We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center to your Saves list
Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 E Sunnyside Lane, Tarrytown, NY 10591   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate + 20% Off
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
“A Wonderful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

I recently stayed at the Tarryoiwn House Estates for a weekend getaway. Was one of the most pleasurable experiences. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. The grounds are amazing there are great views all around. The establish is rich with culture and history.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    163
    74
    32
    14
See reviews for
154
362
32
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

This was our second stay at the Tarrytown House, for a romantic weekend away from the kids. The hotel building itself is beautiful, and the grounds are nicely landscaped and maintained. The staff is welcoming and helpful, and the rooms are nicely appointed. The fitness center is well-equipped and a pleasure to exercise in. My husband and I cannot say enough nice things about the hotel or Cellar 49, the hotel's restaurant. The food was excellent, the staff professional and warm, and the atmosphere both romantic and comforting. We are already looking forward to returning for another romantic getaway.

  • Liked — The inviting atmosphere of both the hotel and staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

I recently stayed at the Tarrytown House on my wedding night, it was recommended to me by my maid of honor who had recently attended a wedding there. We chose the King Mansion in particular because we were looking for a quiet yet elegant bed and breakfast feel. Our room was beautiful and serene, everything we wanted for our first night as a married couple. The room felt so private, we it was like we were the only people around. And the grounds of the hotel in the fall are so beautiful! We had a balcony with a view of the Hudson River, and with the leaves turning it was gorgeous! The staff was helpful and friendly, I would definitely stay there again.
I also would recommend the on-site restaurant, the Cellar 49. The food was great, and they use local ingredients!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

I was invited to a conference at this hotel in January. This is the finest hotel at which I have every stayed. The attention to detail was amazing, the hotel and location were beautiful and the service was excellent. All who worked during my stay were friendly and helpful and gracious. While there for a conference, the food was outstanding and the ambiance was wonderful. I I would recommend this hotel if you are on a weekend getaway, a romantic retreat or if you are planning a wedding. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — It was beautiful and stately in every way, and the food was delicious
  • Disliked — It was hard to negotiate to the various buildings, especially if you have a hard time walking.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

What a wonderful place to go for a business conference! The hotel was spotless and the staff was most accomodating. The food was magnificent and the service at the restaurant was excellent. The waiters were always around checking to see if anything was needed.
The only downside was the lack of signage in the building to direct people from their rooms to the conference center at the mansion. Clearer directions would help to avoid geting lost in the building!
Overall, an excellent experience!

  • Liked — The rooms were well cared for and clean
  • Disliked — Lack of directional signage
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

our family event was terrific -all our expectations were met

  • Liked — clean and comfortable--good food excellent banquet
  • Disliked — parking was tight
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

Stayed here for a business conference the last week in October.

I had a king room in the Atrium building. It was extremely spacious and comfortable, and had high quality furnishings and appointments. This is what Westin hotel rooms should feel like.

The sports center had lots machines, weights, a racquetball court, and pool. The food was outstanding and the service was fantastic.

The Cellar 49 restaurant and pub had an upscale, yet cool and casual feel.

The sprawling grounds are well kept, and everything about this property feels quality. This would be a wonderful place for a wedding/
reception.

Our group had zero problems over our 2 day conference.

  • Liked — Large comfy rooms, great staff, great food
  • Disliked — Walking everywhere..Guestroom, restaurant, gym, meeting rooms were all in different buildings.. bundle up in the winter!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center

Address: 49 E Sunnyside Lane, Tarrytown, NY 10591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend escape from the city or a destination wedding, Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, seasonal basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown Dolce House
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown House Hotel
Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center NY - Westchester County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.