We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really unfortunate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 White Plains Road, Tarrytown, NY 10591   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Really unfortunate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Big problem!

Imagine staying at a hotel with many floors & you need to grab something upstairs in your room before going out to dinner. Well, this weekend at the Tarrytown Sheraton, the elevators wouldn't let you. They could only handle the weight of 3 adults at any given time. We stayed here this past weekend & it was a mess. We waited A LOT for elevators, got stuck in them & couldn't et to our floor. We had no staircase access at all because there is an alarm that will go off.


And unfortunately, the hotel manager that night (2/16/13) was not helpful with anything! He was so incompetent at handling certain "hospitality" situations it was appalling! He had no interest in being understanding or helpful, he was just nasty.

We felt so uncomfortable because of him that we wanted to leave.

Long story short, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay in a suite or stay elsewhere. :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F, General Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Allybeth,

Thank you for taking the time to share your frustrations with us. I would agree, the elevator has been maddening. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced as a result of the issue.

I’m happy to report that they are both working as designed now and their safe operation has been certified by the state inspector.

I will share your comments with the night manager and hope that he can learn from your input.

We wish you all the best in your future travels,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    119
    57
    13
    14
See reviews for
86
70
31
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I find myself writing this, my first hotel review ever, because the service at this hotel is above and beyond any I've ever stayed at. The morning crew, who I had the most interaction with, ALWAYS smiled genuinely and said things like "good morning," "have a great morning," "how can I help you, sir," addressed me on the phone as "Mr. ***," and generally made me feel like royalty throughout my four day stay.

I'm a customer service supervisor for a company that sent me to NY, and I understand how difficult it is for businesses to cope with irate, unreasonable customers who like to think they're throwing their weight around by posting negative reviews in places like this. So when I read some of the one-star reviews that were clearly written by just such people, I felt I had to provide my realistic point of view.

The employees of this hotel are respectful. They come across as genuine, caring, warm, and welcoming. I travel quite a bit, staying at a lot of hotels, and to find one at this price-point with this caliber of service is completely surprising. I've stayed in hotels that charged twice as much or more per night where I didn't receive this level of appreciation and warmth.

The room I stayed in was immaculate, the bed was firm and comfortable with clean linens, and the room smelled fresh. The shower worked great, had nice pressure, with plenty of warm water. The water tasted great from the tap and everything in my room functioned great. The wireless internet (which I'm using to write this review the night before my check-out) performed adequately, with no drops in reception.

The lobby is beautiful, the restaurant nice, and the morning staff there very professional and courteous. I enjoyed my breakfast each morning, which was reasonably priced and served very promptly.

The morning staff, who appeared to be under the direction of a grey-haired gentleman who I presumed to be a manager, was absolutely exceptional. One morning I was walking in the front door and this gentleman literally stepped back as I approached the front door, greeted me with a smile, a sincere "good morning, sir," and waited for me to enter the building before entering himself. I'm a humble customer service supervisor, and I'm certainly not used to that kind of treatment, but I have to say, it made me feel good. It's nice to be treated that way once in my life. It's just uncommon, and it was completely unexpected. But I was treated that way every single day of my stay.

So to this hotel and, especially to the exceptional staff who works here, I say KUDOS! I hope I have the pleasure of staying again someday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F, General Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you Raymond for your kind words of praise for my associates. Of the many things I love about working here for the past 6+ years, working with such a great team is my favorite.
We wish safe travels and hope to see you here agin in the future,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. I consider myself a "hotel snob" .I was pleasant surprised by how clean the hotel was. We had a rather large party and the hotel was VERY accommodating and made us feel very comfortable. We had alot of room changes/additions and the hotel staff went out of there way to accommodate us and our party. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. The parking lot had alot of space and there is a stop and shop in walking distance of the hotel. The only complaint I have was there was no free wifi I believe it was $10.00 a day for wifi. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill40, Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear ReneeConnecticut,

Thank you for staying with us in our home. I believe we share the same name "Hotel Snob" when I travel I want a warm and friendly greeting, amenities I can use, and to feel at home.

Thank you for saying that our family went out of their way to accomodate, it makes me so proud to be part of this team at The Sheraton Tarrytown.

Be safe on your travels and we will see you soon again.

Lou Gaudio
Assistant General Manager
Sheraton Tarrytown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very nice property with great beds. My room was large with expansive desk which is great for work. Breakfast was good with fast service. Location is ideal for easy access. New grocery store in walking distance for any forgotten items are snacks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F, General Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments.
Safe travels,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This Sheraton is a good example how a big chain can deliver a good stay. The hotel is on a convenient but not specially attractive location. The hotel is not a new one but the people they serve you make the positive points. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean but the air condition and heating unit is so laud it maybe will wake you up when it kicks in. The pool is very small so swimming is not a great deal. Otherwise a good hotel for a one day stay.

Room Tip: The 5th and 6th floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F, General Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We'll look into your loud heating unit and pass your kind comments about the staff on to them.
Safe travels,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was making several reservations to stay at near by hotels for a series of concerts my wife and I were going to attend. In doing so I got the dates mixed up for the Graham Parker and the Rumour show at the Music Hall of Tarrytown and made a non-refundable reservation at he Sheraton for the wrong date. Once I realized the mistake, I called the reservation line and explained the situation. They told me that it was up to the hotel and that they would have them call me the next day once they explained the situation. As promised the Sheraton of Tarrytown called the following day and cancelled the reservation without charge. I booked the room for the correct weekend while on the phone with them.

The hotel was very comfortable and convenient to the Music Hall. We are going to stay there again in April when we go back to see the Mavericks at the Music Hall.

My only complaint was that there was no free internet in the rooms. Only the lobby area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill40, Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Michael M,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about your recent stay at the Sheraton Tarrytown.I am so happy that you were able to spend the time with our family.

The Sheraton Tarrytown takes pride in the special services offered to all of our guest. The attractions near by are wonderful and I am happy to hear that you were able to go see Graham Parker and the Rumours. The Tarrytown Music Hall has a great location near the Sheraton Tarrytown where life gets better to have the convenience to be minutes away.

Thank you again for making our home your choice for your guest.

Lou Gaudio
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

from the time i had arrived on December 23, 2012 and left on December 27, 2012 i have nothing
but praise for the hotel and its staff. room service was prompt and courteous and exactly what i
had ordered, excellent. on the evening of December 26, 2012 i wanted to get my booking pass
for my flight and pay for my baggage on line, unfortunately i hadn't had my glasses with me when
Nicole who was at the desk came over and assisted me in arranging for everything.
my room with a king size bed was large and pleasant and had everything i required, the house keeping staff were extremely pleasant and cordial.

Room Tip: rooms on the fifth floor are quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill40, Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Casablanca328

Thank you very much for your kind comments about your recent stay at the Sheraton Tarrytown.I am so happy that you were able to share the holiday's with our family.

The Sheraton Tarrytown takes pride in the special services offered to all of our guest. Your kind words were communicated to the associates mentioned (Nicole, room service, and housekeeping). It is an honor to receive such an outstanding review, because your Trip Advisor profile indicates that you have reviewed several locations with such honesty.

Thank you again for making our home your choice for your guest.

Lou Gaudio
Assistant General Manager


We hope to see you soon.

I am happy that the Sheraton Tarrytown had another great guest experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel

Address: 600 White Plains Road, Tarrytown, NY 10591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel. Our full-service hotel brings you to the heart of the charm and beauty of Westchester County's historic Hudson Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel NY - Westchester County
Tarrytown Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.