We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets all expectations...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halsey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halsey House
Save
You added Halsey House to your Saves list
2057 Trumansburg Rd., Trumansburg, NY 14886   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $100 on select meals
Ranked #1 of 10 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
haddon heights
1 review
“Meets all expectations...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Halsey House is WONDERFUL! The rooms are immaculate and beautiful. The breakfast was amazing each day, and the hospitality was the best. If you are considering the Halsey House you will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
213
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Halsey House is a lovely place to stay. I had a great time and the owner's made me feel right at home. If you are looking for a relaxing evening chilling out with a glass of wine and good friends, this is the place to be!

Thank you KC and Mitch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I truly enjoyed our weekend stay and the genuine hospitality provided by Mitch and KC. Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted. The Halsy House is very, very comfortable and the accomodations are exceptional. The gourmet breakfast each morning was outstanding (a truly healthy breakfast). We're planning a return visit to view the autum colors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We will absolutely stay here again!The owners were great and thought of all the little details that take a stay from good to great. The gourmet break fast each day was amazing and provided snacks and tea each afternoon. The rooms were spacious and clean and the bathroom was fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I usually prefer inns and boutique hotels, but made an exception for Halsey House based on TA.com reviews. We were not disappointed. It's a given at this price point that the house is lovely and the rooms immaculate. But what we particularly valued were the options to customize our stay. For example, guests can have breakfast delivered to their rooms for a modest up-charge. Since it was our anniversary, we chose this option both days. It gave our little getaway an even more leisurely and decadent feel. In addition, dietary preferences were accommodated with graciousness. The food itself was remarkably fresh and tasty, and we appreciated the reasonable portions and fresh fruit starters. Other notable features: Fluffy robes, beautiful bathroom, CD player with "mood music," DVD player and extensive DVD library of current movies and classics, evening snacks, complimentary soft drinks, air conditioning (helpful in masking the road noise of our lovely front-facing room), and a well-stocked bathroom (hair dryer, scented bath oils, high-quality shampoo, conditioner, body scrub). All-in-all a great experience. Thank you, Mitch and KC!

P.S. Don't miss dinner at The Hazelnut Kitchen in town. Great little farm-to-table place that will surprise you. Reservations required.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Perfect place for a get-away. Comfortable, indulgent,all the ammenities you could think of and excellent breakfasts. The best of everything to make your stay enjoyable and romantic. We especially like Halsey House because it's only an hour and a half from our home. Mitch and KC are great and accomodating with the breakfast (what you like/don't like) and arrival times.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you like a bubble bath for two you will like Margarets Retreat or Ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Halsey House is the best of both worlds!
It's has the ammenities of a boutique hotel with the warmth of home! When we arrived Mitch and Jackie were not home (we arrived after hours). However, everything was set up and waiting for us. From the plush mattress, the high end linens, the comfy robes to the special touches like engraved water goblets and carafe (a water cooler was in the hallway), as well as snacks in the hallway; everything was arranged with our comfort in mind. The following morning Mitch entertained us with his unending stories as we enjoyed his great cooking! A stay at Halsey House seems pricey but you get your money's worth! My only regret is that I did not get to stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halsey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsey House

Address: 2057 Trumansburg Rd., Trumansburg, NY 14886
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and romantic Finger Lakes bed & breakfast inn near Ithaca, NY, Cornell University, Ithaca College, Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails and many waterfalls. Located across from Taughannock Falls State Park, we feature private, luxuriously comfortable guestrooms which may include 2-person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and/or large custom showers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halsey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.