We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Rapale

Save Saved
You added Borgo Rapale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Borgo Rapale
Via Del Castello 8, 52020 Rapale, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time here! Owners were friendly and helpful without interfering. Apartment was large and well stocked. Ambra is the cutest town ever. Great place to escape the crowds and enjoy beautiful Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This agriturismo was very comfortable. Our appartment was very well equipped (apart from the small uncomfortable sofa) and nicely set out. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed hearing about the history of the house and the small village.
The location was very nice because slightly isolated, perched on a hill providing great views, but also in a very small historic village.
We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful walled village in the heart of Tuscany dating back to 1000 AD. Fortunato & Gisella are fantastic hosts. Beautifullly renovated apartments with lots of room and everything you need for a relaxing stay. Close to Siena, the Chianti, the Crete & Florence. We stayed for 6 nights & managed to pack in a heap of sightseeing. We would definitely go back but stay at least a week.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivyland, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This place was absolutely gorgeous. We used it as a base for visiting Siena, Florence and Perugia. The hospitality was beyond measure. Fortunato and Gisella were wonderful hosts. I want to come back and spend more time here. I loved the quiet of the tuscan hills.

Room Tip: Absolutely perfect! I have picked some doozies in the past and this one was a hit. Clean, beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

It is a hidden paradise....Whatever comes to your mind whilst thinking of Tuscany is HERE..The location is perfect, the apartments so aesthetically designed and so very well kept. And above all the wonderful Gisella and Fortunato. Excellent hosts !!!!
Already looking forward to my next visit....

Room Tip: Ask Fortunato for the local red wine.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

A quiet, friendly, beautifully located vacation spot! We were two families with teen-age kids and either spent time here, around the pool, or made daily trips around Toscana.
This is definitely our next 'home' for future trips to Toscana. Can't wait!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The year before I spent much time finding an agriturismo up a hill with good access to highway and that had wifi and so chose Borgo Rapale. After we had booked the cute end unit "Jacopo" for my wife and I, we read reviews on trip advisor and felt even more confident in the choice we had made. What can I say, besides Gisella and Fortunato being great people and a great couple who run a relaxing and inviting Agriturismo, they were wonderful friends and literally life savers. We had booked 4 weeks at Borgo Rapale (we wanted to do day trips from 1 location). We spent 3 weeks visiting many major hilltowns, (Cortona, Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino, the Chianti towns - Rada, Greve, Monteriggioni, San Gimignano, Siena, Volterra, Orvieto, Assisi, etc) when at the beginning of our last week my wife got severe stomach pains around 4 am. They got progressively worse the next day. Gisella and Fortunato, arranged for an ambulance from the town of Ambra to come up the hill to get her and we went to the regional hospital in Montevarchi. Within 1 day my wife had her stomach cut open to correct a twisted bowel. Fortunato helped me with the language (phoning the hospital) and the stress of dealing with this potentially life changing event and they visited my wife and me in the hospital. They are truly caring people and I can't say enough how much I appreciated their kindness and friendship. These people are truly amazing and if you are looking for a restful get away, with internet access that allows easy access to the Central and Eastern Tuscan /Umbrian hilltowns you can stop looking. You've found it!

Room Tip: Jacopo was were we stayed. One side with a view of the valley floor. A perfect location for a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgo Rapale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Rapale

Address: Via Del Castello 8, 52020 Rapale, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Rapale
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Rapale
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Borgo Rapale" is a Tuscan farmhouse situated on a hilltop between Siena (25 km or 15 miles) and Arezzo. It borders a small, medieval castle and it boasts stunning views of the Chianti hills and the Ambra Valley. At an altitude of 500 m (1600 ft), cool breezes keep the resort comfortable under the Tuscan sun. The farmhouse is strategically located near the most important art cities of Tuscany and Umbria. From the farmhouse, it is a 25 minute drive to Siena and about an hour to Florence, San Gimignano, Arezzo, Perugia and Assisi. More than 10 restaurants of various types are located within a 10 minutes drive. Also, good and convenient local food catering may arrive in your apartment. Borgo Rapale's architecture typifies the Tuscan farmhouse style. The farmhouse is immediately adjacent to the Villa, which has been inhabited since 1520 by the proprietor's family that welcomes and entertains guests as friends. The proprietors are always available to provide information about the history of the villa and of the nearby castle, as well as about restaurants, shopping, wineries and major tourist attractions. Apartments are rented on weekly basis from Saturday 4 pm to Saturday 10 pm. During the low and medium seasons, also daily with the minimum of 3 days. Wi-Fi is available inside and outside the apartments. All the bedrooms have private bathrooms with shower and bidet. Each apartment features a spacious living room with well equipped kitchenette, dining table, satellite TV, wall safe and convertible sofa for two. The brick floors, the ceiling with chestnut beams and the inviting furnishings are in keeping with the Tuscan character. Al fresco dining is available for each apartment. The guests have access to a large swimming pool (7 x 14 meters or 23 x 46 ft) that overlooks olive groves, vineyards and forested hills of the below valley. Additional facilities include a lounge and an old wine cellar. Free use of covered parking, barbecue sets with fire wood, mountain bikes and games for adults and children (tennis table, football table, bowl course etc.) Washing machine is available for 3 Euros per use. The woods around the farmhouse make for great hiking and mountain bike trips. The renowned thermal baths of Rapolano, with its pools and beauty treatments, are just 15 km away. Horseback riding is 4 km away. Shops, tennis facilities, go-karting and fishing lake are all within a 15 km radius. Hot air ballooning, the Chianti and Brunello wine regions, and Italian fashion "factory outlets" such as Prada, Gucci and Ferragamo are within 40 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Borgo Rapale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Rapale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.