We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Lafayette Street, Utica, NY 13502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Utica
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is an older hotel which is clean with comfortable beds and a free breakfast which was fair. There was fresh melon, orange juice most likely from concentrate, and a modest assortment of cold cereals. Sceambled eggs and bacon were ok.

We had a non-shedding dog for which we paid a $25. fee. Parking was free. Would stay there again if the price was right. We sould considerour stay a good value..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    88
    46
    15
    15
See reviews for
41
68
13
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

where do I start?
this place could not organize a tea party for 12 dead bodies in coffins.
They know NOThING about wedding planning or how to set up a room or do they know what to do or how to plan a room layout for a wedding.
They change things on you, they employ idiots and the food is garbage
You wouldget better service in a trailer park

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel is beautiful. Great if you are going to hold an event. The room was disappointing after seeing the lobby. When the hotel was updated they took the cheap route and ruined the feeling. The rooms are very very small. The closet door would not close so I could hardly move in my room. They should not even bother with the free breakfast. I probably would not even write this review if it was not for the grossest breakfast I have ever seen. The offered scrambled eggs, some green gue, and cereal. No meat, no pasteries, no waffles......just what I listed. This hotel would be better served to not bother doing breakfast, then I would not have been disappointed and writing this reveiw. so there is no free breakfast, I had to go down the street and get breakfast. I would never eat at their in house restuarant after this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Utica for 3 nights as part of our Cooperstown experience. It is a charming hotel with a beautiful lobby. The Front Desk staff was excellent when we arrived, as well as during our stay! We would stay here again.

Room Tip: 32 miles from Cooperstown, with much more affordable rates than anything closer to the Hall of Fame.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Best thing about this place is that it was saved from the wrecking ball. Beautiful lobby. Safe area, good parking. The Ascend group did the best they could with an old grande dame. The carpeting in room 602 was a bit tatty and worn. Overall, good value for the money and for a one night stay. Front desk very friendly and helpful. Recommend Delmonico's restaurant on N. Genesee Street opposite Hess gas station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Clean, but old. Breakfast okay. No waffles. Free parking and free breakfast. Free wireless internet. Personnel is nice. My window did not shut properly. Fortunately, the wind was not strong enough at night to be a problem. Reported the problem and they took note. Areas seems a bit depressed but reportedly safe. No time to try out gym.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Utica for one night to attend a local event. We found a parking spot in the hotel lot even with some sort of convention going on that day. The first floor (check in, restaurant) were absolutely beautiful with the marble and tile work. Other guest photos show it well.

We spent little time in our room, but it was clean and spacious. The furnishings are dated, but it seemed in line with the hotel and the area.

Breakfast was nice, but I agree with one of the previous reviews that it would have been nice to have a meat option.

Overall, a charming old hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 102 Lafayette Street, Utica, NY 13502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our 112 elegantly appointed rooms, including 14 spacious suites, 7 of which feature whirlpool tubs. Every room is artistically furnished for its historic charm. Start your day with our complimentary Deluxe Breakfast Buffet served every morning. Nestled in the foothills of New York's Adirondack Mountains, the historic Hotel Utica, is located close to the Adirondack Scenic Railroad, Children's Museum of History, Science and Technology, Munson Williams Proctor Arts Institute, Saranac Brewery and the Utica Zoo. The Hotel Utica has six different on-site meeting rooms and banquet spaces that can accommodate large or small groups, while the Crystal Ballroom can accommodate up to 250. The ballroom and meeting spaces have been restored to reflect their original grandeur, while staying up to date with todays technology. The Hotel Utica is the perfect fit for all your corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Utica
Utica Ascend Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.