building and rooms are fine. Breakfast was not up to standard, food was slow to be replenished and same with cutlery. This is a nice hotel, but Utica is not a nice place, looks like a town in decline.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Was an out of town guest to have a hospital test the next a.m. on 2 occasions No compensation for not being able to eat breakfast buffet was given. The 2nd night we stayed there, my husband lit a cigar.(he's had 3 strokes) When I reminded him it was NO SMOKING room,he immediately put it out. When I received my credit card bill, it included an extra $200 cleaning charge. We called twice to explain, but to no avail. They lost our business which would've brought them much more than that. It's really too bad because otherwise the front desk staff was welcoming and we had a friendly waitress for dinner. Also the 2nd night stay the room was not cleaned properly: wrappers left on the desk chair, and a gauze bandage with blood on it was on the floor. Under the bed looked like it had NEVER been cleaned. My advice is take your business elsewhere!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is an older hotel which is clean with comfortable beds and a free breakfast which was fair. There was fresh melon, orange juice most likely from concentrate, and a modest assortment of cold cereals. Sceambled eggs and bacon were ok.

We had a non-shedding dog for which we paid a $25. fee. Parking was free. Would stay there again if the price was right. We sould considerour stay a good value..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 102 Lafayette Street, Utica, NY 13502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our 112 elegantly appointed rooms, including 14 spacious suites, 7 of which feature whirlpool tubs. Every room is artistically furnished for its historic charm. Start your day with our complimentary Deluxe Breakfast Buffet served every morning. Nestled in the foothills of New York's Adirondack Mountains, the historic Hotel Utica, is located close to the Adirondack Scenic Railroad, Children's Museum of History, Science and Technology, Munson Williams Proctor Arts Institute, Saranac Brewery and the Utica Zoo. The Hotel Utica has six different on-site meeting rooms and banquet spaces that can accommodate large or small groups, while the Crystal Ballroom can accommodate up to 250. The ballroom and meeting spaces have been restored to reflect their original grandeur, while staying up to date with todays technology. The Hotel Utica is the perfect fit for all your corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Utica
Utica Ascend Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.