We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay BUT Noise from 10 pm to 2 am!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Broadway, Tarrytown, NY 10591   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Yankee Game Getaway
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay BUT Noise from 10 pm to 2 am!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The Doubletree Tarrytown is a Hilton property and almost...almost earned a perfect score. On the "Upside", the rooms are modern and comfortable, especially the beds.
Bathrooms, while small, are clean and functional. Complimentary toiletries (shampoos, conditioner and lotion) are high-end and the Breakfast buffet offers cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels and lox and a changing variety of hot entree's - scrambled eggs, french toast, waffles and cheese blintzes. Yummo! Excellent OJ and coffee too. The cost to stay with the buffet included is well worth the price. Now for the "Downside": This is our 2nd stay here in 3 months, and both times we were kept awake by loud, rude people from wedding parties in the hallway outside our 1st floor room from 10 pm to 2 am. This stay, my wife and I both called the front desk 3 times and asked them nicely to 'handle it'. They didn't. Very frustrating and so our overall stay was NOT relaxing...in fact, we were terribly sleep-deprived! Overall, the Doubletree is a great place to stay - warm Chocolate chip cookies and all. But if you want to be assured of getting an undisturbed night's sleep, be sure to ask for a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    246
    122
    48
    23
See reviews for
217
155
41
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Nothing great here. Oh … maybe the location. The rooms are large and satisfactory, but the breakfast buffet is worthless (hot items were not hot), and the staff has no direction.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

I have stayed at numerous hotels in the Tarrytown/Elmsford area over the last 9 years and this hotel is the best in the area. Yes, it does have a more pricy nite room charge but compared to saving $50 and stay at the Hampton or Extended stay, this is a steal!
Yea, may have seen better days but the structure/rooms have always seemed clean. I did find the shower was slightly dirty and a used bar of soap in the shower dish. Upon check out I explained this and they cut my night stay charge in 1/2. That fully fixed any issue I had with my stay and I am a happy customer!
I have had my best nights sleeps in the NYC area in this Doubletree hotel.
No issue with noise yet, guess the room location has a big impact on the noise.
Kinda freaked out by the Bed Bugs and I did do a good search for my safty but nothing found.
Needed tooth paste and called the desk, WOW like 30 seconds! 2 packets of tooth paste. Awsome service!
But for the location and a good night sleep I would stay here!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

This is my fourth stay at this Doubletree within the last 12 months. This is the recommended hotel near our facility in Elmsford. Once you find your room, they are always roomy, clean and comfortable. The reception staff is always pleasant and eager to assist. I have never had a bad meal in the restaurant on-site and they have a very nice buffet in the morning. For the most part, my stay was good. As a Diamond Hilton Honors Member who travels weekly and is accustomed to some consistency from the Hilton portfolio. I was disppointed that the complimentary tolietries did not include neutrogena moisturizer during this stay and an item ordered with my room service was omitted and it took a bit to have it delivered. Not big things, but just an improvement area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

this was not my first time staying at this location. but it seems like it gets better every time. overall my one night experience was great..from beginning to end! Room was very well light with lots of options from every room to natural lighting from their large windows. Their king beds were soft and very plush if you truly enjoy sleeping on soft beds. lots of room in the bathrooms with wonderful amenities offered. room service was fast and detailed from ordering to delivery.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

This hotel is well-located for our visits to family in the vicinity. They provide a very decent and comfortable accommodation. Our spacious room 234 faced a green inner courtyard that I would recommend. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable.
This is a busy "conference hotel" and the staff is pleasant and efficient. We had a problem with the AC, making our room stuffy and uncomfortable. We appreciated that the staff took care of this problem in a timely fashion.
The property seems to be rather "dated" and tired and but the public area is attractive and well-maintained. There was no added charge for the wifi or parking and laundry facilities are available.
Though the hotel is unremarkable, we would stay there again when visiting our family the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I travel a lot for work and pleasure - and look for places that mix the old (stone fireplace lobby) with the new (rainshowers) and bring it together with the basics (white duvets, free internet and a rate that makes sense). That's what you get at this Doubletree, especially if you're a Hilton Honors member (easy enough to do).

The bonus is the location - steps from the train to NYC, a quick drive to downtown Tarrytown, Ossining, Sleepy Hollow.... and right on Route 9 to lead you on your travels up the Hudson.

I'd recommend it for groups of girls who plan to enjoy the city - but want to avert $300 rates for the hotel. The train takes you right to Grand Central, and back. Book early - this place hosts several weddings each weekend.

Don't miss the diner across the street, Horsefeathers Pub and the Greek Restaurant in downtown Tarrytown.

Don and Betty Draper knew what they were doing here...Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown

Address: 455 South Broadway, Tarrytown, NY 10591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor of Excellence Award Winner 2013 and 2012 Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown offers visitors the perfect location to explore history, dining, shopping, nature and entertainment and do business in between. Located in Westchester County, 25 minutes north of New York City just off I-87 and I-287, the hotel is easily accessible by air, car or train. Once you arrive, this unique hotel offers comfort and convenience in a relaxed atmosphere. The indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center, Day Spa, Restaurant and Lounge, Women's sauna and men's steam room complements a perfect travel experience. Since it re-opened, the hotel has been satisfying one customer at a time. Come and see it for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tarrytown Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hilton
Doubletree By Hilton Tarrytown NY - Westchester County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.