We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spur of the moment Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center to your Saves list
Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 E Sunnyside Lane, Tarrytown, NY 10591   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate + 20% Off
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My GF and I love spur of the moment trips, and when this place was offered as a destination from one of our favorite travel websites, we decided to try it....and we are glad we did! The service from check in to check out was wonderful....the daily breakfast is wonderful, the Cellar pub was fun, and surrounding area (pubs, restaurants, and of course the Sleepy Hollow Cemetery) is well worth exploring....we had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    163
    74
    32
    14
See reviews for
154
362
32
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was here for three days at a conference. I never left the grounds and never felt the need to leave.

The conference staff was friendly and very accommodating. The rooms are good to very good but do have some lighting issue if you are using powerpoint. Either you will be in the dark or your slides will be washed out from too much lighting. There are not enough plugs for computers in many of the rooms and they charge for extension cords, so bring your own. The break area was great and always replenished.

The hotel room I was in was very comfortable and a nice size. Be warned--you have to walk down a massive amount of steps if you are in the Atrium section!

The restaurant was good to very good and comfortable. Service was excellent.

I would welcome the chance to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a place where we could getaway for the weekend without traveling too far from the city (we live in Brooklyn, NY) and came across Tarrytown House Estate as we were doing our research.

We drove up there in the evening and were charmed immediately by the estate and the winding road that led to the grounds of the estate. It was perfect. Check-in was smooth and easy and everyone including the bell hop was more than helpful in making our stay the best.

We did go to the hotel in the off season and were glad we did. There was really no one in the hotel (or at least it felt that way). Our room was spacious and comfortable and overlooked the Hudson River. It sure was a beauty waking up to that outside your window (we stood in the Putnam Wing). We made sure to make us of all the amenities the estate had to offer. It was great swimming in the indoor pool as you look out and see the whole estate covered in snow.

Also, the buffet breakfast served at the Biddle Mansion was A-mazing. The food was simply delicious and our patrons provided us with the best service.

For dinner we dined at Cellar 49. The ambiance and décor gave the illusion that you traveled back in time. The food was well prepared and scrumptious. My boyfriend and I also downed a couple of drinks (that were done to perfection!) as we played a game of pool and foosball in the billiards/play room that is adjacent to the restaurant.

Overall, we had such a wonderful time. It couldn't have gotten any better.

Ewan & Ashlee

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

While photos of Tarrytown may give the impression of grandeur, the rooms are in a newly constructed wing that looks like a Hilton, Hyatt, or any other business hotel. They aren't really anything special. There are some beautiful parts to the grounds, though, and a few conference rooms in the old buildings. The gym is also very good. Food was above average, but any fine points were outweighed by the ridiculous prices such as $11 oatmeal and $28 macaroni and cheese. And be warned that Tarrytown House is quite a distance from any other restaurants. Service was overall good except for a few rookie errors by housekeeping. Saturday morning we were awakened at 8am by the housekeeper talking loudly on her cell phone in the hall. Sunday morning it was a different housekeeper yelling to his coworker. The walls were thin and the room was loud.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Deorr:

Thank you for not only being our guest but sharing your opinions with our fans on TA.

On our website you will find an interactive aerial map which details all 12 buildings on our 26 acre estate. Our oldest the King Mansion was built in 1840, followed by the larger Biddle Mansion built in granite in 1895. The remaining 10 buildings range from 1890 - 2001, which is where you stayed in our newest wing. In addition we have a download version of our Estate History as well as an MP-3 of our verbal history tour.

Although all rooms were recently restored with new HDTV, furnishings, bathrooms, beds, etc. it sounds like a world traveler like yourself may have preferred to book one of our 10 period rooms in the King Mansion. These rooms are furnished with antiques from the King family and offer a unique "B&B" experience from the newer guest houses.

We also suggest our "Breakfast" packages which include an incredible buffet for a nominal fee as opposed to the more expensive rooms service options you referenced.

Although we are not a national chain, we try to ensure our newer business level rooms have all of the furnishings and amenities of a modern full service hotel, while our mansions and grounds remain true to their 19th century history.

All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back to our historic area in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I live in New York City and work stressful jobs. The Tarrytown House is our-go to spot for winding down and resting. We love the pools (indoor and out), hot tub, sauna. The restaurant is great, and there's a fun game room in the tavern. The staff is friendly and very helpful. There's plenty of outdoor activities in the summer if you want to keep busy, like bocci, tennis, etc. Furthermore, the location is great, the grounds are well-maintained, and the rates are very reasonable considering what it offers.

I highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear JJackson181:

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to share your thoughts with our Trip Advisor community.

I am so glad you and your wife enjoyed your weekend escape. We take great pride in creating memorable stays for our guests and are happy we succeeded in your eyes.

The area offers so much to see and do and we hope to soon welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed at Tarrytown House estate for two nights at the beginning of March. Booked getaway through Sniqueaway. Arrived early Sunday afternoon and the hotel seemed pretty quiet. Check in was simple, although the gentleman behind the desk did not know much about the area. Said the concierge had already left for the day and kind of made his own hours. We were curious about the train into the city, parking etc. The bell hop that took our bags to the room, however, was more informed and very nice. Room was located in the Putnum section of the main hotel and the walk was quite a distance. Amenities were good, bed was comfortable and the shower was good. The grounds of the estate are beautiful and we did walk through the King Mansion. During the spring and summer it must be very pretty. Nice view of the Hudson river from the King Mansion deck. Our room only faced a courtyard, so the view was fair. The train to NYC was convenient and we ended up taking a taxi to and from the station. Overall, we may stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear MsJoyce:

Thank you so much for being our guest and sharing your thoughts with our fans on TA.

The Estate has so much to offer even during the winter and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Rest assured we will review your service comments with our front desk team and our apologies for the mis-information on the Concierge. In mid April when the area historic attractions re-open for the season, he will be scheduled on weekends to help our vacationing guests.

All the best and we do hope you will return to our historic area and Estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I booked this last minute getaway to decompress from the stress of the work week and it was amazing. We booked a room in the King Mansion which was beautiful and charming. We had a view of the hudson river from our room which was nice to wake up to in the morning. We included the breakfast into our package. Breakfast takes place within the Biddle mansion which was across the grounds. They had a nice assortment of foods and I indulged in pancakes and french toast topped with fresh strawberries and bacon on the side. Croissants and danishes to finish it off with some tea. There are panoramic views in the breakfast room so no matter where you sit you'll either have a view of the forest or the river. It was so relaxing and there was no rush to begin the day. The hotel grounds are beautiful and even though the weekend was rainy and cold we couldn't help but walk around and admire the landscaping. There is a charming sculpture garden and walkways throughout the grounds of the property. Each structure has a story to tell and it was a pleasant surprise to hear that the mansion we were staying in was haunted by a friendly ghost. I enjoyed walking around the house and they have a library where you can spend time looking at the various books and reading. The grounds also feature a wonderful restaurant called The Cellar. We had dinner there one evening and the food and service were amazing. It's an adults only establishment and they have a large bar area and a billiards room. We had dinner in the dining room. By the end of my short weekend I was sad to leave. I look forward to going back there again to spend more time relaxing. I'm hoping it's soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear AnastasiaChristina78:

Thank you so much for your kind and thorough review. We appreciated having you as our guests as the property is large and great to explore.

The King Mansion is our most popular Guest House and offers a historic and unique experience. Our breakfast buffet in the larger Biddle Mansion is a bountiful experience and offers everyone a wide variety of both hot and chilled items to choose from.

Cellar 49 is geared towards an adult environment in both menu design and amenities. During the summer when we have more families the Poolside Cabana Bar & Grill tends to be very popular.

All the best and thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center

Address: 49 E Sunnyside Lane, Tarrytown, NY 10591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend escape from the city or a destination wedding, Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, seasonal basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown Dolce House
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown House Hotel
Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center NY - Westchester County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.