We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center to your Saves list
Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 E Sunnyside Lane, Tarrytown, NY 10591   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate + 20% Off
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have been coming to this "resort" for a few years. Now that it seems that the secret is out, we are writing a review. Although they cater mostly to the business clientele and weddings, it is one of our favorite spots for a quick weekend retreat out of NYC. Without traffic, it is within an hour drive from NYC, but seems like a whole different world. Also accessible by metro north and a quick cab ride.
Lovely grounds, with extensive history. Beautiful views. Rooms are standard, unless you stay in the mansion. Had a few issues in the past, ie mini frig not working properly, but maintenance addressed problems immediately. Some things to keep in mind, vast property without elevators and parking lots are often far from the room. If you have limited mobility, make sure you specify your needs. They will accommodate. The crib was not to our liking, metal bars that the baby kept banging into. bring a portable playpen instead. There is also a room that is "haunted". Been told by other guests that have stayed in this room of incidents, all friendly.
The food is limited, but good. Breakfast is a great deal for the $. During the summer months, lunch at the cabana (typical grilled food) or Cellar 49 (great burgers, but they will not deliver, even within the property). Dinner option is the Cellar, again limited but good. The surrounding towns have great restaurants, if you have the option of venturing out.
There is a whirlpool, sauna, an outdoor and an indoor pool (great when you bring the children). There is enough recreation... Tennis court, squash court, bocce, gym, another tennis court that is used as a volleyball/basketball court. The only negatives are limited pool chairs, pool towels (small and poor quality), and some cleanliness issues with the pools and shower room. Indoor pool area is too warm.
With all that said, what makes this property a stand out is the staff. Everyone from the reservation/front desk to the crew at the cabana are are warm, friendly, and very helpful. Ciara, at the cabana, works diligently and multi tasks around the property, always with a smile. She paid special attention to not only us, but to our grand kids when we brought them for a family weekend. Joe is a great addition to the team. Very efficient and checked on us to try to accommodate our needs. Nora, at the cellar, is always a delight. Special mention to the weekend life guard, Christian, unlike the other lifeguard (unprofessional and intrusive).
We love this property and already planned two more weekends before the end of the year.

Room Tip: Specify your needs when you make your reservation and at check in. The standard hotel rooms are awk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to share your review of our Estate based on both your most recent experience with us and past visits. We value our repeat guests like you and appreciate all the positive comments you shared as well as opportunities we may have to work on to ensure your expecations are exceeded in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property next season and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    173
    77
    33
    15
See reviews for
164
380
35
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Great surroundings ... Very close to the city and with all the facilities needed for nice out off the office meetings. Buffet food is pretty decent and the bar has great ambience although it really depends on the crowd that is around

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to share your review after your recent stay at our Conference Center.

We were thrilled to host you and your group and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This place is a cobbled together group of buildings including some old houses and some hotel-like buildings. We stayed in one of the hotel buildings. The room was very nice standard hotel type room but it did not have a bathtub, which was disappointing to me. It reminded me that I should always ask. They seem to cater more to business clients, so that's probably why the tub wasn't standard. I was too tired to go back and ask to be changed to a room with a tub, but when you pay almost $300 for a room you expect a deep soaking tub... or at least I do.

We didn't have much time to explore the mansions but we did eat in the Cellar 49 restaurant which was nice and the food was good, but it is expensive.

The worst part is that breakfast is not included, it is $20 extra. I find that ridiculous for the price of the room. We left and went off site for breakfast.

I think it's probably best for business conferences.

Room Tip: If you're there for the history ask for a room in one of the mansions. And if a bathtub matters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your most recent stay at our Estate. We appreciate you sharing this feedback with us as we use to continually strive to exceed our guests expectations.

We invite you to visit us again and please continue to check our website for promotions and packages that may bring you back sooner than expected.

All the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast PA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 46th wedding anniversary weekend at the Tarrytown House. From the moment we stepped onto the property until the time we checked out we were treated like royalty by the entire staff.

We were immediately greeted with a smile and "happy anniversary" by the front desk clerk. She presented us with 2 tickets for complimentary drinks in Cellar 49. Our room was tastefully appointed and very clean. The bed was firm yet comfortable although the pillows were not to my liking. I am fussy when it comes to bed pillows so next time I will bring my own. I also thought the bathroom was a bit small and the lighting could have been better. But these things did not detract from the ambiance and comfort of this lovely room. We requested a bottle of wine to be waiting in our room when we checked in. However, for some reason, it arrived much later while we were out. My husband called the front desk to say we no longer wanted the wine. He was told it was no problem someone would come to pick it up. A few minutes later the phone rang and the voice on the other end said :"Happy anniversary.....enjoy the wine at no charge compliments of the hotel"! This spoke volumes about the "guest first" attitude of this superior hotel.

The Cellar 49 bar is a great place to have a cocktail before and/or after dinner. Nora, the bartender, made us feel so welcome as she engaged us and other guests in pleasant conversation. And, this lady certainly knows how to make one fantastic ice cold Gray Goose martini!! Although we did not have a full meal in the Cellar 49 dining room we did enjoy the most delicious cauliflower soup along with some outstanding and carefully prepared small plates consisting of a crab cake with a caper citrus sauce and the most amazing Duck Liver and grilled figs. Another reviewer called the decor "odd". I completely disagree. The decor is rustic with beautiful wood and fine leather in keeping with the era of this beautiful old Mansion.

The buffet breakfast was fit for a King! In addition to lox and bagels (a personal favorite) there is a wide variety of other breakfast items including made to order waffles plus an omelette station, bacon, sausage, potatoes, cereal, breads, pastries and fresh fruit. Our coffee cups and water glasses were always filled and used dishes disappeared while we made a return trip to the buffet.

If all this wasn't impressive enough, I received a personal email from the hotel manager when I return home. I don't know when but we will definitely be returning to the Tarrytown House for another weekend get away in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Our room in the Fairfield building was convenient to the pool, Biddle Mason restaurant and Cellar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Rozeroni-

Happy 46th Anniversary! We are so thrilled you selected our historic Estate to celebrate such a special occasion!

Thank you for sharing your review with our Trip Advisor community. The feedback you share is used to continually exceed our guests expecations and from your review it sounds like we did not dissapoint.

Please visit us again for an anniversary, getaway weekend, or any special occasion.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As you make that first turn onto the property, one word comes to mind, and that is IMPRESSIVE. From the moment that we checked in, and until we checked out , the staff could not have been more pleasant or accommodating. It proved to be a lovely get-away for a long weekend. Our room included the breakfast buffet which was excellent. The selection of the breakfast foods and service was excellent. Sergio (concierge) provided
a high level of hospitality and professionalism in familiarizing us with the area. The grounds are maintained beautifully and on a cool night, sitting around the fire pit was delightful.

Room Tip: The Westchester wing was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Barbara-

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review of your most recent stay at our estate. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy your time with us and all our historic property has to offer. We are also extremley thrilled to hear Sergio took such great care of you during your time with us. Our associates continue to be our greatest asset.

We invite you to visit us again soon and please check our website for promotions and packages which may entice you to return sooner than expected!

All the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My best friend & I just stayed at the Tarrytown House this past weekend. We went for a relaxing weekend away & we certainly got what we wanted! The online photos made it look like the perfect getaway. Make no mistake - it was! Superior service far exceeded our already high expectations. Absolutely everyone was pleasant!

There were a few events going on but the estate is set up as such that you find your sanctuary. Very well spread out. We never had to wait to be seated for breakfast or dinner either. They were prepared & organized for the amount of guests they had.

The food was great & everything was spotless. Truly, I can't say enough nor can I get back there soon enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Cynthia -

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review after your most recent stay with your friend at our Estate. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and all our historic property has to offer.

I invite you to visit us again in the fall and please continue to check our website for promotions and packages suited for your travel needs.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The room had a window unit which of course was very noisy. The restaurant was ok but the decor was really odd. On the plus side the service was excellent and the breakfast buffet was top rate. They have a nice pool.

Room Tip: I do not know if they have room without split unit but if they do insist on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to share your review after your most recent stay at our Estate. We value this feedback as we continually use to upgrade our amenities and service levels to exceed our guests expectations.

We hope to see you back at the Estate in the future and all the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center

Address: 49 E Sunnyside Lane, Tarrytown, NY 10591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate all offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown House Hotel
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center NY - Westchester County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.