We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halsey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halsey House
2057 Trumansburg Rd., Trumansburg, NY 14886   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“What a Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We decided to join friends to the Finger Lakes and they choose the Halsey House. What a wonderful choice,my Husband and I just love the B&B. Dave and David were the most gracious innkeepers, keeping us informed of things we would love to do and exhibiting a wholehearted interest in our needs. They were tremendously helpful in guiding us to fabulous restaurants, key winery's and many other points of interest. Dave and David prepared daily a unique and magnificent breakfast with a striking table setting. The rooms were just as delightful, good space and extremely comfortable, I wish we could have extended our stay. Halsey House is a B&B that we will return perhaps next year, just enjoyed every moment. A big thanks to Dave and David.

Sarah/Howard

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David ., Owner at Halsey House, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We were very happy to have you as our guests and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay as we certainly enjoyed having you here and sharing some memories, laughing together and relaxing in the parlor. Your appreciation for this grand old home was most appreciated and we do hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
192
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our first trip to the Finger Lakes was probably one of the least-planned vacations we have taken in recent years. That is until we arrived at the halsey house. My wife arrived first because she was already in NY for work. She was greeted by David and immediately texted me "we're going to have a great time this weekend." When I arrived shortly thereafter, I too was greeted by both David and David in their beautiful bed and breakfast and saw why she was so pleased with our choice.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and, although richly classic, are also modern and updated. We had the opportunity to stay in the Chamber room which was allegedly their smaller room for the house. We felt it was perfect- from the large closet to the beautiful restroom. We both slept extremely well in this cozy retreat. Breakfasts were delicious, unique, and thoughtful. Their coffee is hot, delicious, and bountiful. And their cookies- fantastic. All of us who stayed were equally as impressed with the food as we were with the comfort of this charming house. David and David were incredibly kind in providing us suggestions for different sites, wine tasting, and restaurants. They absolutely are top notch in their field because they have a passion for the area and for entertaining and pleasing theirs guests.
We WILL be back over the winter to see the beautiful sites coated in snow. We wholeheartedly recommend you make the Halsey House your next home base when navigating the gorgeous Cayuga and Seneca wine trails!
PS- try red newt winery, Americana winery, silver thread winery, McKenzie distillery, and Ithaca beer company in your tours. Also, hazelnut cafe was an incredible restaurant quite close to the Halsey House.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and cozy, but because the chamber was tucked in the rear of the house layout it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David ., Owner at Halsey House, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Matt...the Davids thank you so very much for this gracious review and we do hope that when winter comes, you will find time to get away for a weekend of rest and relaxation here at Halsey House. It is the guests like you and your lovely wife who make this job so much fun; especially when we see the laptop get closed, the wine glass lifted and the stress disappear. When that happens, then we know we have done our job well. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The David's is how they are known around town are a great pair. The morning breakfast is extra special one you would compare to in a gourmet restaurant. My wife and I have stayed in the Indulgence room and the Serenity room at the Halsey House. They both have there high points but they are both unique to there own. The rooms are meticulously kept up everyday to the point of where they fold your toilet paper each and everyday. David B. is your gourmet chef each and every evening he makes some type of gourmet snack that is very good. They are always asking if there is anything they can help you with from reservations to whatever the list may be. Make sure you take advantage of the back deck it is a nice place to sit in the evening to enjoy a nice bottle of wine and good conversation.

Room Tip: If you want a walk in car wash the Indulgence room has a shower I believe it has five water sprayers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David ., Owner at Halsey House, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Returning guests are very special to all B&B owners but we feel very fortunate to get good reviews from guests like you as you had the pleasure of staying here under prior ownership and we are striving hard to maintain the level of hospitality that they offered from Halsey House's first day as a B&B. We thank you so much for your gracious review and do hope that we will see you again. Thanks as well for your professional thoughts regarding energy usage, insulation and the like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Halsey House is one of the most beautifully maintained B&B's that my wife and I have visited. The owners are very particular and they are truly dedicated to making their guests' stay the best it can possibly be. Breakfast was gourmet. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David ., Owner at Halsey House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed your stay here and are pleased that we were able to meet your expectations given that you were returning guests. Now you need to return again so you can enjoy one of the rooms you have not stayed in as yet. Seriously, we enjoyed your company and appreciate your suggestions regarding some heating/cooling efficiency for the future. Thanks too for the Facebook "Likes"...much appreciated as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Dave and David provide a very welcoming home-like experience with very nicely appointed rooms, great breakfasts and engaging conversation in their 1829 home. The period home is absolutely beautiful. Love the sheets! We especially liked that they provided an email prior to our arrival showing restaurants and things to do in the area. A recommendation from someone in the actual location you are visiting is very helpful vs. just getting information off a website. We also liked that they are located near a state park and not in the town center (Trumansburg)- just a few miles outside.

Room Tip: The "Indulgence Suite" has a large jacuzzi tub and large shower and is on the first floor.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David ., Owner at Halsey House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Halsey House and were equally pleased to learn that the farm to table tour was a good experience...we will have to publicize that more next year as we are strong supporters of our local farmers, artisan bread bakers, dairymen, orchards, wineries and cideries, etc as healthy local food is so very important for all of us.
We hope we might see you again next year for the 2014 tour. Till then, all the best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I were married in Ithaca and spent the weekend in the Indulgence Suite. We enjoyed the hospitality and the elegance that it offered! The breakfast, the surroundings and the service were truly 5 stars! It was a great experience that exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David ., Owner at Halsey House, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We so enjoyed having you as guests and will always remember your lovely wife stepping out your car in her wedding gown! A first for us, I assure you. We hope that you will return next September to celebrate a wonderful first year together in Indulgence Suite. All the best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were visiting the Finger Lakes for a little r and r for a few days. The stay at the Halsey House was just what we needed. They thought of everything from being able to sit in the parlor and play backgammon to a delicious gourmet breakfast. Our room very clean and we had a very modern bathroom for such an older home filled with such character. Would love to come again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David ., Owner at Halsey House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We loved having you as guests and were thrilled to see the backgammon board put to use...it had grown rather lonely the past few months as it sat idle there by the window waiting for some attention. A little R&R is what we think a B&B should offer together with a clean and comfortable environment, breakfasts that you would not get at home and a brief break away from routine daily life. We are so glad you found some here at Halsey House and hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Halsey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsey House

Address: 2057 Trumansburg Rd., Trumansburg, NY 14886
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and romantic Finger Lakes bed & breakfast inn near Ithaca, NY, Cornell University, Ithaca College, Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails and many waterfalls. Located across from Taughannock Falls State Park, we feature private, luxuriously comfortable guestrooms which may include 2-person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and/or large custom showers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halsey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Halsey House to your Saves list