We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cioppino Supreme” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie's Taste of Italy

Frankie's Taste of Italy
2824 State Route 28, Thendara, NY 13420
315-369-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 restaurants in Thendara
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cioppino Supreme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

For over 15 years Jean and I have been sampling cioppino all over the US. Until last weekend, the top five restaurants were on the west coast from Redondo Beach to Bellingham, WA to Little Italy in San Diego and downward in ranking from there. For years we have enjoyed the excellent food at Frankies. Now after having cioppino there last weekend for the first time, we have found the real #1 cioppino dish that we have been searching for all these years.

Frankies served, without a doubt, the best of the many, many coippino dishes we have ever tried. Redondo Beach, you lost your crown to Frankie.

Very good flavor, well presented seafood dish and a lot closer to home, cioppino is a good complement to all your other great menu items.

Thank you Frankie and Tina.

Gary and Jean

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    187
    24
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best seafood pasta dish I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I went here after my parents had dined there the night before and raved about the food. The place is big, and had a very cozy Adirondack feel. We ordered a bottle of wine at the downstairs bar and we were very pleased at the price ($18 for a nice Chianti that at other restaurants would have cost at least $30). We were seated upstairs and the service was fine. We both ordered the seafood pasta special: a whole lobster tail plus claws, clams, mussels, shrimp and calamari with beautiful imported wide ribbon pasta in a white wine sauce. We had side salads and warm crusty bread. The dressing is simple and delicious. When our food arrived, Frankie served us our dishes in a huge, unique bowl and all we could say was WOW! The seafood was fresh and the shrimp were so big we kept mistaking it for another lobster tail. The calamari was extremely tender and the wide ribbon pasta the best I have ever tasted (and I am a huge pasta snob). We raved the whole time we ate it...we must have said "Oh my God" too many times because the diners next to us called over the waiter to change their order to the seafood special as well! We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the Old Forge region :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummmmmy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Happy 4th of July bday dinner or our daughter there. Asked them to bring a dessert they did - the BEST chocolate cake ever! Stuffed mushroom - was worried because it was only one and wanted to share with my husband and daughter - it was giant and omg!!!! So tasty! I usually have bad luck when I go ou to eat, my husband always picks the best and I am usually always unhappy. I was so happy this time! Thank you guys so much for a very tasty meal and singing happy birthday to our daughter!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
“Can't 'fuhgeddaboudit"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you enjoy great food, friendly service and a relaxing atmosphere, be sure to put Frankie's on the top of your restaurant list. Our family has been eating at Frankie's for years and have never had a bad meal. Frankie's passion for what he does comes through in all his dishes. Sauces are varied for the main ingredient, be it chicken, veal or seafood. One word of advice would be to save room for his can't be beat gelato. Making the trip to Frankie's will make your taste buds happy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you like Italian food, you have to go the Frankie's. Clearly the best Italian food within 20 miles of Old Forge. Great variety, tasty sauces, and pasta done just right. And the homemade gelato is to die for. I like the sampler with 3 different flavors. It's a treat you're family will talk about for weeks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie's Taste of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Frankie's Taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie's Taste of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.