We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticonderoga” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Ticonderoga

Super 8 Ticonderoga
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Ticonderoga to your Saves list
Super 8 Ticonderoga
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1144 Wicker Street, Route 74 and Route 9 North, PO Box 567, Ticonderoga, NY 12883   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ticonderoga
Wethersfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Ticonderoga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very enjoyable stay, but there could have been some danishes or muffins for breakfast. The front desk person was very accommodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    38
    12
    9
See reviews for
39
37
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There were dust bunnies and hair balls in the corners, especially in the bathroom. The room smelled like cigarette smoke -- there was an air freshener hanging from the curtain rod that obviously did no good. We noticed that some of the rooms did not have screens on the windows. The outside door at the end of the hall did not latch, allowing anyone to wander in if they wished to. The whole place was worn out, dirty, in need of updating. And overpriced. Sleeping in our car would have been better.

Room Tip: Do not choose this Super 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super803737, General Manager at Super 8 Ticonderoga, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I Thank You for your response. I will have a talk with my staff and make sure everything is going as should. I appreciate your time and we hope this does not ruin your experience as we would like to see you come here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Had booked through Priceline which included a 15% discount (from Super 8) for stays of more than 3 nights. When I checked in, the discount was not reflected and I had to get the associate to correct. I had contacted the location a week or so before arriving requesting a firm bed for a sensitive back, but still received a room with a lumpy, soft mattress...

Rooms were relatively clean, with good water pressure in the shower, and included a fridge and micro. Breakfast was sparse. Cereal, toast, fruit cups, and yogurt with Coffee and juices.

All in all nothing spectacular but for $50/night, what can you expect?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

If your expecting a basic room with nothing fancy, this is the place to go. We wanted somewhere to crash because we were visiting the surrounding area. Close to the wind chill factory, a must.
Wifi doesn't work, the free breakfast is crappy (but free) but the rooms are clean and yes the water pressure is great. Good bang for the buck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super803737, General Manager at Super 8 Ticonderoga, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I Thank you for the kind words. I hope you get a chance to stop in again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The beds were comfortable, great water pressure in the shower. Aside from that, the front desk person looked horrified and overwhelmed when we tried to check in 15 minutes early, no microwave in the room and the fridge was "pay as you go" which is not what's advertised on the site. Had to request that the charge of $1.50 for the safe we didn't use be removed from our bill. The non-smoking and smoking rooms were intermingled and although ours was non-smoking, we smelled the overwhelming stench of smoke the entire time. Our room wreaked and the hallways smelled gross. The continental breakfast was cereal, sugary pre-packaged fruit cups and cinnamon buns. Having the McDonald's and the Wal-Mart close by were convenient but not the view I was hoping for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Keansburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Non-smoking room still reeked of smoke. Kind of hard to keep the smell out when there are smoking rooms right next to the non-smoking ones! Smarter idea would be to separate them by floors. The website also lists that there is a mini fridge and microwave but fails to mention that this is an option that you are charged extra for if requested not a standard item.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This would have been an acceptable $50 motel; $80, not so much. This Super 8 is clean and relatively new, but very bare-bones. My wife tried for more than an hour to get a wi-fi connection with little help from the desk clerk before other guests advised us that it was unavailable in most of the building. There is no pool, the rooms are average and the "breakfast" is basically coffee, individually-wrapped sweet rolls and stale bread for toast. The location is good; it's just a few miles from Fort Ticonderoga and the Ticonderoga Ferry to Vermont, and about 15 miles from Crown Point and Fort St. Frederic historic sites. But it is not scenic by any means, sitting in a parking lot next to a McDonalds and in front of a Wal-Mart. The Ticonderoga Super 8 would have fit in just as well in some desolate part of the Dakotas just off the interstate.

We went into downtown Ticonderoga for dinner and were surprised to see a half-dozen small, "Route 66"-type tourist hotels on Montcalm Street that we had known nothing about.I wish we had, because I'm sure we could have have booked one of them for about the same quality as the Super 8, had more of an authentic Adirondacks experience and probably saved some money. This is the danger of booking hotels solely through the internet and not calling someone who lives in town -- you will never find the small, cheap hotels that don't have a presence on the web. Some of them may be horrible places, but you can often find a hidden gem off the beaten path of the large discount hotel chains.

Room Tip: Other hotels are available, just not via an Internet search
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Ticonderoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ticonderoga

Address: 1144 Wicker Street, Route 74 and Route 9 North, PO Box 567, Ticonderoga, NY 12883
Location: United States > New York > Ticonderoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ticonderoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ticonderoga 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Ticonderoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ticonderoga
Ticonderoga Super Eight
Ticonderoga Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Ticonderoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.