We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tinman Triathlon Haven!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaheen's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tupper Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaheen's Motel
Save
You added Shaheen's Motel to your Saves list
314 Park Street, Tupper Lake, NY 12986   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% discount on King Room
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tupper Lake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ithaca, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tinman Triathlon Haven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Came with family for the race. Motel full of other athletes so it was nice and quiet. Clean rooms, nice pool, and attentive owners. Breakfast is skimpy but there's not much else in town open Sunday morning so it was fine. Free wifi, large screen tv, microwave and fridge in the rooms.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Jennifer C:

We love the Tinman Weekend too; the athletes are a super group of people, friendly, easy-going, and so dedicated! It is always neat to walk the perimeters of the property on the eve before the race and usually by 9:30 p.m all the doors are closed and not a sound can be heard until early morning. We are glad you selected Shaheen's and was happy to hear you were pleased with your accommodations. Our start-up continental breakfast is meant to give everyone a head's up to begin their day; however there are at least 3 restaurants in Tupper Lake who open at 7:00 a.m. on Sunday mornings for a full hot breakfast. Hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
40
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We took a two-week driving trip through New York State, staying at various nice hotels and lovely B&Bs. Shaheen's ranks up at the top of our list of accommodations. It's a quiet, attractive and beautifully kept motel in a quiet New York town. We were there two nights and we really loved our stay -- nice room, pretty view out the back window of our room, and very friendly hosts. Had everything we needed. Our thanks to the owners!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room, and it was so convenient.
See more room tips
Green Features: VERY environmentally friendly. They take pride in that.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi Barbara & Ed S:

Thanks for selecting our motel to be part of your two week journey; to be listed among the top of all your travel accommodations is such a super 5-star compliment! I agree on the view, sometimes when we're working in the rooms we catch a glimpse of the deer feeding, once in awhile a group of wild turkey's passing through, and last month was a first when we saw a porcupine wandering it's way back to the woods. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks also for noticing our eco-friendly efforts. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The room, breakfast area & grounds were spotless. Friendly owners. Close to great hiking & kayaking. Variety of restaurants close by. We recommend this hotel for anyone going to the Adirondacks. We will definitely stay on our next trip to Tupperware Lake.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you Jim B for your great 5-Star Review! We sure are grateful for the vote of confidence you gave us through your positive comments.

Terry & I were so happy that you found everything spotless; seems that we've been doing double duty lately getting ready for the hopefully busy summer season and reading your review we felt appreciated. Thanks for that!

We agree Tupper Lake and our surrounding area is a great place with wonderful hiking and kayaking opportunities for people to enjoy. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Room very clean and cheerful. Very relaxing. Great bed. Super place to stay The owners take great care of the motel and the grounds. Owners friendly and very helpful.Close to stores and gas station. Many places to eat that are close.
JTC
Syracuse NY

Room Tip: room very clean
See more room tips
Green Features: highley recommend,great location great beds,would stay there again.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear JTC,

A FIVE STAR REVIEW!!! Thank you so much; you have succeeded in making a busy and tiring "spring spruce up season" worthwhile and in making this motel owner smile! We're so glad you enjoyed our comfortable new beds and found everything to be so clean and cheerful; those things are especially important to us. Hope to see you again when you visit Tupper Lake. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is always our regular place to stay on a trip to or through Tupper Lake, in the heart of the Adirondacks. Without a doubt, this is the best place to stay in Tupper - a family-owned property with a great tradition. There is seldom a vacancy, so be sure and make reservations!

The rates are great, and the included cold continental breakfast all you need. The new Adirondack Museum and Wild Center is only a half-mile away - a must see!.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Noisefree!

We appreciate your great review and are so appreciative of your decision to always stay with us when you are in Tupper Lake. In our hospitality business, a repeat customer base is super important and the most credible means of telling us that we are performing our job!!! Thanks so much for your continued support. Happy travels and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herkimer, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We are a hiking club from central NY and we went on a 3 tower weekend and stayed in this motel, It was awesome! Friendly people, clean place, nice breakfast, would defiantly go back and stay here! A great Place for the Price and centrally located to all the place we went.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Becky:

We're so glad you decided to stay with us here at Shaheen's Motel while you hiked our part of the Adirondacks! Thanks for writing a review to let us know you enjoyed our property and found everything so clean and comfortable. It's always interesting to hear about our guest's experiences and adventures! Hope the rest of your weekend went well and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were headed north to visit our son at Clarkson Univ, in Potsdam, NY. As usual all the lodging near Potsdam, NY was full so we had to look farther afield. We read the positive reviews for Shaheens and decided it was worth a try since it was on the way. We were in for a treat. The room, bath and facilities were fresh and immaculately clean. Price was right and a simple continental breakfast in the morning capped it all off. Our hosts were friendtly and knowledgeable on the area. The Amish bent wood/Adirondack style rockers in the lobby were beautiful. Its about an hour from Postdam so if you are headed upstate through Adirondack park we highly recommend Shaheens.

Green Features: Eco friendly soaps and shampoos are provided and have recycle and regular trash. We only stayed one night but Shaheen's requests guest to reuse towels if possible.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Dave P:

We are so grateful when our guests take time out of their busy lives to let us know they appreciated our Motel! So glad you found everything clean, comfortable, and all at a great price. We agree on the chairs, we fell in love with them too when we saw them! Thanks also for noticing our "green" efforts, we continue to try and improve upon ways to reduce our foot print on the environment. Hope your son has a great ending to his year at Clarkson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaheen's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaheen's Motel

Address: 314 Park Street, Tupper Lake, NY 12986
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Tupper Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tupper Lake
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ECO friendly with environmentally conscious initiatives and meticulously maintained. Smoke free AAA lodging property is family owned and operated. Our spacious, well-appointed units boast free in-room WiFi, microwave/refrigerators, in-room coffee, HDTV with HBO and free on demand channels, hair dryers and iron/ironing boards. Accommodations include adjoining rooms, family units and handicap accessible rooms with barrier free showers. Lovely outdoor "off the road" pool, picnic/playground area with basketball hoop. Complimentary continental breakfast, fax/copy service available. Lakes, trails, canoe routes, golf and ski are all nearby. Walk to restaurants or to the "Wild Center". Member of Green Hotels Association and certified as a "Gold" property by Audubon International. Sorry...No pets. Live web cam. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaheen's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.