We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, comfortable and a free hot breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, comfortable and a free hot breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have no complaints about this Best Western. In fact, I think it was a great choice for staying right in Troy, NY. The online price on the website and through priceline were both higher than I wanted to pay. So I called the hotel to see if they had any special offers for just one night. When I told her we were here to visit the college, she mentioned that there was a special RPI rate. It was a few dollars less and I took advantage of the discount.

The room was average, very clean and comfortable. We had 2 queen beds which came with a pillow selection. The air conditioning and heat worked well. Everything worked and was well preserved. The room was equipped with a coffee maker, mini fridge and a hair dryer. Outside there was plenty of off street parking in their private lot. I felt safe throughout my stay here.

There is a BBQ restaurant just across the street which is where we chose to eat. It was good enough, but not exceptional. The Best Western offers a free hot breakfast in the morning which was above average. There was a good selection of both hot and cold items. The food was on par with a Comfort Inn and included oatmeal, scrambled eggs, yogurt, breads, muffins, boiled eggs, juices, coffee, tea, etc.

Overall this was a good value for the price I paid which was $116 a night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kboyer42, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us during your visit to Troy! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to accommodate you in the future. Our facility is located right in downtown Troy,NY and there are many restaurants within walking (and delivery) distance. We would be happy to give you menus, suggestions and directions if you are looking for something other than BBQ.

Thank you again for choosing BW Franklin Square!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    85
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
104
53
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel was great and the staff was very accommodating. The only complaint is the TAXIS in the area ARE HORRIBLE! Disgusting filth, smell horribly of cigarette smoke, & interiors are gross. Rent a car!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts, Usa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Well above average free breakfast. Well appointed and clean, comfortable room.

My only complaint was that the coffee maker didn't work (a trivial thing that was being addressed as I checked out).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight college visit with my family. Chose this hotel because was rated VERY HIGH at college website. It served its purpose. Room was clean and a very nice breakfast in the morning. I am used to staying at 5 star hotels and although this was no where that, it was suitable for purpose. Again very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I actually would give this hotel a good rating if it weren't for the smell. The staff was very helpful, even suggesting places to eat and providing great directions. The free hot breakfast was better than advertised, lots of choices and very tasty.

The cigarettes though. It's the kind of pervasive, stays in your clothes and suitcase for days kind of old stale cigarette smoke smell. They'd done their level best to cover it with deodorizers, but as we all know that just makes things even worse. I had a hard time getting to sleep the first night because it was so overpowering.

i will say however, that I had a colleague staying on the 3rd floor, who did not notice it at all, so it may just be that the 2nd floor used to be the smoking floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent only 1 night at the The Best Western Plus in Troy, at Franklin Square. Despite a torrential downpour that night, the staff was very friendly, helpful and in good spirits. We used this hotel as just a quick stopover before a flight the next morning, and it was perfect for that.

The bed in the room was comfortable and the room was clean. The room was a bit tight, especially once you bring luggage in, but otherwise everything about it was good. There was free wi-fi, which is always nice and when we forgot some toiletries at a previous hotel, they happily provided replacements.

The location is about 10 minutes from the Albany airport, which made it easy to get to extremely early in the morning. Also, across the street is an excellent barbeque place, Dinosaur BBQ, which we'd recommend to anyone staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.