We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here if you'd like to blow your money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Long Island Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Long Island Marriott Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Long Island Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 James Doolittle Blvd, Uniondale, NY 11553   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uniondale
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Come here if you'd like to blow your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I despise this hotel. Perhaps it's because I'm used to Southern hospitality, but this was the most underwhelming hotel I've ever stayed in. We came from out of town for a wedding and didn't realize this place is in the middle of nowhere. If you don't have a car, plan on taking expensive cab rides everywhere, especially if you don't feel like eating at one of their average, overpriced restaurants. I was told there wasn't a microwave in the entire hotel when I asked to heat up some leftovers, but I found a manager who was able to heat up my food for me. The staff is quick to tell you "no" without trying to find a solution to your problem. Wifi is $12.50 a day, which I think is ridiculous, and there's no complimentary breakfast. You'll pay out your nose for things that are standard at just about every other hotel. The beds were comfortable and the gym was very nice, but that's about it. This place is probably great if you're staying at Nassau Coliseum since they're right next to one another, but if you're just looking for a hotel, look somewhere else. I made an expensive mistake. In fact I don't think I'll ever come to Long Island again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    151
    72
    20
    17
See reviews for
72
54
17
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

A few roommates from college got together to touch base and go to a concert. if you ever have to go to the Nassau Coliseum this is the place you want to stay. you can just walk through the gate to the side and head to the event and then back over afterwards- no long lines, no waiting in traffic- PRICELESS. The room was clean, the housekeeping staff was pleasant and efficient. The restaurant had very good food and so did room service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The only reason we stayed at the hotel was because of its closeness to the Nassau Coliseum, where my daughter wanted to attend a concert. The Marriott was fine--nothing special--but the location was great for the Coliseum concert. Very nice front desk and information staff!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed there since we had a concert to go to, however last year we stayed at the melville one, although it is closer to the concerts the indoor pool area is in HORRIBLE shape! the jets on the hot tub barely work, the hot tub and pool are pretty dirty and cracked there is mold on the ceiling if you look up the paint is chipped on the hot tub, it really needs to be updarted badly. Then the rooms are not bad at all, not as nice a melville however, and they charge $250 per night, just because they are so close to the concerts! Its not worth $250! $150 yes. Then they only have one place to eat on Sundays which is Champions sports place, the other place is only open Mon-Fri so you do not have a choice of where to eat either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Nice hotel, good sized rooms, clean. Amazing location to the Nassau Colliseum for a concert/sporting event - just out the 'back door'! Nice area, restaurants a short car drive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

We experienced horrible customer service at check-in...but beyond that, the hotel was very nice. The rooms were very clean, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Howver, be prepared to pay for everything here except parking (which is free). Wifi is extra, breakfast is extra (and very expensive, and there is no other option in walking distance), soda in the vending machiene is 3.00 per bottle, and the rooms dont have refridgerators, so bringing anything in is hard. I stayed here for a concert at the arena next door, so the location was very convienent...but overall, i likely wouldnt choose this hotel again unless for the same reason. There are other options in the same price point that include more.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed here with my husband, who was on business. The hotel is nice, the staff is great, especially Cam who works at the information desk. He really went out of his way to help me and set things up for me. The problem is the location if you do not have a car.
To go anywhere outside of this hotel is a 10.00 to 15.00 cab ride each way. If you find yourself needing a cab call Clifton at 516-805-2702. He was very nice and reliable. I took a bus to Atlantic City and he took me to the stop and was there waiting for me when I got back that evening and he did not overcharge me like some of the cab drivers.
Pros: The rooms are large and comfortable, the bed had at least six pillows on it and was great to sleep in.
The hotel itself is clean and well organized. There are two restaurants, both have decent food although I thought they were a little on the pricey side.
All the staff from the front desk to the bartenders are friendly and do their job very well.
Cons: The location was a big one for me but if you are traveling and have a car that might not matter.
I wish there was free internet in the room. It's only in the lobby.
The fitness center is OK. The hot tub was not very hot and not at all strong jets. The indoor pool is kind of a let down if it is summer. The pool was pretty cold and uninviting.

Room Tip: Ask Cam for info and Clifton for Cab Ride
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Island Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Island Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 James Doolittle Blvd, Uniondale, NY 11553
Location: United States > New York > Uniondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uniondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Island Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full service hotel, located in the heart of Nassau County, is conveniently located near NYC and offers 615 guest rooms, a 10,000 sq. ft. ballroom and 28,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Long Island Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Island Marriott Hotel Uniondale
Long Island Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Long Island
Uniondale Marriott
Marriott Uniondale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Island Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.