We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4278 East Covert Road, Trumansburg, NY 14847   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
kimberton, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is our third visit to the Black Walnut-- Jack has again made our stay as comfortable and positive as possible: great accommodations, perfectly thoughtful hosting, delicious (and copious) breakfasts, and a wonderful relaxed ambience. The area is a lovely place to vacation, with opportunities of all kinds (Cornell, Ithaca, music, beautiful hikes and walks near, wineries and interesting & good restaurants, and of course, the Lakes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our first trip to the Finger Lakes will certainly not be our last thanks to the warm and inviting experience we had at the Black Walnut. We were charmed by the character and history of the inn while breathing in some of the contemporary improvements made which accented our enthusiasm. Jack was as genuine as they get and was more then accommodating to us throughout our stay. He provided us with not only delicious hot breakfasts and local wine but with wonderful local dining options that were incredible to the last bite. Will will certainly return to this jewel in the Finger Lakes region.

Room Tip: Recommend the Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Last minute plans during Finger Lakes peak season had us scrambling for accomodations. We were lucky (or perhaps it was Divine intervention) to find the last room in this precious B&B. The home has been lovingly restored and includes some modern additions without taking away the feeling of rich history such an old house exudes. The room was, for a better word, quaint and simple with period touches but not overdone. The bathroom was very large and included a bar of wonderful homemade soap. The public areas and common kitchen were warm and inviting with gardens in the back yard filled with a variety of trees, plants and flowers. The scent of roses....

Now we need to talk about innkeeper Jack! If anyone was meant to be an inkeeper it is Jack! Warm, welcoming, friendly and oh yes did I mention a fantastic cook? The two breakfasts were delicious fresh creations. A perfect blend of sweet and savory.
He helped us plan our days and offered helpful suggestions. for example, dinner at Dorothy's Music Room. We would have never picked this tiny place and would have missed out on the excellent food they had to offer.
Thank you so much Jack and sweet Willie!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrIzmir14847, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It was a sincere pleasure hosting the McNeals for their Anniversary celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a weekend trip through upstate New York since I would be in Rochester for work. We found the Black Walnut B&B online and decided to book it and have our first B&B experience. We could not be happier. Jack was amazing and pointed us in the right direction for our short trip. We will definitely be returning the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I found the Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast while searching online for a bed and breakfast near Ithaca, NY for a short vacation/anniversary get-a-way. My spouse and I traveled to Trumansburg, after returning our daughter to Rochester for her summer employment. We had talked about one day engaging in a tour of the Finger Lake wine region, and we had done a bit of research in preparation. jack Moore the owner/innkeeper greeted us warmly upon arrival, chatted a while to familiarize us with the house and surrounding restaurants, and informed us that when we returned from dinner, there would be two glasses, a bottle of red wine on the counter, and a white in the fridge for us to enjoy as a welcome. We spent the late evening perusing Jack's collection of regional menus and wine trail brochures. Additional research was done online to narrow our aim at vineyards that specialize in dry reds. We retired late, having consumed the better half of a pleasant pinot noir. The next morning. as we awakened, the smell of bacon beckoned us to head downstairs to find a very nicely laid table with a view of the rear garden. Even with rain, the grounds were obviously well tended and a pleasure to view. Jack chatted with us about our dinner choice the previous night asked of our plans, and offered advice in order to speed our explorations. We returned to the property after a long day driving, wine and spirits tasting, and walking near Keuka Lake. Jack and his friend Rich were making dinner, and offered some opinions on Ithaca restaurants. We decided upon Just A Taste, a great small plate venue, off the Concourse, downtown. Jack continued our gustatory adventure the next morning with a delightful savory Italian bread pudding. With advice about trails and hikes in the nearby state parks, we set off to explore Robert Treman and Buttermilk Falls State Parks, and finally the Conservatory and Wildflower Gardens on Cornell University campus. Returning to the lodgings we showered and prepared to set off for dinner at a historic inn/brewpub, but were easily dissuaded upon Jack's recommendation and offer to call for a reservation at Danos Heuriger, an Austrian bistro, located overlooking Seneca Lake. We reluctantly departed the next morning, stuffed on Southern Style Baked French Toast. The house is charming and and a soothing blend of contemporary and 19th century decor. We were comfortable and at home from the start. Jack Moore's friendliness and easy going charm added to our enjoyable stay. He was quick to offer advice if asked, and was perceptive enough to know when our plans might be at odds with our expectations or desires.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrizmir, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Many thanks to Daniel and Kristin for choosing the Black Walnut for their 3-night stay. For an innkeeper, it is truly a delight to have guests as nice and interesting and fun as Daniel and Kristin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I travel the state for work and have found this wonderful B&B on the in Trumansburg/Interlaken NY and have stayed here several times. The hosts are wonderful, friendly and full of information to help you with the area. Jack makes a wonderful breakfast to start you day off and to make the day even more fun and easy there is a wonderful winery with a really good restaurant walking distance down Covert Road (1/4 mile?) that allows you to safely stumble your way back after enjoying a wonderful meal and a bottle (or two) of wine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Last minute idea to go to Finger Lake area became a great find in a B&B. Jack is very attentive to his guests and makes you feel right at home. He has great suggestions on area restaurants and his breakfast was outstanding. Hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4278 East Covert Road, Trumansburg, NY 14847
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.