We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Troy and a great, lower cost alternative to Albany, Saratoga Spings hotels.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Troy

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Troy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Hoosick Street, Troy, NY 12180   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Troy
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Troy and a great, lower cost alternative to Albany, Saratoga Spings hotels.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

If you are in Troy, this is the place to stay. It is no contest. At the edge of RPI campus nearest to East Campus Athletic Village.

Stayed here while spending a couple of days at the track in Saratoga. Saved $70/night relative to comparable properties in/around Saratoga (or, probably Albany). No regrets, whatsoever. I believe this hotel is about 2 years old. It looks even newer than that. Spacious, clean room. "Sleep number" bed. Nice common areas. Reasonably priced breakfast. Sports Bar on premises is just okay. Friendly, helpful staff, but could do a better job of answering "guest services" line Free parking. Easy access to I87/I787 close to I90. 5-10 minutes from Albany, 25 minutes from Saratoga Springs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    84
    18
    12
    1
See reviews for
93
34
10
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel is 2 minutes from the RPI campus, so it's our top pick for moving in and out days. How lucky that it's also a very nice hotel! The beds are so cushy I never want to leave. Staff has always been welcoming and friendly. I definitely recommend this hotel for RPI visitors or travelers along 87.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Arriving at the hotel I was impressed by the lower lobby and general decor of this Hilton Garden Inn. I took the elevator to registration lobby where I stood in line behind three other people. There was one person registering guests and two other employees staring at computers. In an industry with so many choices I could not believe that not only were these other two folks doing "whatever", but didn't even take the time to acknowledge people in line; which might have made me feel better. (Yes, I travel a lot. I don't mind waiting; but it doesn't take much to make people feel welcome while they wait) Finally one of the other two decided it was time to help when what seemed like an eternity later the other employee was still trying to make that 1st guest informed and happy.

When it was my turn I was treated like the most important person there. Nice job training and hiring your people, Hilton! Later that night I asked for dining and entertainment suggestions and the staff could not offer enough ideas - and they didn't feel obligated to send me to the hotel restaurant,

Rooms were spacious and in room amenities; but the seating chair and ottoman being right in front of the A/C unit did not provide for a comfortable experience.Free chocolate chip cookies at check-in - WOO-HOO!!!

Great location and don't miss the Troy Farmer's Market if you'e there on a Saturday morning.

Room Tip: I used Hotwire
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We love the Hilton Garden Inn as it is the perfect place for RPI parents to stay when visiting a college student.

The rooms are spacious, clean, and the breakfast in the morning is fabulous.
It is a few blocks from RPI, and close to highways, restaurants and shopping.

The staff are quite helpful, and we will continue to book this wonderful hotel when we visit RPI !.

The Sports Bar pub next door is great for college age, but we deem it alittle too noisy for tired parents who have just driven a few hundred miles. There are many good restaurants in town, especially the Japanese restaurant right in town.

Room Tip: Make sure to call for Reservations, but all rooms are equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Huge rooms, great bedding - have those new mattresses where you can adjust the firmness. Clean, great service - plus a resturant with a varied menu on site. Refrigerator and microwave too. My only wish is that it was closer to I-90/NY thruway.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just returned from a 3-day stay at Troy HGI and couldn't have been happier. From the time of the reservation to check out, staff made every effort to make my stay a quality one. Very friendly and accommodating staff who did all they could to make my stay worry free. Shuttle service was great, convenient restaurant and very plentiful breakfast. I was very pleased with my experience at the HGI.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Clean Rooms. Staff was curtious without being overtly friendly. Good size pool, howver the bathroom in the pool room was filthy. Seemed like blood on the floor. May have been a from an accident.

Overall a good place for a one night stop on a longer trip. Good restaurant on first floor "Recovery Sports Bar" with good food and nice atmosphere.

Nice sized rooms with microwave and small fridge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Troy

Address: 235 Hoosick Street, Troy, NY 12180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Troy 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Troy Hotel Troy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.