We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel pain to commute” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Troy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Troy to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Hoosick Street, Troy, NY 12180   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Troy
travelling
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel pain to commute”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Clean hotel, friendly staff. Room was clean, including the bathroom and carpets. Only downside to this hotel is if you're commuting to albany, beware of traffic delays, and even just turning into the hotel driveway can be a 5 minute wait in traffic. There's another HGI, right across from the airport that might be better suited if you need to be in Albany.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is really the floor above lobby, ask for something higher and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    99
    22
    15
    2
See reviews for
115
40
17
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We usually love staying in the old part of Troy. We stay at The Best Western there, however this time we thought we would give the Hilton a try. We usually love the Hilton. This time we did not. The hotel was in a very down at heel part of Troy with no redeeming features. That aside we were still hopeful. We arrived after a long drive on a freezing afternoon to find that our room was not ready at 4:00 and indeed, as the officious young lady on the front desk assured us, it probably wouldn't be ready until 5:45 at the earliest. She explained that they had a commitment to the group who were staying there. I assured her that indeed she had a commitment to us too! She said that I was free to fill out the form after our stay - - Next time we will be back at The Best Western!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanDolanGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Troy, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for the detailed review of your stay with us. I'm sorry to see that you were disappointed. It is extremely rare for us to have to delay check-in times, and I would like to sincerely apologize. You are absolutely right; we have an obligation to all our guests, and I can understand your frustration. I would be more than happy to speak with you directly to discuss these matters further. We would love the opportunity to make it up to you the next time you are in Troy.

Sincerely,
Dan Dolan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here for the New Years Eve special package they were running for only $170.00 per couple! What an amazing value we really felt like we got our moneys worth on this trip!! Our room was spacious and beautiful, the beds were very comfortable and the room was immaculate. Front Desk staff was very very nice they even had complimentary yummy fresh cookies on the Front Desk. Had an amazing time downstairs at the Recovery Sports Grill the buffet was amazing and we had a very nice waitress all night. Really Really enjoyed our breakfast that was included with our stay it was excellent! Hilton really puts on a great breakfast. Cant wait to come back next year and book this package. Thanks again Hilton for our wonderful stay and to bring in a great New Year!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn...

Good parts:
Very friendly staff, especially Shelly who was working in the dining room during breakfast when we were there
Food at breakfast
Security
Hotel looks nice, and the rooms are quiet
Price

Not- so- Good:
dirty glasses in the bathroom
dirty blanket on the bed (definitely was not washed)
location... don't plan on walking around anyplace

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The most impressive thing about this hotel was its service. The staff was attentive, professional and courteous. The shuttle was also available and very convenient. In addition, the food was delicious, especially the bread pudding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here while in town to visit RPI with our son. The hotel is very close to campus and although it's on busy Rt. 7, it was very quiet. Our 2Q room was clean and a good size. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Didn't use the pool during our stay. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Troy in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hilton Garden Inn Troy is always our first choice when visiting family in the Albany area. The hotel is clean and the staff is always very nice and friendly. We have stayed here many times and have never had any issue. Just yesterday, while leaving the hotel, we left our daughter’s pillow in the room. The housekeeper came running out to the parking lot looking for us with pillow in hand. Thanks Hilton Garden Inn! We will definitely be back to the hotel again. Probably for the Thanksgiving Dinner you are advertising in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Troy

Address: 235 Hoosick Street, Troy, NY 12180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Troy Hotel Troy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.