We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You wouldn't guess from the outside and entry but its terrific!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Testo's Restaurant & Pizza

Testo's Restaurant & Pizza
853 4th Ave, Troy, NY 12182-2005
518-235-0444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 187 Restaurants in Troy
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
plattsburgh, ny
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“You wouldn't guess from the outside and entry but its terrific!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our first time at this restaurant 2 weeks ago will not be our last. You enter through a storefront that sells take out and find a small personal restaurant with good service and marinara sauce like grandmas. Each of the four guests had a differnt entree and none were disappointed. The eggplant rolatini was differnt than anywhere else and excellent. Service was friendly and not intrusive, the house wine was good for the price. We were there on a Wednesday night and the place was pretty full. Friends say it is standing room only on the weekend. Beware of the parking. there is a small lot behind the building but dont count on it. on street parking especially in the winter is a nightmare.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, ny
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Dinner at Testo's in Troy.... once again delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We frequent Testos' Restaurant in Troy, and everytime we are not disappointed. They are consistent with the quality and quantity and service every time! We had enough to bring home and the food is real Italian.... the service matches the food. and nice atmosphere!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Old time family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Discovered Testo's about a year ago and have been back several times. It is a great family restaurant with great specials. I have been very pleased with their Veal & Peppers lunch special. The scallops are very good. The staff is excellent, some of the best service I have experienced.
Red and white checkered table cloths add to the ambiance. Sauce is very good. Their only potatoes are French fries, I really wished they had mashed or baked. Salads are basic but very good. It is about a half hour drive for us but we now manage to get there once a month or so. We have taken several friends there and they are always saying let's go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohoes, NY
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great service and dinner specials!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went on a Thursday evening, had the lasagna dinner special: cheese lasagna and a salad for about $10. Testo's sauce is amazing! Their portions are generous, I could only finish half (it was great on the second day, too). We were a large party of 16 guests. Our waitress provided exceptional service. Every member of our party enjoyed their meal. Testo's is a lovely family restaurant: great service, delicious food at affordable prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Hometown feel and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I just returned from having lunch at Testo's today. to be honest I had never heard of this place. I was brought there by an elderly couple I was visiting who frequents this restaurant. I was pleasantly surprised with the food, atmosphere, prices, and wait staff! What a lovely restaurant. I do not live in the area but I was so impressed, I will be taking my husband and family there to dine in the near future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Testo's Restaurant & Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Testo's Restaurant & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Testo's Restaurant & Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.