We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4278 East Covert Road, Trumansburg, NY 14847   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Anniversary Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary! I couldn't ask for anything more out of this trip and stay. From the moment we set foot in the front door we felt like we were at home. Jack the innkeeper greated us with a warm smile and made us feel right at home. The Black Walnut is a quaint little BnB located on the Cayuga wine trail. It has only 4 guest rooms which makes it very intimate. All rooms have private bathrooms and TV. Very nice sitting areas downstairs and a quiet back porch to relax and drink wine in after a long day exploring. The kitchen area is for the guest use and features a fridge which has beer water and wine to drink..all compliments of Jack the owner. Breakfast each morning is from 8:30-9:30 and couldn't have been better. Always a main dish..a meat ..and fresh fruit. And nothing is better than waking up to the smell of fresh coffee brewing in the morning. Every thing is so close to the area in which the Balck Walnut is located. Wineries are all within 1 minute to 15 minutes away. Also lake Seneca is only a 20 minute drive alond with Watkins Glen. If you are looking for places to eat, just ask Jack. He went out of his way to suggest places and even made our reservations. Plan to eat at the Hazelnut Kitchen but make sure you have reservations. The food is awesome!!!!! Will definetly return to the Black Walnut and I suggest that you stay there also!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but I would request the Blue Room Suite. We stayed in the Sunflower Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ennetbaden, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Very Nice BnB and we had a very restful stay. The bed is outstanding and the room had some character. Breakfast was lovely and delish on our first day, the 2nd they accomodated us due to our early departure. Just one tiny complaint: No way to open a window for some fresh air, we are not used to sleeping with the AC, but that said, the first night would have been a disaster with the heat and humidity - the 2nd would have been nice to have fresh air. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Jack knows how to run a B & B!! All the comforts you expect from a B & B and more:) Breakfast was good. We had banana walnut pancakes, bacon, and fruit. We had tea and coffee and a scone while we were waiting too!! Anything we needed was right there. The refigerator in the kitchen was available for us to store stuff in and was full of water, beer,..to which he said help yourself! The room was lovely (Blue Room). It was extremely large, had a large television, a huge bathroom, king sized bed with a beautiful quilt, and an office area. The house was very tastefully decorated with a mix of antiques and modern--that totally worked! His dog, Willie greeted us and gave us our dog fix! We also enjoyed his cat as well. The back porch was comfortable and inviting. We sat out there and drank wine, cheese, and fruit we purchased on the wine trail! Jack provided us with maps, menus, and answered all questions we had about the area. He even offered us an umbrella the day we checked out so we could visit the falls!!

Room Tip: Book ahead of time especially in the summer or October--their very busy time! The Blue Room is my to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Three of us rcently spent a couple of nights at the Black Walnut while exploring the Finger Lakes - and felt immediatley at home. The welcome's phenomenal and we really enjoyed our talks with Jack (great breakfasts!) and Rich. The little porch has comfortable chairs and such a pretty outlook - a lovely place to relax after a hard day's sightseeing! We wandered down the quiet country lane to eat at the Americana Winery both nights we were staying and very much enjoyed our meals there - sitting outside, with rural views. The bedrooms are comfortable and very nicely equipped, with really excellent showers. Only slight problem was traffic noise in our room (Owasco) but our friend was fine in her room - the Keuka. We'd return like a shot - but would probably have the Blue Moon Suite next time.
This is such a pleasant find - you feel nurtured, nourished and become a new friend in no time.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if worried by any traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We can't say enough great things about the Black Walnut. It's a great house with each room having its own bathroom. Jack is the most welcoming and easy going host you could find. He brings his southern hospitality to make you feel not only welcome but like you belong there. His breakfasts are always amazing with ingredients fresh out of his own garden. Throw in the great location of the house and it's a home-run for anyone visiting the area. After a long drive it was great to walk right down the road to the local winery and enjoy good food, good wine and nice scenary. I've already recommended this place to friends and would encourage anyone to make this their choice of B&B's in the finger lakes!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberton, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This B&B is a gem:recently beautifully restored early 19th century farmhouse, graceful interesting craft interior, and perfect hosting. Our bedroom was air conditioned (a hot July) with private bath-- completely comfortable with every amenity we might have hoped for and more.Guest living room, dining, guest kitchen and sun porch with view of the gardens were all welcoming and lovely. The breakfasts were well prepared with attention to preferences, and delicious. As we try to come to this beautiful area of New York once a year, this is where we will reserve next time! It is a quick convenient hop to Ithaca, and right in wine country with plenty of natural beauty to enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Ny
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

My husband and I had always wanted an overnight stay on Cayuga Lake for a long time, and when the opportunity arose to celebrate our anniversary we went online to select a bed and breakfast.
The Black Walnut had all the requirements that we needed-close to wineries and a town, but a little out in the country, too.
We were completely satisfied with our stay in an 1800's farmhouse that shared its creaky wide floor boards and slanted ceilings in the bedroom with us to personalize the visit. Our hosts were cordial and suggested the perfect place for a romantic dinner nearby. It was a comfortable and low-keyed place with a nutritious yet filling breakfast. The other guests were very friendly, too, at the table. The room and public rooms were immaculate and very inviting after long days touring the lakeside wineries. The gardens and yard were lovely, and the result of much effort.
We felt very much at ease because our experienced hosts worked hard behind the scenes to make sure that we were able to fufill our dream stay. They knew to ask the right questions from our first phone contact.
We would highly suggest the Black Walnut as a convenient place to stay outside Ithaca, with its special atmosphere of yesteryear. Would we return ourselves? --Absolutely, without a doubt.

Room Tip: call ahead to book a room at this popular B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4278 East Covert Road, Trumansburg, NY 14847
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.