We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone way down hill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Balkan - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Balkan
2006 Genesee Street, Utica, NY
Improve this listing
Cuisines: German
Description: This is the "other side of the house" from The Hadley, which you do list. Here is the Balkan's Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Utica-NY/The-Balkan/273624019534
Restaurant details
Description: This is the "other side of the house" from The Hadley, which you do list. Here is the Balkan's Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Utica-NY/The-Balkan/273624019534
Utica NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gone way down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This used to be very good - and lately has taken a turn for very poor -- ate there three times in the last month - - and all times the food was substandard and the service also left much to be desired -- will not be going back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Dreadful experience.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011 via mobile

I came in with a group of 10 into an empty restaurant and waited an hour & a half for a salad entree which arrived after steaks and sandwiches. The service was atrocious, the waitress dropping absolutely everything possible and forgetting everything. Those that came into the restaurant after us were served before. Overall- many thumbs way down. I did not even feel my experience was worth the trip out, I could've had a better experience and better quality food in my kitchen. By the way, green olives do not go on Greek salads.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia County, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Had a late lunch here on a weekday after visiting the Munson Williams Proctor Arts Institute. Sandwiches were very good, fresh-tasting food. Loved the fresh bread from the nearby Heidelberg Bakery, their "parent" place. Our first trip there, although I buy their bread as often as possible.
I oddly chose the Country Pate appetizer to try it out. Nicely presented, not too large a portion and very tasty. The liverwurst & onion sandwich on fresh Heidelberg bread was very good. Spouse chose the French Onion soup and found it just too his liking - cheesy, but not overly so - hearty, flavorful soup. Don't remember his sandwich.
Decor can be seen on the website, German bar style with good wood and interesting beer steins. Since we were only 1 of 3 couples in the place it was very quiet and we were able to converse comfortably.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool time in Uptown area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

Sat outside for our recent dinner at the Balkan. Delicious German-American menu with choices of weiner schnitzel, sauerbraten, steaks, and other carefully created delicacies. All entrees come with Heidelburg bread. Bottled beer selection is good and varied. Service was casual but attentive. A comparable meal in quality to a NYC restaurant would cost 3 times as much. Overall, a wonderful jewel in the uptown area of Utica.
P.S. I recommend a drink or two pre-dinner at the Green Onion Bar, located a few doors down from the Balkan. After dinner, stroll across the street to Cafe Domenico for dessert and coffee in a Bohemien type atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
541 reviews 541 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

If you like German food and are in Utica, this is the place. Not much on atmosphere and the appitizer came after the entree (think the waitress forgot), but the food was a solid hit.

  • Visited June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Balkan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balkan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.