We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous gourmet breakfast they are warm and accommodating without being too visible wonderful room and updated electronics.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halsey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halsey House
2057 Trumansburg Rd., Trumansburg, NY 14886   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
1 review
“Fabulous gourmet breakfast they are warm and accommodating without being too visible wonderful room and updated electronics.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We will absolutely stay here again!The owners were great and thought of all the little details that take a stay from good to great. The gourmet break fast each day was amazing and provided snacks and tea each afternoon. The rooms were spacious and clean and the bathroom was fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
192
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I usually prefer inns and boutique hotels, but made an exception for Halsey House based on TA.com reviews. We were not disappointed. It's a given at this price point that the house is lovely and the rooms immaculate. But what we particularly valued were the options to customize our stay. For example, guests can have breakfast delivered to their rooms for a modest up-charge. Since it was our anniversary, we chose this option both days. It gave our little getaway an even more leisurely and decadent feel. In addition, dietary preferences were accommodated with graciousness. The food itself was remarkably fresh and tasty, and we appreciated the reasonable portions and fresh fruit starters. Other notable features: Fluffy robes, beautiful bathroom, CD player with "mood music," DVD player and extensive DVD library of current movies and classics, evening snacks, complimentary soft drinks, air conditioning (helpful in masking the road noise of our lovely front-facing room), and a well-stocked bathroom (hair dryer, scented bath oils, high-quality shampoo, conditioner, body scrub). All-in-all a great experience. Thank you, Mitch and KC!

P.S. Don't miss dinner at The Hazelnut Kitchen in town. Great little farm-to-table place that will surprise you. Reservations required.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Perfect place for a get-away. Comfortable, indulgent,all the ammenities you could think of and excellent breakfasts. The best of everything to make your stay enjoyable and romantic. We especially like Halsey House because it's only an hour and a half from our home. Mitch and KC are great and accomodating with the breakfast (what you like/don't like) and arrival times.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you like a bubble bath for two you will like Margarets Retreat or Ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Halsey House is the best of both worlds!
It's has the ammenities of a boutique hotel with the warmth of home! When we arrived Mitch and Jackie were not home (we arrived after hours). However, everything was set up and waiting for us. From the plush mattress, the high end linens, the comfy robes to the special touches like engraved water goblets and carafe (a water cooler was in the hallway), as well as snacks in the hallway; everything was arranged with our comfort in mind. The following morning Mitch entertained us with his unending stories as we enjoyed his great cooking! A stay at Halsey House seems pricey but you get your money's worth! My only regret is that I did not get to stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a really enjoyable two night stay at the Halsey House, the conversations at breakfast were fun. The bedroom was extremely comfortable, we would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone. Restaurants are easily reached and there are many to choose from. We enjoyed visiting wineries and cheese farms. Mitch and KC are excellent hosts.

Room Tip: If they have a vacancy take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Awesome time, beautiful place will go again. Great Service!!! Very warm reception, quiet place, felt like home. Mitch and KC are great, KC is an excellent cook!!!! Very Romantic Place!!!! Our 1st stay at Bed and Breakfast!!!!

Room Tip: Great Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this fabulous B and B, for a 29th anniversary celebration! What a fabulous spot!! We LOVED our room, Serenity, and the entire property was above expectations! The house is so beautiful, with a wonderful dining room set for a fantastic breakfast! Very relaxing and special! The outdoor area, with Adirondack rockers set next to a pretty waterfall feature within a garden, was a great place to enjoy a glass of Red before dinner! And Mitch was very nice to share HIS bottle of red with me!!
The bed was extremely comfortable, and the pillows and linens are super!!
I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a bit of "special" in the midst of the everyday!!
A bit pricey, but worth every penny!!!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are probably wonderful!! Very nicely furnished and the renovation job is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Halsey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsey House

Address: 2057 Trumansburg Rd., Trumansburg, NY 14886
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and romantic Finger Lakes bed & breakfast inn near Ithaca, NY, Cornell University, Ithaca College, Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails and many waterfalls. Located across from Taughannock Falls State Park, we feature private, luxuriously comfortable guestrooms which may include 2-person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and/or large custom showers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halsey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Halsey House to your Saves list