We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Troy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Street Cafe

River Street Cafe
429 River St, Troy, NY 12180-2822
518-273-2740
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 167 Restaurants in Troy
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Troy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Dinner starts with a complimentary chef's appetizer - pasta, often with a Thai tomato sauce. Then a delicious green salad. There's a nice selection of entrees, with our favorite being the flat iron steak in brown butter - to die for! My one regret is that the only vegetable is the salad. Overall, a great place for a date!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Romantic Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I go here for special occasions. The food is great and not too expensive. Its a really small restaurant with the kitchen on the first floor and seating on the second. It has a romantic ambience. I really like the special pasta dish they serve as a surprise. I have been going here once or twice a year for about five years and really enjoy it. The restaurant was pretty busy once which resulted in very slow service. The staff and chef are very nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, Usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The food is some of the best I have eaten in upstate New York. The chefs treat is really very good and a nice start. Great wine list. Food does change seasonally which is always great. You do not necessarily want heavy fall/wnter comfort food in the summer. On the river so good views.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not fresh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were extremely disappointed by our recent visit to River Street Cafe. First of all, the chef was outback watching a game most of the time- luckily his server is so kind we decided to stay. The wine was overpriced, but tasty- definitely worth the price. The chef always sends a complimentary pasta- not sure why. It always fills us up, and doesn't have a lot of flavor. The lettuce in the salads didn't looked fairly old, and not fresh. Then our entrees. Both our meet was overdone (duck and pork), to the extent that it was too try and chewy. The sauces were both over salty, and the flavors were off. The "blood orange" sauce just tasted like candy- and didn't work with the duck. The pork sauce wasn't exciting in any way at all- just brown and salty. I could hardly eat any of my meal and left with an expensive stomach ache. Menu needs to be updated, presentation could look more appealing and entrees need to be fresher.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington,Ct
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Haven't gone to Troy much as we live in Albany but this place is a keeper. Free surprise appetizer brought to table and I wish I had the recipe. A pasta dish with roasted tomatoes, garlic, sesame oil and enough to satisfy. Then the great bread, included house salad preceeded an excellent preparation of Wild Salmon. I had 4 choices of how it could be prepared and chose an asian sesame one. My husband loved his chicken dish too. Absolutely a charming restaurant with views of the Hudson and wonderful food! Worth the drive.My only regret is that we didn't have room for dessert!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to River Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.