We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay on Cayuga Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taughannock Farms Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taughannock Farms Inn
Save
You added Taughannock Farms Inn to your Saves list
2030 Gorge Rd, Rte. 89 at Taughannock State Park, Trumansburg, NY 14886   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lovely stay on Cayuga Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A perfectly lovely setting for a week full of hiking and wine tastings! Stayed here on a friends recommendation who we were visiting for a wedding. The property was gorgeous and the buildings picturesque. We stayed in the Lakeview 2 cottage and really enjoyed our view of the lake as well as hiking at the Taughannock Falls State Park (which are right next to the property). I was thankful for the tv, apparently some rooms are not equip. Older appliances and the like but it seems to kind of "go" with the quaint vibe of the entire facility.The continental breakfast had enough items to give you a full belly and fresh start to the day. That being said, if you're really looking forward to the "breakfast" portion of a B&B then this is probably not the place for you. Staff was very courteous. Never had dinner on location so can't comment on it. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    27
    8
    8
    8
See reviews for
22
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Typically we seek out Inns, B&B's, etc via Select Registry. This was our first surprise...not a good surprise... Although everything looked great in the photos, it was not too clean, the service was great at check-in and then was poor, and the maid did NOT bring clean glasses, but wiped the dirty wineglasses and coffee cups with (god knows what...) instead of replacing them. This is true, believe me. We stayed here two nights for my husband's birthday. We had dinner in their, supposedly 4-star restaurant. The service was poor and the food quality was pitiful. My husband's Cesaer salad was iceburg lettuce, not romaine, and the dressing was horrid. The entire meal was a disappointment, particularly after having had an amazing meal the night prior in Rochester, NY. In the morning, the coffee in the room was awful and the breaksfast in the dining room was pathetic. Nasty, dried egg hockeypucks, dried out muffins, granola, fruit, and fake yogurt. Glad that I always bring Luna bars... There was a Memory Book in the room with numerous nice comments. Either the owners or their friends wrote them or there are plenty of people traveling that don't know better... (That can be a problem....because when you DO know better it can be trickier to truely find the great places because any review is, by nature, subjective...) We won't be back. Oh, almost forgot.... I find it particularly offensive that they will SELL you Crabtree & Evelyn products from their lobby but place awful product in their bathrooms....not cool...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I dined at Taughannock Farms to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our food was good, as usual, and our server (Laurie) was excellent. I had a NY Strip with blue cheese. Spouse had chicken Marsala. Look forward to our next opportunity to visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in South Forest room of the main Inn - I knew there wasn't a lake view cuz we didn't pay for one...we were touring the area during the day so we had our dinner on the lawn at sunset enjoying a beautiful view of the lake.
I was a little worried about not having a TV but ended up LOVING the peace and quiet while reading an entire book over the 3 days!
We enjoyed breakfast in the Inn's dining room - a buffet of small bites of things like cinnamon rolls, baked eggs, lemon poppy seed muffins...wonderful.
A coffee machine was set out for those of us in the Inn who woke before the staff arrived.
The staff...oh my...they were so friendly and accommodating...a group of really nice, fun young adults.
We had a great stay and highly recommend this spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tioga Center, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I recently spent an overnight at Taughannock Farms Inn. The room itself was just okay, not impressed considering the price. There are a few amenities...microwave, coffee pot, small fridge. The coffee was HORRIBLE. The view of the lake from our balcony was nice, however there is a significant amount of traffic noise. We will be staying elsewhere for our next getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I found this inn online and are so delighted we did! It's such a beautiful area -- beautiful views of Cayuga Lake, right on the hiking trails, lovely grounds as well. We stayed at the Edgewood section. The room was spacious and very clean. The front desk staff was very helpful in providing information on area attractions. It's a short walk to the main house for breakfast which was included. We realized after spending a few days in the area there really isn't another facility as nicely located as this one. We highly recommend!!

Room Tip: We really liked the Edgewood. Every room has a balcony with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walworh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the Edge Wood section. We had a beautiful view of the lake from our balcony. It was an easy walk to the main house for breakfast which was included. You could walk over to hike into see the falls. The room was clean and nicely decorated. We had a great time. Would recommend it for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: We were in 81. It was the upper level with a great view and nobody above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taughannock Farms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taughannock Farms Inn

Address: 2030 Gorge Rd, Rte. 89 at Taughannock State Park, Trumansburg, NY 14886
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Taughannock Farms Hotel Trumansburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taughannock Farms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.