We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Gothic Eves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Gothic Eves
Save
You added The Inn at Gothic Eves to your Saves list
112 E Main Street, PO Box 95, Trumansburg, NY 14886   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Endwell, NY
1 review
“Absolutely Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We needed to slow down and relax. This was the perfect place for that. The service was splendid. Rose was very helpful with everything from picking a restaurant for dinner, to planning our festivities for the weekend to finding a bank location. The breakfasts were spectacular. The entire weekend made you rethink your quality of life and what is truly important.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
126
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed at the Inn at Gothic Eves the first night of our weeklong vacation in the Finger Lakes area and wished we had made reservations for multiple nights instead of moving on to the next place we had reserved. Roman and Rose were accommodating, lovely hosts with impeccable taste in the design and furnishings of the Inn. We must agree with previous tripadvisor entries... consistent high ratings in all areas are sincere and trustworthy proof long-range that this gold standard gem is impeccably clean, quiet, comfortable with a memorable breakfast from fresh, local if not homegrown ingredients. Our bed was super comfortable, the room spacious and the use of common areas inside and out (make sure you reserve the hot tub) really make it a very homelike environment. Conversations with our gracious hosts helped to make our short stay even more enjoyable. Their suggestions for dinner and short excursions reflect their genuine love and knowledge of the small town of Trumansburg . We will definitely return for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

My wife and I recently spent a wonderful 4 days in the finger lakes wine area of upstate New York. We were fortunate to obtain a very lovely and newly refurbished suite at the Potter House. Evening campfires and a wood-heated hot tub were available in the back yard. Gourmet breakfast were the norm and were beautifully presented. Rose, Roman and their daughters were the most gracious of hosts and a wealth of information about activities in the area. This gem of a B&B is located strategically between Seneca and Cayuga lakes minutes away from dozens of established Wineries and Taughannock Falls. We hope you give them the consideration they deserve when in the area. Truly a worthwhile visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

My significant other and I recently traveled to Trumansburg relative to a "weekend away" with friends in the Finger Lakes. We chose the Inn at Gothic Eves due to the great reviews, and we were not disappointed. To be frank, we have stayed at A LOT of B&Bs lately on the East Coast and consistently find them to be adequate or just merely satisfying. In contrast, the Inn at Gothic Eves met my expectations and surpassed them. We stayed in the Seneca room in the Potter House with friends in the Cayuga room. The rooms were lovely, the bedding was Egyptian cotton, the robes were luxurious, and the house itself was beautifully crafted. In addition to the rooms, we enjoyed a FANTASTIC breakfast each morning -- something that I noticed a lot of B&Bs are restricting more and more even though they are called a "Bed AND Breakfast." Each morning we had a delicious breakfast (french toast one day and a cheese and squash omelette the next), beautifully set forth with flowers, fresh fruit, toast, jam, fresh juice, coffee, tea, and anything else one might want. I was full and, more importantly, my significant other was full and ready for a great day of hiking. On top of this Rose and Roman were EASY. We have been to a lot of B&Bs where the innkeepers try too hard, act standoffish, or are just plain odd. Rose and Roman were VERY relaxed, super easy. It was like staying with friends. They made sure we were well taken care of from check in to check out -- including a fabulous 10:00 p.m. hot tub dip in the cool Finger Lakes air -- which was perfect. Bottom line: I haven't enjoyed a B&B this much in a long time. I would absolutely return, and I will be referring friends from the City to this B&B. As for the town, it is centrally located for doing wine tastings. Far enough from Ithaca to be peaceful, but close enough to Cayuga and Seneca lakes to enjoy the wineries that both sides have to offer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

While this is a quaint B&B, I felt the room was VERY small for a high price. We stayed in the Golden Room which is a small room with a tiny private bathroom and we felt that $200 per night was not a good value. Rose, the innkeeper was very nice and helpful but we never heard anything about the wood fired hot-tub. Also, she was available by phone but our cellphones had no signal in this rural area. The area is beautiful and the town is within walking distance.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gothic Eves in Trumansburg, NY in July 2009.

Great location, minutes from Cayuga Lake and the Wine Trail. The Inn sits on Main Street, in the heart of Trumansburg, a tiny quaint town about 10-15 minutes north of Ithaca. NOTE: if you want a more “rural” location, look elsewhere. For us city dwellers, there was so little traffic on Main Street, didn’t bother us at all.

The innkeepers were outstanding! This was our very first trip to the NY wine country. Once we got there, Roman and Rose pretty much “planned out” our trip, with detailed daily suggestions, reservations, directions, and very helpful tips.

We stayed in the main house, second floor, “The Sewing Room” (the only room that was still available when we made our reservations). The smallest of the rooms, it was plenty big for the two of us. Queen size bed, private shower/bathroom. Clean and comfortable. NOTE: for those of you with “American Idol” and “Jerry Springer Show” addiction, there was no TV in the room. Then again, why would you want to watch TV when there is so much to explore outside!!!!!!!

Breakfast: one of the highlight of the Gothic Eves. Delicious home-made cooking! French-pressed coffee was great! And who knew flowers could taste so good!

Places to go (quick list):
Robert Treman park - offers some great hiking, beautiful views, and an ice-cold swimming hole underneath a large waterfall. NOTE: park your car at the Lower entrance, take a 2.5 mile hike up the Gorge trail to the Upper entrance, then take the 2.5 mile Overlook trail back. Offers the BEST views of the Lucifer Falls (do not take the Overlook trail first, unless you’re willing to climb about 1,000 very steep steps).
Ithaca - the Farmers Market offers great local produce, music, delicious local and ethnic food, and a boat tour of the lower Cayuga lake.

Places to eat within a walking distance from the Gothic Eves:
The Pouring House - offers nice “local” atmosphere, live music, and some great selection of beer. We would not recommend this place as a dining option.
The Hazelnut Kitchen - was outstanding! Delicious French-American food prepared in front of your eyes.
The Artisan Café - great coffee and a game of chess.

Hope you have as much fun at the Gothic Eves as we did! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

What a great place! We enjoyed the high quality of our stay at Gothic Eves. From recommendations for local sights, to taking care of dinner reservations and even a dip in an amazing 2-person wood-fired hot tub, this B & B does it right! Breakfasts were delicious and accentuated by a variety of herbs, edible flowers and chanterelles foraged by our hosts. Trumansburg is quaint and well situated in relation to all that the Finger Lakes has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Gothic Eves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Gothic Eves

Address: 112 E Main Street, PO Box 95, Trumansburg, NY 14886
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Finger Lakes Bed and Breakfast is centrally located between Seneca and Cayuga Lake. The Finger Lakes region is well known for its award winning wineries. The Inn offers a first class restaurant in walking distance, an outdoor wood fired hot tub which you can schedule a private soak under the stars, a soothing couples massages on-site, plush firm mattresses, fine linens, wireless internet, a local organic breakfast served every morning, private baths, gas fireplaces, and TVs. Amenities can be added to your reservation to provide a custom fit getaway. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Gothic Eves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.