We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel For The Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westchester Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westchester Marriott to your Saves list
Westchester Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   670 White Plains Road, Tarrytown, NY 10591   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dine and Stay Package
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Hotel For The Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

The Westchester Marriott Hotel is a standard for the White Plains area. Not very centrally located, but well worth the time to stay there. They have been very proactive, over the years, in updating and renovating and is a very beautiful property. I stay there each and everytime I go to the White Plains area. Try the Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, located in the hotel, for a good dinner (albeit a pricey one).

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    128
    51
    21
    14
See reviews for
60
71
21
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

We were looking for an end of summer overnight to do with our kids, ages 7, 5 and 2. The pool was a major selling point with this one, and it was just perfect. The kids would have never left it if they had the choice. Our room was on the fourth floor, with a balcony overlooking the pool, yet the sounds from down there were muffled. The room was fine, if only a tad small in the bathroom department. We commented that if we were there as a couple, we would have been delighted, too, as there is a Ruth's Chris Steak House on premises. We settled for room service breakfast, which was delicious and delivered on the early end of the time window. The property offers perfect access to the city, whether by car or rail. Every single staff member we encountered was friendly. We will stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

We stayed at the Westchester Marriott for two nights during a convention that my wife was attending at the hotel. The room was large and comfortable. The linens were superb, but the bed was a little soft for my tastes. I think that is more of a personal preference sort of thing. The bathroom was clean and well supplied. I used the fitness room, and it was one of the best that I've seen in a hotel. There was a banquet during the convention, and my wife said that the food was excellent.

Only two problems:
I have never liked the way the more expensive hotels like this one continue to use their own television systems, long after this has been outclassed by local cable systems. Years ago, the 20 or 30 channels on a hotel system were better than anything you could get at home, but today that is paltry.

The restaurants in this hotel are rather expensive, including the Harvest Cafe, their casual dining restaurant. We had the breakfast buffet one morning, and while it was excellent, we thought it was overpriced at $18 each. When we arrived, we just wanted a quick cheap meal, but there are not very many fast food places nearby. We finally found a Burger King and further away, a Subway. I think there may be a Wendys not too far, but I didn't actually see it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food prices
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

Stayed one night at the Marriott Tarrytown in July 07. It was very disappointing. The first room they gave me (1st Floor) smelled of mold and mildew. It took 20 minutes to get me a new room even though I was told they would be right up. The second room (6th Floor) also smelled. Room service breakfast forgot 3 of the six items I ordered. Maybe they were having a bad day or maybe you should just stay somewhere else. I will.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westchester Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westchester Marriott

Address: 670 White Plains Road, Tarrytown, NY 10591
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westchester Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westchester Marriott Tarrytown is a modern hotel with premium guest amenities including two on-site restaurants, pool and high-tech meeting facilities perfect for a leisure or business vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westchester Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westchester Marriott Hotel Tarrytown
Marriott Hotel Tarrytown
Marriott Hotel Westchester
Marriott Tarrytown
Tarrytown Marriott
Westchester Marriott Tarrytown, NY - Westchester County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westchester Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.