We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and good business option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westchester Marriott

Save Saved
You added Westchester Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westchester Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   670 White Plains Road, Tarrytown, NY 10591   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dine and Stay Package
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Tarrytown
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and good business option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was very pleased with my recent business stay. The rooms were clean and updated. The hotel staff was very professional and detailed oriented - including the hot chocolate in the lobby during the cold days. The hotel offers two very good restaurants, including a Ruth's Chris with a quaint bar. The workout facility was excellent with a lot of great equipment. I will make this my regular business hotel for my frequent trips to the area after this experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    101
    48
    21
    13
See reviews for
52
60
19
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I did not have a choice in booking this hotel as I was attending a conference. The service was impeccable, meals excellent and varied. I was given a room on the 7th floor (Concierge level) and therefore had access to the Executive Lounge on the 9th floor. Like other travelers, I was not informed that I had access to the lounge, nor of where it was located; I ended up figuring it out on my second day on my own. The elevator system is great, no waiting for it to stop on every floor, basically you get a dedicated ride straight to your floor almost every time. The rack rate is pretty pricey, so I was happy to have access to a Corporate rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The location is very convenient to get onto the major highways, and the noise was not heard through the windows even with our room facing the street.
Hotel room was very spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable, and there was no problem getting extra towels after contacting the front desk. Matter of fact, they arrived only minutes later. Room service was prompt and they tended to particular request without extra charge. Tried the steakhouse on the lower level, which was crowded on a week night but did not take away from impeccable customer service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Front Desk attitude checking in, stained chair and carpet, small room with big bed, finally offered to change my room because I threatened I would give them a bad review (which I am doing anyway!) 2nd room was the same but without stains BUT I was right next to the side entrance door and could hear noisy people coming in and out until 2:00AM (busy night), room was cold, wall heater was noisy, had to ask for another floor heater, thin walls, could hear people in the hallway talking, kids running around. My first night sucked. Second night was quieter but was glad to leave. Staff was friendly and quick, nice lobby, good food restaurant food, excellent gym. Hotel too big (400 rooms) old building, dust infested air vents, noisy with front desk attitude.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed at the Westchester Marriott in November 2013. The front desk staff was very friendly. One of my colleagues told me that the restaurant, Cooper's Mill, has free coffee or tea for Rewards members. Nowhere is this promoted. I went to the Front Desk and asked a very friendly gray haired front desk clerk for my Rewards number, because I heard that there was free coffee or tea for Rewards Members. She insisted that there was no such thing. I told her that the person who told me was sure of the information, and I requested my Rewards number regardless. When I went to the restaurant, and told them that I heard there was free coffee or tea for Rewards members, she went and got me some coffee without a second thought. Why was this information not promoted anywhere? Why did the Front Desk staff act as if they did not know of this benefit? If the clerk really was unaware of it, then why was that?

I know all Courtyards, which are also Marriott properties, have free tea in their lobbies all day long. I don't see why the Marriott, which is a step above the Courtyard, acts like the free coffee is a big mystery.

One of the people in my group told me that in the room next to theirs, there were a group of teenagers staying in the room by themselves, with the parents in another room. He said the teens were noisy and running in and out of the room, and starting at 11 pm he called Security. Nothing was done. He then called a second time and nothing was done then, either. Finally, at 1 a.m. he called and told them that if it were not taken care of he was going to call the police. Security then went and dealt with the parents and the teens were quieted.

I just read another traveler's review saying there's a Concierge Lounge for members. Another benefit that is not promoted. I am a Rewards Member and in the 6 or so times I've stayed at this hotel in the past two years, I have not been told once of the Concierge Lounge or where it's located. Why is that? Is the hotel trying to save money by not promoting it's benefits? It seems foolish to offer benefits whose purpose is to increase customer satisfaction and then not promote them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This facility is nice. The rooms are a good size. Housekeeping does an excellent job. We had no noise issues (7th floor). "Smart" elevators are an interesting change.
But a few details created issues.
First, in the 21st century, Wi-Fi should be freely available everywhere. The nickel and dime (actually over $13) for a single day of Wi-Fi is a downer for me. The front desk offered to comp one day. I accepted, but that didn't happen until I mentioned it at check-out. Glad I read my bill thoroughly.
Second, it's hard to find out about where the member benefits are. No one told us where the concierge lounge was. If it's a benefit, it shouldn't be a secret.
Is there complimentary coffee in the morning? Where? If not, why not? Why the secrecy?
A good small detail: the sausage on the breakfast buffet is excellent, far above average.
I suppose my ranting about the plethora of additional charges is trying to keep the tide from rising. I just think it lessens the experience when every little thing comes with a [not so little] price tag.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had earned a free night with our Marriott points, so not wanting to go to far from home we decided to get in the car and head to Tarrytown, NY. The area is beautiful with so much to do and see. The Westchester Marriott is magnificent, our room had a small bar area/kitchen type set up, large windows huge living room and bedroom & bath. The workout room was nice and the pool with separate hot tub was so relaxing! A perfect place to get away all we were looking to do was read & relax and dine. Fun place, clean and convenient with great restaurants. try the Steak House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westchester Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westchester Marriott

Address: 670 White Plains Road, Tarrytown, NY 10591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westchester Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westchester Marriott Tarrytown is a modern hotel with premium guest amenities including two on-site restaurants, pool and high-tech meeting facilities perfect for a leisure or business vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westchester Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westchester Marriott Hotel Tarrytown
Marriott Hotel Tarrytown
Marriott Hotel Westchester
Marriott Tarrytown
Tarrytown Marriott
Westchester Marriott Tarrytown, NY - Westchester County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westchester Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.