We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
16 Elm St, Trumansburg, NY 14886   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
media pa
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We stayed here one night only, but we will come back, The host was very pleasant and interesting. The B&B is a mix of a lovely & cozy country home, yet with all the touches you would expect from the world's finest hotels. The rooms are great, the food is wonderful, and the surroundings in the home are unique!!! Highly, highly recommended,

  • Liked — the B&B itself
  • Disliked — no pets
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
171
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

If you haven't made your reservations yet, make them now!! Beautiful accomodations, gorgeous artwork, comfortable beds and superb host! I don't know how Bruce manages to keep this wonderful gem so clean and inviting. The home is filled with so many beautiful antiques and decorated so amazingly, yet not a speck of dust to be found. Bruce's breakfasts are not only delicious, but so filling we needed to cancel our lunch reservations. Bruce is an enjoyable host and will provide you with any information you need. Juniper Hill is located in a convenient area close to hiking, vineyards, antiquing, shopping and some wonderful restuarants (don't miss Hazelnut Kitchen). Best B&B my husband & I ever stayed in!!! We felt right at home!

  • Liked — Furnishings, bedding, artwork and breakfasts
  • Disliked — We had to leave:(
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

Quite simply this was a dream getaway. From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIP's. The room was comfortable and beautiful. The attention to detail was amazing, even the wallpaper in the bathroom(some kind of silver flake) was incredible. Aside from the comfortability no amenity was left to chance; from entertainment, to snacks to early pre-breakfast coffee right outside the room... The breakfast itself was like dining in a fancy restaurant. The host, Bruce, was friendly and eager to please. All in all it was the best weekend getaway we have ever had.
Tom and Melissa

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

We went for only 3 days, and I say only because I could have stayed an additional week! Bruce and David (and Celeste) made us feel at home.

Our room was amazing. Like all the rooms at the inn, we had had a flat screen tv and dvd player in our room, the inn has a dvd library. Our room also had a fireplace, king sized bed and a jacuzzi. We were in heaven.

Bruce's breakfasts were always 3 courses and elegantly served. The food was wonderful. Bruce thoughtfully puts out coffee, tea and some light fare for those super early risers and there was always a cake in the dining room for guests to snack on.

Bruce always asked about our plans for the day and provided information, directions & brochures for all of the local attractions.


The service, food, hospitality and room were all first rate. Juniper Hill is a place we will return to. Bruce, David and Celeste certainly made my birthday a very special day!
Mar/Al

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

We recently spent a fall weekend at Juniper Hill and have nothing but wonderful things to say about our stay. Accomodations were first rate in terms of comfort and aesthetics. The inn-keeper was extremely accomodating and friendly....and the house security guard, Celeste, the dog, was just as friendly. The breakfasts are delightful (but you wont need to eat lunch for a while afterwards, cuz there are 3 courses)! Dont miss the art collections either...It's great!

There is so much to do and Bruce (the proprietor) gives great advice on intineraries. Antiquing, exploring gorges, wineries, fine dining, and just viewing the autumn leaves are all great options.
If youre there around the holidays just marvel at the inn's awesome decorations.

Aces all the way!

D&D
Arlington VA

  • Liked — friendly innkeeper
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

I recently spent a weekend at what is the absolutely best B&B I have ever stayed at, the Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast. This was a girlfriend getaway, and we celebrated our birthdays in style!

Everything... from the moment you walk up to the front door to stepping inside your room... is a pleasure. Bruce, the owner anticipating our late arrival, greeted us even before we got to the front door. He graciously helped us with our bags, giving us a tour around his beautifully restored and designed home turned into a B&B. If seeing the lovely downstairs that made us feel like you are inside one of those homes featured in magazines such as Traditional Home wasn't enough, once we stepped into our Mary Cassatt suite we knew we were in for a most special treat!

This suite is perfect for either a girlfriend getaway, family getaway, or the romantic couple getaway who want extra space. The master king bed is sumptiously donned in plush sheets and bedding, and is heavenly for sleeping. The second bed, a queen, is located in a separate bedroom off the main part of the suite that is a 3-season room. Ideally this room would be enjoyed during the summer months but we were able to enjoy its sitting area during the daytime. Each sleeping area has a TV but the master bedroom has a flat-screened TV mounted on the wall opposite the bed. The bathroom is awesome! Double pedastal sinks were much appreciated, and the shower with the rainfall showerhead was a delight! You have a number of lighting and heating options for the bathroom as well. Toiletries provided are high end. Even the toilet is a "quiet flush" type, so the property has made a significant effort to detail. Our room was very quiet at night, and we were not disturbed by other guests. So know that all the pictures on the inn's website are accurate... what you see is what you get... a paradise of a suite combining the finest furnishings with lovely Impressionist artwork also owned and for sale by the owners.

Now if the room where you sleep isn't grand enough... make sure to not miss the included breakfast graciously and efficiently made and served by Bruce himself. You do not want to miss his breakfasts! We had two of these 3 course breakfasts on our stay, and each were scrumptious and worth getting downstairs for. Bruce is also very good about timing his breakfast serving according to the needs of the guest, as on the second day we were running just a little bit later and got downstairs by 9:30am instead of 9am. We very much appreciated Bruce accommodating our later schedule that morning. Yet I would say that arriving more than 30 minutes past the scheduled time would mean you probably need to have Bruce just pack you a "to go breakfast" which he says he will do for guests on a later timetable.

There are plenty of things to do while staying at Juniper Hill; just ask Bruce for suggestions. One recommendation I have is to schedule an in-room massage with the local massage therapist from Indigo Moon Mobile Spa Services (thanks Madigan!). The Finger Lakes region is an awesome destination for "leef peeping" (fall foliage) which is what my friend and I primarily enjoyed. However, check out the B&B website for a listing of many other things to do while touring the area! The wine touring is also supposed to be excellent in the region, yet we did not do such on our visit. However, we did drive the short drive to Ithaca and enjoyed our stroll through the Commons shopping area there, and our meal at Taste of Thai was very good. Note that Trumansburg is a great destination in its own right and will be right outside your front door while staying at Juniper Hill. Do not miss having dinner at least once at the local restaurant Hazelnut Kitchen, a cup of joe at Gimme! Coffee, and a browsing through the used bookstore right next door to the coffeehouse.

Finally, let me say that our stay at Juniper Hill was outstanding all around! Bruce is the perfect host... he knows just how much or perhaps how little interaction his guests desire. Some B&B owners can be too intrusive for my tastes, yet not so was my experience at Juniper Hill. Both myself and my friend felt comfortable with our privacy and yet at home all at the same time.

I cannot wait to visit again and perhaps next time bring my husband and child, or maybe just bring my husband for a romantic getaway.

No matter... I plan to visit Juniper Hill again, perhaps scheduling a stay during each of the seasons just to experience it fully.

So I highly recommend you check out this most special property.

Kudos to Bruce and David, the owners! Thank you for some wonderful memories and the inspiration to return again.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton. NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

The term Bed and Breakfast does not do justice to Juniper Hill. This is an impressive, large home where there is truly a committment to excellence. Attention has been paid to every detail. All rooms are beautifully furnished, stressing not only style, but also comfort. The bathrooms are more likely to be found in a luxury hotel than a Bed and Breakfast. The first floor rooms (living room, family room and dining room) are large and luxuriously furnished, yet comfortable and bright. The breakfast is carefully prepared and snacks are available at all times. You will also have slippers and robes in your room, as well as a quality television and great bed. The Inn is located on four acres on a quiet street in Trumansburg. We've stayed at a good number of Bed and Breakfasts. Juniper Hill is the most comfortable and elegant and far superior to some which get rave reviews in guide books.

  • Liked — Comfort and classiness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 16 Elm St, Trumansburg, NY 14886
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast offers luxurious privacy yet convenient access to Ithaca shops and fine dining, Cornell and Ithaca Universities. Enjoy the beautiful Finger Lakes in upstate New York and the Seneca and Cayuga Lake Wine Trails. Our Inn is right in the heart of 25 New York State Parks and a variety of museums and historic homes. The countryside is dotted with over 90 wineries, orchards, dairy farms, Award winning restaurants, and shopping, antiquing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juniper Hill Bed And Breakfast
Juniper Hill Hotel Trumansburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.