We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful country living” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Rapale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo Rapale to your Saves list
Borgo Rapale
Via Del Castello 8, 52020 Rapale, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful country living”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Beautiful property on the top of a little hill in the middle of Tuscany. Fall asleep listening to the cicadas chirping and awake to the sounds of wild boar and birds. Stayed in the Giovanni apartment with four adults and two children, was very spacious, clean, and comfortable with all the comforts of home available including free WiFi, use of a barbecue (wood burning style) and the awesome pool area with gazebos for shade. Everyone also has their own private patio/table for outdoor eating and entertaining. Fortunato and Gisela are wonderful, helpful hosts, be sure to buy some of their inexpensive wines especially the prosecco. There are a few restaurants within a 10-15min drive, along with a couple good grocery stores in nearby small towns. The road up to the property is narrow and windy with little room to meet another car (though do-able), so just be careful. Bike riding at this location is on difficult inclined terrain so most would be better off taking a hike instead. You can also do laundry at 3euros per load. Be sure to take Fortunato's advice about taking the train to Florence as we got very lost driving there and back. Other day trips to Montelpulciano very worthwhile by car as were Siena and San Gimiano. Driving in Italy is interesting to say the least, locals drive very fast with no regard for lanes, signalling or yielding to others. Signage on roadways is also somewhat confusing as there can be arrows pointing two different directions to get to the same place, so pay attention and be aware, and have a very good map/directions or a GPS. Would highly recommend this property for a peaceful change from the big busy Italian cities. Be certain to have a tour of the estate by Fortunato along with an amazing lesson in history. Unwind, relax and watch the sunrises and sunsets!!

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments will be cooler but there may be people staying above you that could cause so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We we were there a bit ago, but loved the place. Off season so we had the place mostly to ourselves. Guisella and Fortunato were like family. The history of the place is amazing. Dream of it all the time. Going to go back soon I hope.

Room Tip: mostly handicapped accessible cottage, loved it so much
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We were 7 Swedish families, in total 28 guys in the age of 6 to 50+, celebrating midsummer at Borgo Rapale. Our very high expectations were exceeded by far. Borgo Rapale is a fantastic place and the owners and hosts, Gisella and Fortunato, do everything to make your stay memorable and pleasant. We also catered some dinners and can really recommend Carlo and his team from Buscine providing excellent food and service. We will be back for sure.
Regards, John

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

My husband and I arrived here on the Monday and our friends joined us on the Wednesday for a week . The details in the advertising were what sold us on booking here and sometimes you think well if its only half as good then it will be OK. But it was exactly what was advertised . Friendly gracious owners Gisela and Fortunato could not have done more to make us feel at home. The first day we knocked on the kitchen door as bidden and Gisela welcomed us in and gave us fresh tomatoes from a local garden an onion garlic and herbs from her garden. Our first meal we cooked that night was a simple pasta dish with local wine cheese and bread. I couldn't have dreamed of a better introduction to the Chianti region.
A car is a must to stay here and see the many walled villages of the area. My most vivid memory is waking up and seeing the mist in the valleys below and just enjoying the sunrise in the cool quiet morning.
Bravo Gisela and Fortunato for saving this place for so many people to enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

The owners are some of the most generous and sweet people you will ever meet, and the place is fantastic, old, beautiful, and very near nice hiking in an uncrowded setting. My mom and I loved it. In fact, our favorite day that we stayed in Tuscany was spent just at Borgo Rapale, hiking, reading, and enjoying the quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howey in the Hills, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Note: This is not exactly a HOTEL. It is a lovely place in ancient, remodeled (on the inside) spacious apartments. My "partner" was my adult daughter. Access is by car.
We enjoyed the chance to shop at the small local supermarket, to cook and eat when we felt like it. It was nice having no maid service and just taking care of ourselves: like home. There are nearby restaurants.
The owners/hosts are kind and gracious. If you ask, they will show their family tree and/or sell olive oil or wine from their own trees & vines.
The kitchen is well appointed with pans, cutlery, dishes and olive oil & vinegar, salt & pepper as well as an espresso maker. Beds are comfortable, extra blankets provided. Bathroom clean, roomy.
Views are incredible, peaceful and 360 degrees. At night we could even see the milky way.
Rooms in the ancient buildings have been re-finished. Clean floors, new windows, new fixtures in kitchen and bath. Even a dishwasher! Washing machine and drying lines are available. Nearby is a horse stable. We did not check it out. Others swam in the pool, we didn't.
We took some walks, probably should have stayed there more days to relax and enjoy. Location is an easy drive to Sienna, Florence.
We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit with large living / dining / kitchen area. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

7 families with children and friends (32 of us altogether) spent a
week here. As all of us are very busy during the whole year, everyone
was looking forward to a week of vacation. Thankfully, Borgo Rapale
didn't let us down.
All of the apartments were very well-equipped, even including the
kitchens (with dishwasher) and two or three bathrooms per apartment
(enough to provide for two generations). Everything was very clean,
and if we needed something, the staff immediately provided. Gisela and
Fortunato - the owners - were kind and attentive. Note though that the
farmhouse complex is on a hilltop, and there is only one (narrow and
windy, but wide enough for cars and minivans) road leading up to it.
Everyone who likes the beauty of the Tuscan landscape and the spirit
of the renaissance (and has an affinity for fine wines and noble
hospitality) should consider spending some time at Borgo Rapale.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapale
10.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#6 of 13 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
8.1 mi away
Castello delle Serre
Castello delle Serre
#1 of 7 in Serre di Rapolano
5.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castello di Montalto
Castello di Montalto
#1 of 35 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
5.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Rapale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Rapale

Address: Via Del Castello 8, 52020 Rapale, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Rapale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rapale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Borgo Rapale" is a Tuscan farmhouse situated on a hilltop between Siena (25 km or 15 miles) and Arezzo. It borders a small, medieval castle and it boasts stunning views of the Chianti hills and the Ambra Valley. At an altitude of 500 m (1600 ft), cool breezes keep the resort comfortable under the Tuscan sun. The farmhouse is strategically located near the most important art cities of Tuscany and Umbria. From the farmhouse, it is a 25 minute drive to Siena and about an hour to Florence, San Gimignano, Arezzo, Perugia and Assisi. More than 10 restaurants of various types are located within a 10 minutes drive. Also, good and convenient local food catering may arrive in your apartment. Borgo Rapale's architecture typifies the Tuscan farmhouse style. The farmhouse is immediately adjacent to the Villa, which has been inhabited since 1520 by the proprietor's family that welcomes and entertains guests as friends. The proprietors are always available to provide information about the history of the villa and of the nearby castle, as well as about restaurants, shopping, wineries and major tourist attractions. Apartments are rented on weekly basis from Saturday 4 pm to Saturday 10 pm. During the low and medium seasons, also daily with the minimum of 3 days. Wi-Fi is available inside and outside the apartments. All the bedrooms have private bathrooms with shower and bidet. Each apartment features a spacious living room with well equipped kitchenette, dining table, satellite TV, wall safe and convertible sofa for two. The brick floors, the ceiling with chestnut beams and the inviting furnishings are in keeping with the Tuscan character. Al fresco dining is available for each apartment. The guests have access to a large swimming pool (7 x 14 meters or 23 x 46 ft) that overlooks olive groves, vineyards and forested hills of the below valley. Additional facilities include a lounge and an old wine cellar. Free use of covered parking, barbecue sets with fire wood, mountain bikes and games for adults and children (tennis table, football table, bowl course etc.) Washing machine is available for 3 Euros per use. The woods around the farmhouse make for great hiking and mountain bike trips. The renowned thermal baths of Rapolano, with its pools and beauty treatments, are just 15 km away. Horseback riding is 4 km away. Shops, tennis facilities, go-karting and fishing lake are all within a 15 km radius. Hot air ballooning, the Chianti and Brunello wine regions, and Italian fashion "factory outlets" such as Prada, Gucci and Ferragamo are within 40 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Borgo Rapale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Rapale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.