We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Bed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Tonawanda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Tonawanda to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Tonawanda
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2000 Niagara Falls Blvd., Tonawanda, NY 14150 (Formerly Grand Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable Bed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We're used to other hotels in the Choice hotel lineup. This motel did not measure up to Choice standards. The girl at the front desk was helpful and friendly. However, the room we were given had half of a safety lock. When I asked why she said it was being taken care of. It happened because rowdy motel guests broke it. It did not make us feel safe. How much effort does it take to fix this for the next guests. The minute we walked into the bathroom a bug was crawling on the bathroom floor, there was no soap to be had. Once again the girl at the front dest came through for us at least with the soap. The tops of the furniture were sticky as well and the sheets were balled up and felt rough when trying to sleep. We had asked for a wake up call for 8:45 am and it never came. When we realized what time it was we barely were able to enjoy the continental breakfast . When we told the male desk clerk about the missed wake up call he responded saying "things happen". That was a poor response in my eyes. We will think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    7
    7
    24
See reviews for
13
13
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for the night before a game in Buffalo. The rates were fair and the hotel was slightly better than expected. Check-in was uneventful. The room was clean and had nice enough decorations. It was a perfect place to rest our heads. Don't know if other people expect a 5star resort in a small town outside of Buffalo, but this hotel is a great value for the price!!


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
thank you for review we are always updating the hotel like the new bussness center and new gym coming very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Start with the front end staff, very pleasant and accommodating, we at the last minute decided to go a day early, we got an even better date on the first night. Got in our room and it was actually very clean, beds were comfortable, had a fridge, microwave, flat screen and did I mention clean? It looks like the carpets have just been replaced, the mattresses are comfortable and even the pillows were soft. Would I stay there again, yes.

Room Tip: They do have a couple of rooms for people with animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
thank you hope to see you next time your in area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

As all other hotels were booked, we booked 2 rooms at this place. After reading other reviews was expecting worst during our stay. But it was not that bad. We got clean rooms (small issue with tub which they immediatey rectified). next morning our kids were late for breakfast, the lady was kind enough to wait for them to finish. The reception staff was very helpful too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
thank you hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

As of Aug 2013, this property must have gone under incredible changes. It was GREAT. We preferred Econo Lodge over Embassy Suites Fallsview (Ontario). I was given a military discount and we were very happy with the location, free wifi, comfortable bed (wonderful nights sleep after getting out of the whirlpool), TV channel choices, friendly staff, microwave/fridge, decent breakfast choices, FREE parking and the whirlpool tub. No iron and ironing board in the room, but just ask the front desk.

The location was perfect in relation to all of the excursions we had planned after we saw the Falls and less than 15 minutes from the Buffalo-Niagara airport. This was awesome because we did not have to worry about the bottleneck traffic coming from near the falls (we waited over an hour in traffic going toward the falls and especially crossing the border into Canada). The location was phenomenal since the Blvd Mall, Target, and many other nice to have stores and budget friendly restaurants were very close.

For the price it was the absolute better choice for us and we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Corner room, no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
thank you hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

After driving from NJ for almost 8 hrs and stopping in Buffalo to visit some family, we went on a search for hotels around the area. After many stops and no room availables we stopped here and was told they had no rooms available but could put us in one of their partnering hotels. I asked if it was as nice as this one and SHE assured me it was, charged me 99.00 for my Frid stay and 179.00 for my Sat. The hotel they offered name is the CROWN INN and it should be called THE CRAPPY INN, it was horrible, smelly, sheets were dirty and NOTHING was working. I had to walk out to the front to tell them the tv was not working. They came in and played with an extension cord to fix it. Well it get better, after and hr or so we couldn't take the smell or the itching, we went back to the Econo lodge to complain and get our money back and the lady who tricked us into getting the crappy room was not there so some other RUDE girl said she couldn't refund us the money because we used the room for one hour. Well that's when thing got really heated, I asked for a manager, none available, I asked for the other lady, not available, I asked for anyone higher, none available. Finally she decided to give me a refund but kept 50.00. What they did to me and my family was misleading and not very nice at all. So on that note Thank you Hampton Inn for accommodating us when the Econo lodge wouldn't.

Room Tip: If offered another hotel from them RUUUNNNN
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgetonawanda, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge Tonawanda for your recent stay in our area.

I want to personally apologize to you for shifting you at our partnering hotels which has not worked for you.. This is not to be tolerated. We don’t take it lightly and we don’t expect you to either.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• The housekeeping staff received additional training regarding the level or cleanliness required of them. They also were instructed to find a way to eliminate the smells spoken of.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the TV in the room first assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• Front desk staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area you will once again choose to stay at the Econo Lodge Tonawanda. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Made a last minute decision to spend the night after spending the day in Niagara Falls. Called and made a reservation at the last minute. Desk staff was very accommodating. We were given room no. 129. Walked in and were immediately turned off by the horrible smell of urine mixed with something else that I can't even describe. The door to the bathroom looked like it had never been washed and there was hair all over the bathroom floor. I then proceeded to tear the bed apart. The pillows looked like they had never been cleaned. The mattress pad had rips in it and the sheets had hair and stains on them. I don't think they were clean sheets. We could not even consider staying there. Went to the office and requested a refund and explained why. They offered to give us a room upstairs, but we said no, we couldn't imagine staying there. We were told to look for a refund on our credit card. Hopefully, receiving the refund will not turn into an issue for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgetonawanda, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Econo Lodge Tonawanda for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the horrible smell you reported in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its elimination.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the Bathroom Door, Pillow and mattress pad in the room first assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Econo Lodge Tonawanda. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Tonawanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Tonawanda

Address: 2000 Niagara Falls Blvd., Tonawanda, NY 14150 (Formerly Grand Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Tonawanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Tonawanda 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT - We offer the following NEWLY UPDATED areas include Lobby, Breakfast Area and Guest Rooms. We offer a FREE Deluxe continental breakfast including Hot waffles with each and every stay. We also have FREE WiFi throughout our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Tonawanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonawanda Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Tonawanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.