We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub shame about the rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Branston
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice pub shame about the rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I am currently staying here now 13th August for 1 night and the pub looks very nice, unfortunately the rooms they show on the website are not the rooms i have seen here. The rooms are small which is not a problem as a hotel is to sleep in but the room is very very dated with mould on the roof in the bathroom near the window which either has a leak from above or a damp problem. Some time and attention would make the room look rather nice i am sure but it feels like a cell now. Kettle dirty, cobwebs in the bathroom which shows it has not been cleaned for some time.

As i am a business traveller i do stay in a number of hotels each year and around 6 times per year in Burton, normally the pubs i have chosen to stay at have been very nice but on this occasion it was a very bad choice.

The staff are very nice but it does not detract from staying in a room that is nothing like the rooms shown on the website as a hook to get you to reserve.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let us know about your experience. I'm so pleased to hear that you found my team to be very nice, as we always aim to provide our guests with a lasting impression. I would agree that our rooms are dated, which is why we are in the process of refurbishing our rooms. My handyman is currently refurbishing a room every 2 - 3 weeks, so we would anticipate that over the coming months all of the rooms will be of a much higher standard, which is very evident in the rooms that he has completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    52
    35
    19
    12
See reviews for
21
84
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is not a hotel for the faint hearted if you have a fear of spiders then this is not the place for you!! We have just returned from a one night stay and couldnt wait to return home. The rooms are small, dirty and uninhabitable. If you are on the larger side you would have a bit of a problem using the loo as it is situated right next to the wall and bath with no space either side. The rooms are very dated and the whole of the hotel is in desperate need of a refurb .But on the plus side the view from our room was very picturesque. This is the worst place we have ever stayed at and will not be returning.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit. I'm pleased to hear that you found the view from your room to be picturesque and can only apologise if the insect life detracted from your stay. Being the middle of summer and experiencing a heat has caused an increase in all insect life in the UK, and whilst our house keepers remove all insects whilst servicing the rooms, we do find that as the nights draw in, so do the spiders, and with it being so very warm it is understandable that all of our guests choose to leave their windows open to take advantage of the cool breeze from the river and to take in our spectacular views. We are in the process of refurbishing all of our rooms, and whilst this will not enhance the size of the room, the rooms that we have done, look fantastic, so we should have all of our rooms refurbished within the next 12 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Branston hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel.From reading Tripadvisers reviews, I was more than a little reticent as to what I would find there. I was pleasantly surprised. From checking in we found all of the staff, gardener,handyman not to mention the maids, all very pleasant and helpful. Our room, No 16 had just had a refurb. and although a little' bijou', it was clean and fresh. The shower and toilet too..The bed, as in all Old English Inns was very comfortable. Breakfasts were very very good and served efficiently by the indominant and unsurpassable Eva who attended to our every need. Jose who took her place was also very attentive although not as speedy as Eva, then who is ? Our evening meal from the 2 for 9.95 menu was more than adequate and very enjoyable.The beer and wine were priced as one would expect to pay in a hotel, but not over priced.Les the barman come waiter was efficient and vey polite. In all our sojourn was very pleasant and our joy was compounded by the beautiful surroundings and picturesque walks along the lovely Trent riverbank. Give this hotel a try and draw your own conclusions.Don't be put off by the usual moaners and wingers who invarialy suffer from the Champagne taste but only having Coca Cola money

Room Tip: Our room faced the carpark and was quieter and fairly free fom the midges. Ask for a river view when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for spending some time with us here at The Riverside. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, as we enjoyed your company and the chats that we had during your stay. I'm sure we will see you again in the near future and I look forward to continuing where we left off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Staff at Riverisde Hotel are fantastic. They could not do enough for us, they were friendly, polite and very helpful. We ate dinner at the hotel and the food was really good honest english pun food, which suited us perfectly. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but they were clean, and you only sleep and shower in the room, so you don't need a mansion of a room, and speaking of showering, the water preasure is brilliant, the best shower I've ever had. If you want a few days away ina realxed friendly hotel, you can't go wrong bookingat this hotel, and the rooms were only £60 including there amazing breakfast. All the staff were fantastic, but the stars were Eva and Andrew, but like I said they were all very good.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel and they can book you a riverview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Riverside and for taking the time to let us and our future customers know about your experience. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our fantastic food. We always aim to deliver a quality pub menu with a twist, served by friendly and helpful team members in a pleasant environment, so it would appear that Old English Inns are a perfect fit for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon, perhaps later in the summer, when you can really take advantage of our riverside location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Totally agree with opinions of other reviewers.Rooms are air-freshioner smelly, bathroom VERY NARROW no space for toilet between wall and bath. Very dated and badly in need of upgrading.Mould on bathroom window. First impressions on driving up not good badly needs completely overhauling.
Admin staff abysmal. Originally booked for 3 mights but had to leave after 2 as had domestic emergency at home. Paid for the two nights but day after we got home found that hotel had taken £60 for the 3rd night. Despite numerous phone calls and e-mail and promises of return phone calls nothing has been heard from them.
Would I stay there again NO would I recommend this hotel NO.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanking for taking the time to let me know about your recent stay. I'm so sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay. Old English Inns are in the process of refurbishing all of their hotels, so we will be getting a total overhaul in the near future, but until them, my handyman is working to refresh the rooms, although he is unable to increase the size of the bathrooms. Please could I ask you to contact The Riverside directly and ask to speak to Andrew, and I will endeavour to sort out the problem with your bill, as I was not aware of any problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

stayed here sunday night to attend a wedding reception at the golf and country club so just a nice short walk across the grounds to the golf club..lovely sunny day we sat in grounds overlooking river having a few drinks and food..nice and peaceful..our room was overlooking the river which was a lovely view..ok so rooms are a bit dated but very clean and the bed was comfy and plenty of wardrobe space...shower and a bath..the pub /restaurant is lovely ..very relaxing and the breakfast was cooked very nice with nice backgroung music playing..and the lady serving us was very pleasant and attentive..ordered salmon for dinner off specials board but thed ran out then ordered chocolate cake n coffee for afters .ther wer five kinds of cake advertised on board which was written in chalk but thed only got the carrott cake left so would just say thed have been best to rub it off the board once ran out as i was drooling at the thought of chooccy cake but had carrott cake instead as this was all thed got left but it was actually very nice and they gave me a very large piece. overall we had a lovely stay here ,

Room Tip: we stayed in room 18 which was overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Front Office Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to be clean with comfy beds, as a good night sleep is very important. I'm looking into why we only had 1 kind of cake left, when you stayed, as the chef is usually really good at keeping our cakes well stocked. I'm pleased to hear that you found my team to be pleasant and attentive, as we always strive to offer the best service possible. We look forward to seeing you again here at The Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed Bank Holiday weekend and were lucky the sun came out so we could appreciate the river. Although too many flying midges from the river (now understand the wire netting on the windows). Food was nice (t-bone steak was lovely) and drink & food reasonably priced. Bar & restaurant staff were very friendly & attentative. Breakfast lovely & available until midday! Then food & snacks available all afternoon until 2200hrs, I believe the bar closed around 2230hrs. Room a bit on the small side but clean. Bed also a little small & soft but used to a firm kingsize at home, but again clean. Tea/coffee, kettle, hairdryer, iron & ironing board in adequate sized wardrobe. The bathroom probably needs re-designing (perhaps remove bath & replace with a shower) as we had to 'back up' to the toilet as it is between the bath & wall and has no space either side, although we are not the slimmest people in the world - but not the largest either! Shower worked lovely with complimetary bar of soap & small bottle of shower gel. 2 hand towels adequate, but the bath towels only slighter bigger than hand towels & could do with being slightly bigger. Cleaning staff didn't enter our room whilst there, so cannot comment other than to say that the room was clean on arrival. Room was lovely & warm once we put the radiator on & closed bathroom door.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 which was on the ground floor & overlooked the garden on the river. Could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us and future guests know about your stay. I so please to hear that you found my team to be friendly and attentive and that you enjoyed your meals with us. Our breakfasts until midday are a huge hit and we find many of our guests take advantage of relaxing through the morning with their breakfast, so I do hope you took advantage of this. I'm also please to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and well serviced, and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky packages in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.