We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Troy gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ILLIUM CAFE

ILLIUM CAFE
9 BROADWAY, Troy, NY
518-273-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 189 Restaurants in Troy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Troy gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My spouse and I went to a Tuesday at noon concert t the Troy Music hall and decided to stroll Troy. We had eaten at the Illium Cafe before and decided to have a light lunch. Troy, NY is a down at the heels Hudson River city but does have some charm. The Illium is in an area with boutique shops and is a bit of old Troy. We had delicious soup and tea and our bill was $12.31 without a tip..The menu was attractive and they had fine coffee and tea service. You will not be disappointed with your lunch at the Illium. There is ample on street parking and a parking ramp is close by..
If you have not done so, I suggest that you stroll the Troy art section. There is a wonderful book store on River Street store close to the Illium with an interesting selection of books. A few doors down from the Illium there is also a delightful women's shop with both funky and regular clothing and accessories. A good place for the young and not so young. .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnt Hills, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food, prices a little high, portions a little small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I are not big eaters, normally having leftovers when eating out. Even so, we found the portions rather small at Illium. I ordered a full portion of scallops for $27 and received FOUR scallops on a rather large dollop of mashed potatoes. My wife also left hungry even though she'd had a large snack an hour or so before. I also ordered the Caesar salad seen on the website menu, but not on the one at the cafe, and it was basically chopped romaine lettuce with a meager grating of parmesan and dressing (for $6.95). The food did tast quite good, and was excellent quality, but I could easily have eaten 50% more. Service was OK. Sharing a single bottle of wine amongst 5 people, the bill for the two of us still came to $80.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Visited for brunch, amazing! Perfect Eggs Benedict, French Toast to dream of. Everything made to order, portions huge. Pleasant staff great place over all. Love it. Will visit frequently when in Troy .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I know I've said it before, but....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

You really MUST do yourself a favor and EAT HERE!! The service was excellent, the scallops were divine...perfectly cooked and so delicious!! The dessert was great, although I wish I had ordered the apple-raspberry dessert before it was SOLD OUT!!! Everyone there is so friendly and the other patrons were all enjoying themselves. I couldn't help but stretch my neck out a little to see what others had ordered....everything was presented so beautifully and I noticed that when the tables were cleared, the plates were empty!! This place is such a treat and a great place to enjoy good food, good friends and a very nice evening....or lunch, or brunch....just GO!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Labor day/ saturday brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Asparagus and spinach omelet - large and full but a little strangely flavored. French toast - very large portion and bread extremely thick - average. Service was beyond ssslllooowwww!

A bit expensive.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ILLIUM CAFE also viewed

 

Been to ILLIUM CAFE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ILLIUM CAFE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.